We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% with AAA
Ranked #24 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
philly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and I couldn't have asked for better service. I called ahead of time and asked for information on a rental car. Kelsey had a car reserved upon arrival and room was ready before checkin time. Other front desk staff went above and beyond in getting directions to sonoma, hwy 1 and resturant recomendations. Room was clean and updated. Will definitely come back! Great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello DD514! It is so nice to here you had an exceptional experience and the staff was able to take great care of you. The highway 1 trip is not to be missed so I am glad you got to have fun there too. Thank you for all your positive comments. - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    719
    411
    106
    40
    25
See reviews for
185
440
91
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I chose Hotel Palomar based on my previous positive experiences with other Kimpton properties for a very special birthday weekend with 8 of my best girlfriends. From the time we planned, checked in, spent 3 fun-filled nights, and departure, the service was 5 star. This included a lovely bottle of complementary champagne and chocolates delivered to our room by Kelsey and hotel management. The rooms were modern, immaculate, had great city views, and very comfortable for all 8 of us. Kelsey and her staff paid provided extra services of arranging an incredibly delicious birthday cake for one evening, transportation, and restaurant reservations. Justin and Matt were very helpful with directions, activity, neighborhood, and dining recommendations. In all, it was the perfect weekend and the best hotel experience I can remember in many years.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Happy Birthday Besty B! So great to hear you had a fun time with your friends. Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize the team. We truly appreciate it. Please come back and see us again! - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for my Husband's birthday. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Bellman and Front Desk Staff. A Birthday wish along with cupcakes and wine greeted us in the huge two room suite. Bathroom was great. It was the quietest room ever. Great night sleep. We even had our own goldfish. An hour long wine reception got us off to a great start in San Francisco.

Room Tip: The King two room (805) was nice because you have a TV in each room and a door if one person wants p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Travelbuddies109, Happy Birthday to your husband! I am so glad you had a fantastic time. We can't wait to see you again. Hopefully for your birthday next time! - Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for two nights over a gorgeous weekend in late-September while participating in the SF Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. The manager and his staff went above and beyond to not only make me feel supportive, but also helped me with some very unusual requests due to the walk and my departure to Europe right after my stay.

Hotel Palomar is in a super convent location, the beds are great, the rooms are a good size and the staff is quite thoughtful. I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad the walk went well and hope your following trip to Europe was equally enjoyable. You have my direct line....call any time you are heading back to SF.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's wonderful, the staff is super friendly and it's in am amazing location! I wished they had different pillows (I like mine firm and theirs are soft down) but it's my own fault for not asking as I'm sure they would have found different ones for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for praising the beauty of the hotel. Sometimes it is easy to not recognize the detail of the building unless you truly take a moment and stand across the street. Their are amazing qualities of this building that the architect (back in 1906) put into place that makes it a gem within the city. Now about those pillows...indeed if you have a preference for a different pillow, we will gladly accommodate. On a bigger picture, we are also scheduled to purchase new pillows for the entire hotel in January 2014. Now....the real question...what to do with the old pillows...amazingly there is a huge fund raiser once a year where the city comes out for a giant pillow fight but that is another story (an "only in San Francisco" story)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved our stay at the Palomar.. Very close to the Powell St BART stop so we could walk with our suitcases after taking the BART from SFO. Check in staff was friendly and efficient and also greeted us every time we entered or exited the hotel. The entire staff seem to pay attention to the guests and make the guests their priority. Some other hotels should take note of the excellent level of customer service by the Palomar staff.
We asked for a quiet room location and had an excellent room that was very quiet. We never heard any noise. We were on the courtyard side on the 7th floor.
The room was large and we had a good sized desk to work on and also a chair and ottoman. The bed was quite comfortable and we enjoyed getting our coffee (which was excellent) on the 5th floor and returning to drink it in bed. Decadent!
I also liked having a copy of the WSJ to read in addition to the local paper.
The decor in the room was lovely, it looked rather new.
The bathroom was a good size, well equipped and had a great magnifying mirror in addition to the regular mirror.
The location for shopping or sightseeing was great. Just a 15 min walk down Market Street and you were at the Port entrance and could walk along the strip at the Pier to Fisherman's wharf.
If you went up Market st the other direction you can walk to Russian Hill and Nob Hill and then down to Lombard St.
We have stayed in other hotels in San Fran, but next time we are in town, we will stay at the Palomar again!

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for the courtyard side and we loved the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hmm..if the owner of the hotel saw your review, they would be thankful for the 5 star rating, grateful for the positive praise, and then tell me.... how do we make the gem less hidden :) !
Indeed we have been a hidden gem in the city which makes it feel special. Glad you were "in-the-know" and found us and had a great time. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks, following a great stay last year.

Great personal service from Josh on reception - who remembered us from last year - made us feel like welcome guests. The location, room and facilities are all great, but it was the people (from doormen to maids) that really made our stay special.

Thank you all. This will be our regular Folsom St hostelry from now on, and out friends' too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and the positive praise of the team. I am so lucky to have such a great team. It is equally a joy to come to work as it is for a guest to arrive. Hope we can all serve you in the future. Next year, we have lots of exciting enhancements in the works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.