We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely knowledgeable and friendly front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% at the Palomar
Ranked #25 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“extremely knowledgeable and friendly front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

just back from two nights at the palomar in san francisco.

our room faced the atrium and was very quite, comfy bed.

hosted wine reception on the 5th floor each evening was very nice. cool space, alto we did not try the restaurant. coffee also served here in the AM and it was very so-so.

we don't know anything about SF where to go or how to get there and whoever happened to be at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, especially Doma. She sent us to Bluestems for dinner and you should go too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello there! You said it, our staff does know a heck-of-a lot about this amazing city. The front desk team makes it a point to get out around the town and brush up on the new (and landmark) restaurants, transit, and unique activities this city has to offer. I am glad we were able to help you navigate this city, with so much to do and see it’s nice to have the knowledge. Well, we can’t wait to see you back here, next time you’ll be pro’s! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    383
    98
    36
    23
See reviews for
173
405
88
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar for 2 nights in November. As we expected, this Kimpton Hotel property met our expectations. We were greeted by Kelsey Barthe at the front desk. She made us feel welcome and made our stay in San Francisco special. We took Bart from the airport directly to the hotel - one block walk. The hotel is located near Union Square. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from the Palomar Hotel! I am thrilled to hear you will be staying with us again, we absolutely love welcoming back returning guests, they become like one of the family. I realize our expectations of our guests are high, and I am pleased to hear that we met yours! We are fortunate to have such a convenient location downtown and to/from BART, which like you mentioned makes getting to and from SFO Airport a breeze. Again, we look forward to welcoming you back, until then safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was our 10 yr anniversary and I had mentioned it was in our reservation. Via Tripadvisor got 10% off. It was great from the very beginning! They even were prepared and greeted us by name.

The hotel was not huge, but it was enough for where you would normally need to go in SF. Lobby was nice, had some refresher drinks ready every day so when you came back from your long walk or journey you could just get some cups and get something there on that table. Nice touch.

Rooms were really nice.. great views. We got the cheapest King size room facing the street, but it was totally fine. You won't miss anything if you look for the lower priced rooms.

Hotel also gave us some chocolates to just say happy 10 year. Unexpected.

The location I have to say was really great. It was in the middle of everything (drugstore, shopping, taxi's etc) so you don't have to worry about being in the middle of nowhere or far from where you want to be.

Tip: certain more expensive taxi's have some agreement with the hotel. If you want a cheaper taxi, just walk out of the hotel and then flag a taxi down. Those hotel taxis are nice for a date or something but if you just need to get to Chinatown or something you can save $10 or so.

I hear it's great with children but we went as a couple this time :)

Room Tip: Facing the street is fine. There isn't much of "amazing views" in that area anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Well, I am so delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay from beginning to end! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your anniversary. We love to celebrate any occasion, and a 10 year anniversary certainly calls for celebration. Our location as you mentioned is excellent for everything quintessential San Francisco, and the next time you visit, hopefully you will bring your children! Safe travels on your future journey, maybe you can make this an anniversary tradition? We can’t wait to see you at 11 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My Partner and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Palomar which we did over Thanksgiving weekend. We took our 3 Weimaraners with us and they could not have been more accomodating or pet friendly. We and the dogs were welcome everywhere including the wine happy hour where they got plenty of attention from staff and guests alike. The bed was very comfy (It was a challenge to convince the dogs otherwise), they brought extra towels for dog washing too. the location was great being close to great shopping (which was also very dog friendly-especially Bloomingdales, Neiman Marcus and the Apple store to name a few). We ran out of dog bags but the bellman kept us stocked. a patch of green grass closer to the hotel would be great but the dogs learned to accept less after the first 24 hours.
we enjoyed the property and the staff (100% friendly and attentive, I cannot recall that from any recent stays elsewhere) so much that we will seek out Kimpton Properties in other cities even when travelling without the dogs.

