We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best Kimpton property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1!
Ranked #64 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but not the best Kimpton property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have now stayed at three San Francisco Kimpton hotels, and this is my least favorite. That doesn't make it bad, but the others were great.
The staff were very nice, but they seemed a little too eager to please. Both times I needed help at the desk, there was one person. There was a concierge in the morning and a person dealing with valet parking and luggage storage. No matter the line, there was just one person at the computer. So the eagerness to please may have been the desire to not have anyone leave in frustration.
Another issue -- and this is not unique to the Palomar -- is drunks leaving the bar at 2 am and being loud in the hallways where people are sleeping. There must be some way to protect guests from being awakened. Maybe an unobtrusive escort who reminds people to be quiet? I don't know.
Other than those two things, the Palomar was a nice place to stay for a night.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My stay was your standard fair for Kimpton, which is great. I think Kimptons offer a great value with the complimentary coffee/tea in the morning and wine hour in the evening. The staff was very friendly as well. If shopping is your thing, this hotel is very convenient to Union Square. For me, it was very close to the office in which I had to work for a couple of days. The hotel was under renovations when I was there, but that didn't impact my stay (other than the fact there is not restaurant).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am a big fan of Kimpton Hotels, for many reasons, including their affinity programs, daily wine tastings, boutique hotels, pet friendliness and LGBT friendliness, among others. The San Francisco Palomar, however, is one of my favorite ones. The location cannot be beat as it is very convenient to Union Square, the Convention Center, the financial district, the Ferry Building and many other spots. The rooms are some of the nicest we have stayed in and the staff as always is super friendly and accomodating. The rooms are totally quiet despite being right in the middle of everything. Our only complaint was that the bar closes at 11:00 p.m. so having a drink after returning from a dinner with friends was not possible.

Room Tip: The King Corner rooms are spacious and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for being part of the Hotel Palomar family, even if just for a few days. We appreciate your business and the positive 5 star review. I have the keys to the whiskey cabinet if you need late night access next time :) !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is located on 4th and Market, so it is located close to Union Square, Mosconi Center, and AT&T Park. It is a remodeled boutique hotel. The rooms were nice. The mattress was a bit uncomfortable and the hotel was a bit noisy because of its popular bar. The restaurant was attractive and served good food. They had on-site valet parking that was relatively inexpensive (for San Francisco). The room didn't have a coffee maker. The service was excellent and the staff was extremely nice. I would stay here again. Nice hot.

Green Features: Environmentally conscious: they followed a towel and linen reuse policy and used low watt lightbulbs
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the positive praise. Please know that we do have coffee makers available upon request and we are always happy to have one brought to your room and have the supplies refreshed throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hotel Palomar on business in March and April. Both experiences were terrific. The hotel is very well situated off of Market Street, not far from Union Square. The staff is quite friendly, the rooms are decent sized (especially for San Francisco) and well-appointed. The hotel has a good restaurant and bar as well, but be sure that you do not end up with a room near it as it gets quite loud at night. Overall I give this hotel a high recommendation.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Glad you had a terrific stay! Thanks for coming back over and over again. See ya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 days touring San Fran and the Palomar was situated in such a convenient spot to rest the feet for a bit before heading back out. Minutes from an array of shops, movie theater, restaurants etc. take a walk to Fishermans wharf from this location too! The rooms weren't huge by any stretch but clean, newly decorated...and the AC was a dream! Staff was helpful and in particular Justin at the door was great with driving directions as we headed off to our next destination. We'd highly recommend this sweet boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for the high recommendation and the positive praise of our teammate Justin! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Palomar was our last stop on A surprise trip for our 40th wedding anniversary. The entire experience at the Palomar was just perfect. The staff was exceptional and went above and beyond any hotel we've ever stayed at. Right off Market St. and steps from amazing shopping.

I want to say "THANK YOU TO EVERYONE at the Palomar". Next time we're in San Francisco, I know where we'll stay. . .The Hotel Palmar!

Room Tip: Corner room with amazing windows.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling, water conservation; all environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We love to deliver "perfect"! Thanks for staying and Happy Anniversary! Perhaps this should be an annual tradition. Here's to another 40!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.