We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Kimpton stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #40 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another great Kimpton stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have often stayed at Kimpton hotels but this was our first time at Hotel Palomar and we remain impressed. The service here is great and the location very convenient to BART and all the fun happenings near Union Square and Yerba Buena Center. My husband and I were just in for one night to take in a holiday show. We arrived early on BART and planned to drop our bags, but we were very pleased to be welcomed to our room late morning, which was very convenient. We booked a less expensive room but it was quite comfortable although not overly large. Comfy bed made for a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
I love it when I hear directly from our guests, that they would love to return. Nothing else makes a General Manager smile more than that. You are welcome back anytime and we'd love you to maybe even bring some friends too. I'm sure they would love our daily Wine Hour. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    468
    129
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
500
97
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked two rooms here - one double and one suite. Both were clean, comfortable, quiet, and well appointed. The suite included a sleeper sofa and a HUGE spa tub along with a separate shower. Service was fast, attentive, and friendly. Parking is right under the hotel so the valet is fast. Great location with an easy walk to Union Square, the F line, and Trolley. This will be my go-to place to stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
You are welcome back anytime! Myself and the team love hearing that our guests had awesome experiences while staying with us. Next time you are at the hotel, feel free to ask for me and I'd love to welcome you in myself. Hope to see you on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, great central location. Minutes walk from the station if you're coming in by train from the airport.

Arrived at a hotel around 4pm after a short trip from Vegas as part of a 40th birthday trip. Just in time to drop our bags and freshen up before popping down to the bar for the fantastic wine hour the hotel runs every night at 5pm.

The hotel is centrally located and you're within a short walk to Union Square and some great shops.

The hotel staff are all really helpful and welcoming. The doormen and reception staff gave us some great recommendations to eat in, it's nice to go where locals go rather than you're usual touristy spots.

Hotel rates in San Francisco are on a par with New York now, although quite expensive the Palomar is worth the extra for its location and friendly welcoming service - and the wine hour each night is a great way to chill after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. The rooms are spacious, but bathrooms are a bit on the small side but the animal print robes and selection of toiletries make up for that.

Tips
Book trips to Alcatraz well in advance they sell out quickly - it's an incredible experience

Buy a travel pass as you can even use it on the trams as often you want for the duration of the ticket.

Great restaurants nearby include Fang a superb Chinese, so good we went twice during our stay! A great Mexican in the mission district which the doorman recommended excellent food and the best margaritas!

San Francisco is a great city and the Palomar is an ideal base to stay in

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
San Francisco & Vegas? What a fabulous 40th birthday celebration. I am very happy to see you and your group had a wonderful time with us. Our team really is great with giving out some awesome recommendations on restaurants and local attractions. Thank you for praising our amazing team. We will be sure to have an animal print robe ready for you next time you visit. I think a 41st birthday celebration at the Palomar sounds like a great idea! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have many reviews to catch up on. But for now, Palomar San Francisco, lovely smaller hotel, staff makes it unforgettable.A glass of bubbly, chocolate and personalized welcome note was thoughtful and wonderful. The location is conventient located near all public transit, including trolleys. Theres isn't much extraordinary to discuss regarding the grandeur of the Palomar . The staff, the service and ammenities available when you're a Kimpton Loyalty member is well worth joining. Oh and the room staff, they were on it! Room was always taken care of and just a big thank you, wonderful, wonderful job.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
This just put such a huge smile on my face. Our team does a great job trying to take care of our guests and from this review I can tell they really did an awesome job. Thank you so much for sharing and I will be sure to praise our team for going above and beyond. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is my preferred hotel when I vacation in San Francisco. Extremely convenient location in the heart of Union Square, close to BART, Muni, the historic streetcars and of course the cable cars. Staff is always cheerful and eager to help.

This was my first stay as an InTouch member, and was pleasantly surprised by the free room upgrade the gave me.

Four stars instead of five because of one incident. Saturday night, I was in need of cab. I asked the doorman to hail me one, but he said, "Traffic has been grid-locked on Fourth for a half hour. You'll have more luck on Market or Mission." It took me a half hour to get one on Mission, from where I observed traffic moving at a reasonable, non-gridlocked pace in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
I feel honored to be your preferred hotel in San Francisco. Being a Kimpton InTouch member can get you numerous benefits and I'm so glad that you were able to get a complimentary upgrade because of it. Hopefully your next vacation to San Francisco is right around the corner and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We decided to elope at San Francisco's beautiful City Hall and chose to stay at the Palomar as it is in a very central location and decently priced. Rooms were comfortable and a good size. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the free wine hour as we arrived a bit late and there was no seating left. Didn't eat at the restaurant either but room service food was really good. Staff were amazing - always made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They were even lovely enough to leave a special surprise and hand written card in our room for when we returned from our ceremony which was perfect and really topped our day off!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
First of all, CONGRATULATIONS! We are beyond happy that we could be part of your celebration. I'm so happy you had a great time with our amazing team. I have to say, I am one very lucky General Manager to come to work every day to work with such awesome individuals. Even though you missed wine hour, I have good news for you. We serve complimentary wine from 5pm-6pm every day at every Kimpton Hotel. Hopefully we will see you before your anniversary. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great location, incredibly attentive service! My wife thought she lost her wallet and we called the hotel and they went up to the room and located it and held it in the safe until our return. Joined their rewards program and received some nice perks. They have a free happy hour too!

Room Tip: Get the room with the deep tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I am so fortunate to work with my team. Thanks for giving them the positive praise. All of them truly have and demonstrate heartfelt care for all of our guests and their colleagues. Great bunch. Glad you were part of the Palomar Family even if only for a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.