Room Tip: pet friendly rooms are on the 9th floor but the elevators are high speed, we never waited long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from San Francisco, give your 3 pups some ridiculous Kimpton love from all of us! I think we all remember your beautiful Weimaraners, you couldn’t miss them! I am so happy to hear you and your family had a great time over the holiday weekend. We absolutely love dogs after all they are a part of the family. After all our, Director of Pet Relations- Maverick is the head of our Palomar family. Thank you for the kind words on our staff, we really take pride in our guest’s experience- and their furry family members. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family the next time you visit San Francisco- we got plenty of doggy bags ready! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My recent visit to the Palomar Hotel SF was more than expected. It was a pleasant to celebrate my friends 35th birthday at this fabulous boutique hotel. Everything was perfect! The hotel staff went above and beyond to make her birthday celebration memorable. Lauren Gruber was the absolute best. She made excellent recommendation on places to visit, dine and hotel accommodation. She was sincere and even had a special birthday surprise awaiting our arrival. The room was very clean and the view was great. Every member of the Palomar Team was customer service oriented and aimed to please. The hotel restaurant staff was just as accommodation. It is my pleasure and honor to be a "Kimpton InTouch Member".Again, Lauran Gruber, Adam McFarlin and the Palomar Team definitely made a good impression and are part of my decision to continue to be a loyal Kimpton InTouch member.

Great Job on the Hospitality and Customer Service!

I look forward to my next visit to San Fran and my stay at my “home away from home” at Hotel Palomar.
So, if you are looking for a hotel that knows how to set the standard HIGH, you will find it at Palomar SF.
Thank you for the opportunity to voice my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Greetings from San Francisco~ and thank you so much for your kind review of the Palomar and staff, including Lauren. We are very lucky to have her a part of our fabulous team! We love to celebrate any occasion, especially birthdays. I am so very pleased to hear your stay in the city was memorable on such a fun occasion. . Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton as an InTouch member-we can’t wait to see you back here on any occasion- birthdays, business, or just a get-a-way weekend. Safe travels on all your future journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellant as usual...we got same room...
Wine hour...lovely coffee...super friendly hotel
Recommend Kimpton Hotel chain to everyone
Join there Intouch program to get $10 mini bar treat
Even have water in Lobby with lemon or lime in...
great Bell Captain...always so professional
Ive stayed in 4 Kimpton hotels...they are all Excellant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi there! Thank you kindly for your recommendation in advance, I am so happy to hear that you frequent Kimpton- thank you for your loyalty. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoy our complimentary amenities, but the perks of being an InTouch member definitely pay off. We are looking forward to seeing you again, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location is excellent - I came for a convention at Moscone which is just a couple of blocks away. Stayed in King deluxe room - large, beautiful room very clean. Staff extermely helpful and friendly. Many free amenities -you can ask for a coffeee machine , there are copies of the NY times, etc.
There is only one elevator location - they are very swift, but if you ask for a room away from the elevators you may be in for a long walk .

My only gripe - the fitness room is minimal - one bike, one treadmill, one elliptical machine. If you are on a schedule, you may find none are available. They do offer discounted day passes for a gym, but it is three blocks away - not what you want to do at 7am in the dark.
On the whole - great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and distance from elevator as suggested by other reviewers - room was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings from San Francisco, and thank you for the kind review of the PalomarHotel, and the constructive feedback regarding the fitness room. One of the great things about our hotel is the historic building that we occupy. Built in 1907 we kept the historic façade and the beautiful feel of the building, yet we were a bit challenged on the space. As you mentioned, we do partner with Club One Fitness which is a few blocks away, but a fantastic workout facility. We also have our “People in Motion” program where we offer daily jogging at 7am, M-F with a member of our team! If you are interested in either one, please just give us a ring prior to your arrival, we will make sure to have the passes available and/or let our running team know that you are interested in joining! Thank you again for staying with us, we are looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit San Francisco, whether it be for business or pleasure! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco
Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.