We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #38 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orcutt, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a bit hesitant as this appears to be an older hotel. Not to worry...at all! The staff was amazing, friendly, helpful, etc. The area was close to all public transportation (we saw a 49ers game by taking the city bus $12 roundtrip), and took a cable car down to Fisherman's Wharf. Union Square was only a couple blocks over. Everything was either close or in walking distance. The room was clean and the bed comfy. Would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and the noise was kept to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so happy to hear your hesitations were laid to rest during your stay with us! Although the building we occupy was built back in 1907, we have made sure that all of the modern needs of today’s travelers are met, and hopefully succeeded! We love the original façade and tile work; it lends a certain beauty to downtown San Francisco. As you mentioned, the location could not be better for all types of travelers, business, pleasure, and families. We are looking forward to seeing you again, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    467
    129
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
499
97
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfect location. Staff were wonderful with particularly good restaurant recommendations. Outstanding room, service, ambience. Very friendly and always asking how they could help and make it better. Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I would have to agree, location, location, location! We are fortunate enough to be in the heart of it all.. shopping, public transportation, restaurants, you name it. We are also proud of our staff here at the Palomar as you mentioned! We love this city and all it has to offer, and aim to make sure our guests have a unique experience. Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a disaster at another hotel, I ended up here by luck. The staff - particularly Josh - really hooked me up and made me feel at home. I ended up in this special suite dedicated to the Golden Gate Bridge. It's not often you get to stay in a place filled with such amazing art. If you're staying in SF, then this is the place to stay.

Also, if you're at all into the bridge, splurge on the upgrade. This is the coolest room I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Luck was certainly on your side, I am so happy to hear you had an exceptional time with us! We are cvery lucky to have Josh here at our property; he is one of a kind. Speaking of one of a kind, isn’t the Golden Gate Suite cool? We are so proud of this suite- unfortunately we are in the middle of refreshing this room to pay homage to another surprise event/landmark! Check back at our website for the latest updates! We are looking forward to seeing you back at the Palomar when all is finished, until then safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, RI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Palomar for a business meeting and also celebrated our anniversary while in San Francisco. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival to find that we were upgraded to a suite. The room had a nice vibe with a Rene Magritte theme including clouds on the ceiling. It was well appointed including our goldfish companion "Fishcasso." The bed was quite comfortable and the sitting area was a nice addition. My only complaint was that the lighting in the bathroom was a little dim.

The hotel staff were warm, friendly and helpful in that wonderful Kimpton way we have come to expect and appreciate. They arranged for a beautiful flower bouquet for my wife on the day of our anniversary and also provided us complimentary champagne and chocolate, very nice. There was a problem with a fruit and cheese platter I had ordered for the night we arrived but the problem was more than satisfactorily resolved with apologies. I appreciate the fact that they were so responsive which is indicative of a well trained staff. Although we were having so much fun in the city during the day and never seemed to be around for the complimentary wine hour in the afternoon, we really enjoyed the convenient coffee and tea station set up on the fifth floor every morning, also complimentary.

The Union Square location was excellent within easy walking distance to shopping, excellent restaurants and mass transit including BART, Metro and of course the cable cars. We took the BART line to and from the airport with no difficulty and saved at least $60 compared to a cab. It also familiarized us with the transit system which we used extensively. Do not bring a car if you can avoid it as it isn't necessary.

We would certainly stay at the Hotel Palomar when we return to SF and look for Kimpton Hotels wherever we travel. Join the in-touch reward program for free wifi access and other perks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hey there! Thank you for the kind review, and Happy Anniversary! We love to celebrate here at the Palomar, birthday’s, anniversary’s you name it. I am so pleased to hear our staff made this anniversary memorable. Thank you for the feedback regarding the amenity, I am happy to hear it was reconciled in a timely manner. As you mentioned, joining Kimpton In Touch does offer some really fun perks, thank you for being a member. We look forward to seeing you again, here in San Francisco or at any Kimpton nationwide. The wine hour will always be here- hopefully you can join us then! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel Palomar in San Fran was the perfect location and experience for my birthday celebration! Josh was extremely helpful throughout our stay and made us feel welcome. His recommendations were spot on and only enhanced our stay. Thank you Josh and the Palomar staff :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings! I am so pleased you had a wonderful experience for your birthday celebration. We love any reason to celebrate, our staff is well versed and experienced with the hot spots around the city- that it’s no wonder Josh was spot on! Thank you for your kind review, we can’t wait to help celebrate next year’s birthday with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Even tho the weather did not cooperate in mid-August, we had a great time in San Francisco and really enjoyed the hotel Palomar. It’s a really fun city to visit and the hotel is right in the middle of everything, downtown, financial district, shopping and a very short walk (although uphill) to China Town for shopping and great Dim Sum.

It's a small boutique hotel so don't expect all the amenities and sprawling space of the Marriott, that's across the street. Where you DO have to visit the roof top bar, for the most spectacular view of the city. What the Palomar does have is very friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant (although a bit pricey), free happy hour, and pet friendly. They have a chocolate lab perched behind the desk that was very sweet and friendly. Yes it's loud, yes bums are sleeping outside, but hey it's a downtown city and it comes with the territory. We had a courtyard facing room which was very quiet and clean. Highly recommend for low key, comfortable and hassle free stay in San Fran.

Transportation-Take the Bart from the airport and get off 1 block from the hotel, it's only $8 bucks. A very helpful homeless lady helped us figure out the ticket machine at the station in trade for our old tickets. Hilarious. The cable cars are fun to do once, but expensive. And when you get tired of walking, the old time trolleys and buses are a buck or two for all day and will take you anywhere in the city.

Food-Next to the hotel is a bar restaurant where we ate 3 times! They as well as the rainforest cafe a few blocks away were very good and average priced. For Dim Sum my hubby (who's Asian) searched everywhere for the best one. We stumbled across Canton seafood and dim sum Restaurant which was amazing, and it was my first experience with dim sum.

Alcatraz – If you want to visit the Island pre-book online at least 2 wks ahead, they get packed. We took a 90 bay cruse from fisherman’s wharf (must see) and we got a good look at Alcatraz and the bridges. Good enough for me.

Weather – The warmest time in the Bay area is in the fall so pack a jacket and warm clothes if you visit any other time.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Greetings from chilly San Francisco! Oh boy, when you need to cool off in the middle of summer, you can always count that San Francisco is the “coolest” of them all! As you mentioned, our location is pretty fabulous when it comes to enjoying all that San Francisco has to offer. It sounds as though you had a very successful trip to the chilly city. We will definitely be here the next time you are in town, and Maverick- Director of Pet Relations is on duty Monday-Friday to welcome you back. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

lovely hotel in a great spot
catch the bart from the airport get of at powell up the escalator and your there
nice staff lovely room so many places around to eat we did not use the hotel mainly because there were 50000 oracle delegates in town on there yearly bash and they took over just about every hotel bar

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations at Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi there~ Thank you for the kind review! As you mentioned, our hotel has the perfect downtown location- close to BART, Moscone Center and all the shopping you can handle. We do have annual conventions such as Oracle that come into town once a year and the city has a significant surge of visitors. Then energy is fun and reminds us why San Francisco is such a great town for business or pleasure! Next time you stay with us, please give us a heads up by calling the hotel- this city is filled with great bars and restaurants; we can help get you a reservation before the convention comes into town! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.