We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the small things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #37 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's the small things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

First you're greeted by men wearing navy blue with orange bow ties and women wearing cute orange flowers. It's a small, simple lobby with fruit infused water for the taking. My executive king furniture is nothing special-modern yet worn in. The shower is dated. But it's clean and quirky! Like the zebra print bath robe. I LOVE that every room has a yoga mat with a welcoming message! And your desk has a jogging map (which is great to use as a local map), an invitation to go on a morning group run, and the ability to request car or taxi service. It's 1 block off Market and 1 block from convention center. I'm pleased!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. We would love for you to join in our manager led morning runs in the future. It is a great way to see the city and start your day. In the next six weeks we are upgrading the furniture in our guest rooms so we will be even better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    467
    127
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
499
97
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and I'll be back. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are nice and clean. The location--right next to everything, including BART and buses--but not on a loud street, is great. It is a hip hotel but the staff is very friendly, which you don't often find at some upscale hotels. The doorman bent over backwards when a mechanical glitch caused a delay in me retrieving my lobby-checked bags. He even arranged for a complementary car service to the airport to make up for the delay the situation caused. That was a very nice gesture and very indicative of the kind of service the staff at the Palomar gives. Highly recommend this hotel for business or vacation travel.

Green Features: They have recycling bins in every hotel room in addition to garbage cans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your loyalty and continuing to return to our hotel. We are looking forward to your fourth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to our surprise, we were upgraded to an INCREDIBLE suite which looked out on the courtyard. There were balloons, there was prosecco - it was just fantastic. They made us feel so welcome throughout our stay and were so helpful. When we needed to ship wine back to our house they made sure that it got picked up by UPS.

Yes, the restaurant was closed, but...it's San Francisco! If you can't find someplace amazing to eat nearby, you need to review your life choices. And if you were too lazy to leave the hotel, well, the staff were ready, willing and able to pick up food at 15 different local restaurants and bring it right to your door. Now THAT'S service!

Room Tip: The courtyard-facing rooms are mighty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Glad you had a wonderful birthday celebration and enjoyed the team's service. Don't wait until your next birthday to come back. We'd love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff at this hotel was amazing.The free coffee service in the morning and free wine reception early evening was a real treat.We had the best sleep in their comfi beds and down pillows.Perfect location !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the positive shout out for the amazing service team here at the hotel! I love working with this team and I'm glad you enjoyed staying with them. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked our 5 day stay at this hotel based on the reviews I found here for families. Yes, this hotel is hip and fun...LOVE the wine happy hour of which we took advantage of every night...but I especially love how they treated my children. We came there to celebrate my child's graduation from Kindergarten and also have a family vacation. The staff treated our kids very well. From the gold fish they delivered to our room for our stay to the managers dog they pet everyday when we came downstairs and the hellos the staff always gave us...they were wonderful. Further, Yesenia at the front desk went above and beyond to surprise my daughter with a cupcake spread for the family complete w/ a chilled ice bucket filled with bottles of milk and a bottle of sparkling apple cider for all of us to enjoy and celebrate graduation. Lastly, the hostess at Dirty Habit, the very popular restaurant lounge in the hotel, was exceedingly kind to us and made sure we were able to get seated in an area of the lounge where our kids could hang with us and write/draw their memory cards for their scrapbooks while we all munched on their tapas and the hubby and I enjoyed a couple of adult beverages before heading to our room to put the kids down for bed at 8:30pm. Additionally the chefs wife and their 3yr old son came by to thank us for coming with out kids b/c they try to be very welcoming of families. They even catered to my daughters requested for "non-squishy" strawberries and request for special eats.

Lastly, as note by many others, this place is in a FABULOUS location. Close to the Piers, Union Square...The Children's Creativity Center along with a big carousel, ice skating ring, children's theatre and an awesome playground w/great slides is literally about 2blocks away. A big Target, Ross, Apple, Old Navy, and a major high end shopping mall with Bloomies, Nordstroms and Tiffany's, is all right there. Finally every mode of transportation- Cable Car, trolley, BART, normal bus lines are within 5 minutes walk.

Hands down you just can't go wrong here. Book now!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor and faced the front of the hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the great praise! We have been trying to raise awareness among travelers that this hotel is great for business travelers as well as families. The location benefits you mention are truly wonderful. The Children's creativity museum is just down the block from us. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Please spread the word among your friends and business colleagues that we would love to have them as our guest too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights with our two pups, and we love the staff, the room, the location, and their thoughtfulness for ppl traveling with pets.
They don't even charge pets fee like most of the dog friendly hotels!! Since i made a note that we are bringing two pups, when we opened the door to our room, we saw two dog beds, food bowl, water bowl, two dog toys, and two dog treats. Four of us were super happy :)
The location can not be better!! Union square is only three min walking distance, and staying this side of Market St. is even better since less notice and less crowd.
They have morning coffee and evening wine hour which also a plus!
We can only think of one little complain, when we check in on a Saturday afternoon (busy time and it was long weekend also), there was only one staff at the counter doing both check ins and outs and concierge job. Dont get me wrong, the service was godd, it just cost some pretty long wait time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the 5 Star rating! I also appreciate the candid comment regarding the staffing level during that busy afternoon and will follow up with my front office team to ensure better coverage moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The service was great. The main issue I had was with the location of my room. I was on the 5th floor. My room's was facing the restaurant/bar. The restaurant/bar plays loud music until 11pm and starts again at 7am. I was here on business and needed to go to bed by 9 to be rested for the morning for the work I was doing. I couldn't actually sleep until after 11 because of the music. It was absolutely terrible.

Additionally, the doors to the rooms slam and every time a person entered or left their room, I was awakened by the sound of the door slam. And, I am considerably a heavy sleeper.
And, there was a massive hole in the wall outside my room where construction was being done. We could barely get through the hall because of the plastic and tape.

They don't have in room dining, but instead have a relationship with a neighboring bistro and it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. I am embarrassed and sorry for the work that was going on in the hall way in front of your room as well as the noise from the restaurant. Our new restaurant has gained significant popularity and we are working on improvements to ensure the guest rooms that look out onto the patio can enjoy the energy and ambiance while not being inconvenienced by it. We have a few things we are exploring. Of course, for your future stays, please feel free to reach out directly to me and I will ensure to pick a perfect room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.