We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #40 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very helpful reception staff! They went out of their way to help and always with a smile. Can't get a better hotel if you're travelling with a dog! Room was very nice and clean. Good size too. We stayed in a 2 double bed room. Breakfast in hotel restaurant though was on the high side so we ate out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Greetings Mattot65, thank you for the kind review, I realize when reading these reviews how lucky I am to have such a wonderful team, which includes the infamous, Maverick-Director of Pet Relations. Hopefully your 4 legged friend had an opportunity to meet ours. Looking forward to seeing you both back here in the future, safe travels! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    468
    129
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
500
97
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great trip we had and staying at the Palomar in Union Square was the perfect place to stay. Walking distance to all the action in Union Square, large rooms, fabulous staff from the doormen, to the fronthouse staff to the waitress in the restaurant. We will be back to ride the bikes that we did not have time to ride on this trip.
We really enjoyed our goldfish roommate! Stayed in room 810. Interior courtyard view.

Room Tip: We stayed in 810 which has interior courtyard views. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Greetings Wandalicious from the Palomar! Thank you kindly for the great review, I am thrilled to hear we did not disappoint. And equally excited to hear that you will be staying with us again. Safe travels until the next time, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We're a family of four on a 3 week tour of the Western US and have been in a range of hotels, mainly Hilton brand and ICG. The room in the Palomar is nice, with a reasonable amount of space for a city hotel - only the peculiar sliding bathroom door arrangement is worthy of negative comment as it doesn't afford the same level of privacy (or at least it doesn't give that feeling..).

The breakfast, however, is the worst we've experienced in the US by some margin. We'd paid an extra $25 for breakfasts for 2 and it seems this is for continental only. I don't recall what the website actually specified at booking, and I've since checked and the booking confirmation doesn't specify only continental...in any event, we weren't given the necessary vouchers at check-in so a long wait for my family ensued in an about-to-close restaurant whilst I tried to settle what we had actually booked with reception. In the end, as breakfast service was ending imminently, I accepted the offer of 4 continental breakfasts instead of 2. The staff were very nice, both in reception and the restaurant but if you need protein, prepare to spend another $15/head as a top up to the continental price (bringing the total for 4 people to c$110 (or go a la carte for a juice/coffee/eggs including toast for c$25/head). We think that's a very steep price for breakfast anywhere in the world, let alone the US (and it represents about 40% increase on the effective room rate). So in our case, we had a pile of toast (there were no croissants left), some fruit salad, coffee and juice with not a scrap of protein to be seen. Disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Greetings OldNickers, from the Palomar Hotel- a sincere thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast. I am glad we had the opportunity to actually chat while you were here on property. Know that I have taken your feedback and shared it directly with our General Manager of the Fifth Floor. Again, it was a pleasure to have met you and I am glad you had the opportunity to share your thoughts and opinions with me directly. I certainly hope we see you next summer while on holiday, we will make sure that croissants are warm  Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Disastrous start to our holiday when hotel had no record of our reservation... through no fault of theirs or ours as it turned out, finally booked in by a VERY helpful receptionist. Great room at L8, facing courtyard perfect to get over 12hr flight! Great bonus of complimentary continental breakfast - upgrade for a treat to fabulous Eggs Benedict or 2 Eggs Any Style (avoid going in late or when busy as service levels drop a bit!). Array of complimentary coffee on offer each morning too. Bar worth a visit - manager knows his cocktails! Ask for a G&T and you'll be offered a choice of over 30 gins (lighting/atmosphere a bit too dark for our taste). Didn't eat in restaurant, other than breakfast. Central location (not the fault of the hotel that roads being dug up at time of visit). We loved Maverick ... the hotel manager's chocolate Labrador, who meets guests on arrival in his own unique way, he only works Mon - Fri!!!

Room Tip: High up, facing courtyard if you want to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello EFC465 from San Francisco. I am delighted to hear you met the most important employee on property, Maverick- our Director of Pet Relations! He is the real star here on property. Though, the bar on the Fifth Floor is a close second. One of my favorite cocktails is a Gin & Tonic, and like you I am just amazed at the selection they offer. It just keeps getting better. Looking forward to seeing you again next time, gimme a call, I will join you on 5 for a drink- Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Palomar is in an excellent position right in the centre of town, a stones-throw from Macys, ,the iconic Apple store, very close to Union Square. You can walk your socks off all day and never need a cab. The thing that takes the Palomar from ordinary to extraordinary are the friendly, helpful staff and the personal attention they give you.

They all take time to chat and recommend this and that and all with a quiet efficiency that does not detract from a small but professional, functional reception area.

The rooms are fairly well standard for a four star and the dull outlook, if you have a courtyard room as we did, is made up for by a super comfortable bed and a scrupulously clean room.

I will not hesitate to try Kimpton Hotels again based on this first experience.

Warning - do not go to San Francisco in summer unprepared for windy and cool weather. Windbreaker and scarf required!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Kkbelle from chilly San Francisco! Thank you for the gracious review on our property, specifically our staff. I must admit, I am extremely lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guests and their experience. From the Front Desk, Housekeepers, to Engineers- we all work together as a team with one goal in mind, you! I am pleased to hear we met, even exceeded your expectations. Come back and see us again soon! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our first visit to San Francisco was the best! The Palomar Hotel staff was absolutely outstanding! The rooms were very comfortable and very clean - a must with me! The wine reception/dining/room service was excellent! The location was convenient, even with nearby construction. Short walking distance to many great restaurants, public transportation and huge selection of shopping very close by. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Cindy H from beautiful San Francisco! Your first visit to San Francisco! Well, I am certainly honored that you chose to stay with us on your first voyage to the city. Adding the high recommendation makes me feel like we earned a badge of honor. Thank you for the great review, we cannot wait for your second trip, trust me the second time is always a bit more fun! Safe travels, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Walking distance to shops and restaurants and to the Light Rail and the Cable car. The location could really not have been better.
The staff were welcoming and helpful at all times.
The nightly wine hour was a great way to mingle with other guests as well as trying the wines on offer.
Our room was comfortable and included all the things we needed except for tea and coffee making facilities.
The Fifth Floor Restaurant is magnificent. The food is first class and so is the service. We dined there three times during our six night stay and the staff made us really welcome each time time. We really cannot speak too highly of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are handy to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello there Cindy H- Wow, your first visit to San Francisco? I am grateful that you selected the Palomar as your Hotel of choice. The high recommendation is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to knocking your socks off next time around. Safe travels, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.