We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in my favorite city - A++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #40 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in my favorite city - A++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I travel a lot, for both work and fun. As a result, I have way too many data points on the little tweaks that would take my travel experience from good to great. The Kimpton Palomar is my personal gold standard for how it's done. The staff is amazing, they are always warm, welcoming, and friendly in a sincere, not saccharin way. They know their guests and are skilled at thinking two steps ahead ("do you need me to print your boarding pass for you?"). Josh is my personal hero, he personifies the Kimpton culture of warmth and welcome. Rooms are always clean and have the exact right set up for the female traveler (well lit bathrooms, magnifying mirrors, lots of accessible power outlets, for example).

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
What a pleasure to have you as ou frequent guest! Josh is just wonderful, his love for Kimpton, The Palomar and San Francisco shines through in all he does. The rest of the team here at the Palomar shares that same Kimpton spirit. Our goal is to make our guests stay fantastic. As a female traveler, we pay close attention to your needs and wants. We know that while on the road, you work especially hard at maintaining a sense of balance, staying fit and feeding your sense of beauty and vitality. Our “Women InTouch” program embodies the female traveler, and we do our best to make you feel right at home! We can’t wait to see you again, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    468
    129
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
500
97
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for an extended weekend over Veteran's day. Rooms were great, down to the little details like the Biscoff cookies instead of a traditional pillow mint. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bobby at the front desk made us feel right at home. Justin gave us GREAT recommendations for restaurants, in areas close to the hotel and also in other neighborhoods. We were not disappointed at any meal. Overall, great experience at Palomar!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for the great review! Our staff has a genuine love for the city and it shows! Justin and Bobby are both pros at giving wonderful recommendations, and we are certainly lucky to have them apart of our team. I am genuinely happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms down to the small details~ which makes our boutique hotel stand out amongst the rest! We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room was clean, hotel ambiance was perfect, front desk staff were nice, and the restaurant food was delicious. What rated this a definite '2' is because we had several items stolen from our room - over three separate days. My new Bose noise cancelling headphones, Canon G12 camera and Prada sunglasses. I did email the desk about our stolen camera, though, they never replied back. I totally understand its our fault for leaving it in an unlocked place. (We live in Asia, where you can leave your wallet at a bar, full of cash, and for every 9.5/10 an honest person hands it into the management where you're able to retrieving it again. Contents and all.) But you stay at a highly respected and reputable hotel in the hope that you're in a 'home away from home'. All those sinners out there stealing cameras, PLEASE JUST LEAVE THE SD CARD BEHIND. Our memories from our Highway 101 drive from LA to San Fran are embedded in our hearts, but would have been nice to have a keepsake in a frame.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Leslie K-
We at the Hotel Palomar do not take the issue of stealing lightly. If you would kindly call the Hotel directly we would like to take a deeper look into this issue- I understand you emailed us, but I would like to talk to you directly regarding your stay.
Michelle.Lewis@hotelpalomar.com or my direct line is 415-344-3346
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The Palomar is a great business stay. Don't expect any surprises either good or bad. It's what i consider 'standard accommodation' done well. Avoid the wine reception though- what they pour is undrinkable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi there! I appreciate the feedback regarding the wine, I am sorry you didn’t enjoy it. Our Master Sommelier and Director of Wines, Ms. Emily Wines (yes, that’s really her name!) chooses our monthly selection. I will pass along the feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we certainly look forward to seeing you again, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is great. Great location, great room...and just as important - a GREAT staff. Kelsey went above and beyond to assist with my hurricance sandy issue and ensure everything was great....including a goldfish in the room and a welcome card when upon walking into the room. The hotel is lucky to have Kelsey.
The location at Market & 3rd st is perfect for BART, light rail, bus & taxis. Tons of places nearby to eat and shop or just walk and people watch. There's a high end mall (Nordstrom's, etc) a block away with an exceptional food court, including gourmet food market with prepared food and soup as well as typical market needs. The room (i had a corner king) was spacious and overlooked Market st (Apple store, etc). The hotel was well kept and had some great art all around. I have nothing but positive feedback.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSmithGM, General Manager at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Pslope1- Thank you for the positive review. Our location is indeed fantastic, with just about anything you need surrounding us on all sides. Speaking of fantastic, Kelsey is undeniably a valuable asset to our Kimpton family. Our entire staff from the Front Desk team, In room Dining or Housekeeping, our common goal is our guest. I am certainly happy to hear we met or even exceeded your expectations! Safe travels, we look forward to seeing you next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had an excellent weekend getaway stay at the Palomar. The room was spacious (and we were in one of the standard king-bed rooms). Everything in the room was contemporary and comfortable. Nothing felt 'old', even though the building itself must be. The general feel that the management and staff creates is very welcoming. Having signed up for the Kimpton guest program, they gave several comps, including free wi-fi. It's refreshing to feel like a guest and not a sucker who can be shaken down for more money. That more than made up for the lack of coffee maker in the room and them having run out of complementary morning coffee at the on-site restaurant. There are many nice touches that make it feel like a 'fun' place to stay.

The location is fantastic. They are next to the BART station that serves the cable car line. It's 1/2 block to the Metreon and Moscone Center. The Embarcadero, AT&T Park and Union Square are destinations we walked to.

TIP: parking overnight in the 5th and Mission garage is a lot cheaper than valet parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for the review, as well as the constructive feedback regarding the coffee. We do keep the station refilled until 10:00 am (maybe they were in the middle of brewing a new pot) when you visited the 5th Floor for complimentary coffee. We do offer an in-room coffee maker by request, just let us know upon check in, and we are more than happy to bring up a Keurig coffee maker to your room. You can also customize your stay on your Kimpton InTouch profile stating you would like a coffee maker, and we will provide one without you having to ask!
With that said, we are so happy that you had a great stay. Feel free to reach out to me directly: Michelle.Watkins@hotelpalomar.com and I will make sure you are taken care of next time! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a bit hesitant as this appears to be an older hotel. Not to worry...at all! The staff was amazing, friendly, helpful, etc. The area was close to all public transportation (we saw a 49ers game by taking the city bus $12 roundtrip), and took a cable car down to Fisherman's Wharf. Union Square was only a couple blocks over. Everything was either close or in walking distance. The room was clean and the bed comfy. Would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and the noise was kept to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so happy to hear your hesitations were laid to rest during your stay with us! Although the building we occupy was built back in 1907, we have made sure that all of the modern needs of today’s travelers are met, and hopefully succeeded! We love the original façade and tile work; it lends a certain beauty to downtown San Francisco. As you mentioned, the location could not be better for all types of travelers, business, pleasure, and families. We are looking forward to seeing you again, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.