We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, good location, a few disappointments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
732 reviews 732 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, good location, a few disappointments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First the pluses: A good location in downtown San Francisco, friendly and helpful staff, and many nearby dining options. Also, the elevator service is fast and frequent, something you don't always get at high rise hotels.

The rest of the story: The place bills itself as a luxury hotel, but I couldn't really see any difference between this and what I'd expect in a standard business-class hotel (e.g., a standard, non-luxury Marriott) beyond the large number of liveried employees in evidence. Where there were differences, they were not always in this hotel's favor. For example, the king room in which my wife and I stayed was barely large enough to hold the bed. (For comparison: After this business trip we drove down the coast to visit my sister in Santa Cruz, stayed in an aging fifties-style motel for $50/night, and the room was twice as big and offered plenty of space to walk around.) The bathroom door was not well balanced and would only stay open if propped--It wasn't spring-loaded, which I originally thought. We almost had a disaster when I started filling the sink to shave, walked out of the bathroom to grab my clothes, and came back to discover that the overflow drain in the sink didn't work. (I caught that just in time, as the waves were lapping the shore. And it wasn't just slow, but in fact plugged--Out of curiosity I gave it a few minutes to see whether any water would make it out through that drain, and none did.) Also, the hotel "gift shop" is essentially a closet stocked with chips, soda, and the like, for which you pay at the front desk.

For those wanting something exotic--I did see the claim that the place is Japanese-themed, but the only real evidence I saw of that amounted to a few small exhibits in the lobby. (The hotel restaurants apparently offer some Asian-themed cuisine, though we did not dine in them.)

And it's expensive. Besides the room rates, I noted people complaining in other reviews about the one-time $20 charge for using the recreational facilities, which has gone up to $25. And if you have the courage to drive in downtown San Francisco to get to this place, you're going to pay $50/day for valet parking, the only parking option at this hotel. Wireless Internet is somewhat more than at most places these days, $15.95/day, but it's a solid signal, one plus.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    910
    313
    97
    65
See reviews for
365
847
164
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights here and we like this hotel for its location and convenience for Walgreen and food. This a beautiful hotel and makes it luxurious looking.

We stayed at a club floor with lounge and health facilities however we were little disappointed that the club service only opens for breakfast 6 am till 10 am and a wine and cheese session starting at 5 pm till 7 pm. Most club floor hotels we stayed, the lounges service are mostly open throughout the day for light refreshments and drinks. The pool is good as it is a indoor pool and there is also a jacuzzi pool with warm water. We enjoyed it so much after a long day tour and had a good soak in the pool.

The morning buffet variety is good with a mix of Japanese section and western with the normal usual spread. However they do not change the variety from day to day, thus it makes it really boring to see the same spread everyday.

The hotel location is good with Powell cable car station very nearby and many good shopping area nearby. We like this hotel and we most probably come back when we visit San fransisco again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Nikko while on a work trip and was booked in what was called a Petite Queen. I assumed that the Petite referred to the bed size. No. That referred to the room size! Petite means that the room is very very small. Unbelievably small. Almost closet like - But it was clean and bell service lovely.
The internet is 16$ a day! I couldn't believe it - as all of the neighboring hotels offer free internet - I did not even think of asking.
When I went to check out they tried to charge me for items in the minibar although I never touched anything.
Great location.

Room Tip: Take a high floor and only regular sized rooms. If you book on their website Internet is free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for 11 nights. I would rate this hotel "very good," but for several unpleasant things that happened. The room was quite comfortable, the beds high and firm (the way my wife and I like them), the concierge quite helpful, the pool very pleasant, and the in-room food, from breakfast to pizza, surprisingly good. But:

1. I have trouble climbing stairs, and the hotel's main-entrance escalator kept breaking down, day after day; we had to walk around the corner (in the rain!) to a side entrance.

2. We brought a bath sheet from home that was much larger, and a different color, than the hotel's bath towels. We left it hanging one day, yet the housekeeping person took it away along with the towels we left on the floor, and it took a full day of calls before they were able to find it in the laundry: they kept saying "we found it," and sending up a baby blanket instead!

3. We carefully laid out the hotel's card indicating that we wanted new sheets one day; housekeeping took the card away without leaving a new one in its place, and failed to change the linens altogether.

4. When we checked in, they gave us a room with a different bed configuration than the one we had reserved (and which they had confirmed by e-mail months before). I thought it wouldn't matter, but on the third day it became clear that I couldn't get much sleep, so I called the hotel's reservations officer. She insisted loudly that I had never been promised a different type of room, but finally agreed that I could have one for the remaining days if I was willing to pay and extra $20 a day! Not having much of a choice, I agreed.

5. I called one day to ask for some tea bags and was promised them, but they were never delivered.

6. I had to call room service one day to get them to send out a breakfast menu card of the sort you leave hanging outside your door; they hadn't left us a replacement for the card we turned in.

I have to give them credit for fixing all of these problems (eventually), but the staff doesn't seem very well trained. And the hotel is not cheap!

Room Tip: Make sure the thermostat works (ours was irregular), and only the higher-priced rooms have "fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location - efficient staff - a rainy night and we were going to Feinsteins, which is in the hotel, which made it a beautiful and convenient evening. Believe wi-fi should be included in price - paid $60 extra per night for wi-fi, breakfast & higher floor - not a bad deal, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear mwolf5935,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We always love hearing from satisfied guests. I'm glad that you got to experience Feinstein's at the Nikko as well. It really is a lovely way to spend the evening, just as you said.

Enjoy your holidays.

Sincerely,
Dani Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, adequate, but nothing special for the money. Stayed here as part of a conference that was held at Hotel Nikko. It was extremely convenient. Aside from that I was annoyed that there was no free wi-fi at all in the hotel--not even in the lobby. Use of the pool or exercise room also required additional fees. When rooms are this expensive certain amenities should be included.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was good. I thought it was too expensive but then again it is San Francisco. I liked better the Hotel I stayed previously on market street (see prior reviews); where I felt that the room was nicer (don't get me wrong the rooms in this hotel are fine). On the other hand I felt that this hotel was better located and was more convenient in terms of restaurants within a short walking distance.

Pros: Convenient, well located, clean, quiet, fast elevators.
Cons: Price; otherwise nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.