We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why charge for WiFi and pool / gym?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why charge for WiFi and pool / gym?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

OK stay, not cheap. Downtown location near Union square. Why does this hotel need to charge daily fees (Under correction $15 per day for WiFi and $20 to use the gym and pool?). Do visit Chipotle take-aways across the road -- fantastic food.
Next time will stay in Sausolito (easy Ferry ride across Bay with great views of Golden Gate bridge and Alcatraz // or take BigBus from the parking area into SanFran) or closer to the Wharf.

Room Tip: Go as high floor as possible to reduce noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media - Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi luap123141,
We're glad you recently stayed with Hotel Nikko and we appreciate your feedback! To answer your question, some of our guests are not interested in the additional amenities, so they prefer to enjoy the lowest room rates. Also, when you do decide to return, I'd like to suggest you look at Special Packages on the Hotel Nikko website, which includes some of the amenities you mentioned.

Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    909
    313
    97
    65
See reviews for
365
847
164
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warsaw
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The impression you have at the lobby ends when you enter the room (we had normal queen kinda room)... but its not bad hotel at all, maybe expected bit more!

+ central location
+ valet parking works well
+ super staff at the concierge
+ nice restaurants

- clean level was very poor in our case (dust not done, in toilet had questionable stains)
- wifi costs
- small room, would need renovation soon

Anyway, still probably one of the good choices in the center of SF, price/quality wise. As everywhere in SF, parking costs quite a bit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Mokoma,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Nikko. Glad there were things you enjoyed such as the convenience of location, staff attention and Anzu Restaurant. I will share your comments with the Housekeeping Manager as cleanliness is something we really do require for every room.

Note: There is free WiFi available in the Starbuck's which may be entered from the hotel on the lobby level.

We do hope you'll give us another chance to wow you!

All the Best,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I typically stay at Marriot properties, however for our 10th anniversary, we decided to try something new. (One thing I forgot to add here..We are hotel SNOBS !!!) We loved Hotel Nikko, the rooms were CLEAN, nice and comfortable. The gym was top notch, better than our personal gym back in Atlanta, Ga. The breakfast buffet was awesome !! Mind you, I love my pancakes and grits (country boy, yes) however with the many choices available, I didn't miss it all. The concierge service was first class, you can get a lot of your questions answered via text which was very convenient when you're out and about and need directions. Desiree is top notch and very personable. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel given the proximity to union square as well as other attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper level room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Engagement Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
C M,
First of all congratulations on your happy 10 year Anniversary! We are always thrilled when we become a part of your celebrations. Please, make it an annual event, we hope to welcome you back for many more anniversaries.

We're so glad we passed your test! I will pass along the praise of the brunch to the chef. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After booking 3 different hotels in San Fran, we finally decided on Hotel Nikko. This was a great choice. Staff was fantastic!!!! Very helpful and professional. We were always greeted by name. At the end of our stay, we were heading to Sonoma area via a car we had rented from Thrifty (big mistake and will be also providing a review on them and it will be a horrible review) Thrifty didn't have a car ready for us and neglected to tell us that they could not foresee when they would have a car as no cars had been returned. Anyways. We went back to the hotel to check our luggage and told the valet/bellman about what had happened. He walked over to enterprise to get a car for us. Enterprise matched what thrifty had quoted us and we were on our way.

This is only one example of the customer service that we received at Hotel Nikko. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Dana B.,
How exciting to hear that you received exceptional service. Thank you for the 5 circle rating. We hope to welcome you back soon!

All the Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Hotel Nikko. The service was absolutely amazing and the hotel staff was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location, close to downtown and Union Square felt like we were right in the middle of everything. It was easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go, from the hotel. The bathroom was a very nice size, with walk-in shower and separate tub, in the same room. The toilet was in separate room. I would highly recommend Hotel Nikko!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
abbyglover1 hello!
We are thrilled to have been a part of your Easter 2014 celebration and it's great to hear the positive feedback about our staff and room conditions! I will pass this along to the General Manager.

We look forward to your return soon, the weather is perfect throughout the year, so hurry back!

Warm Regards,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Nikko. It was a great location, in the downtown area near Union Square, and other places were very easy to get to from here. The room was comfortable, staff were attentive, we LOVED the large indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam room. We used them every day. What a wonderful way to end a day of sightseeing before we went out for dinner. There was a fabulous diner around the corner where we had breakfast every day. The only negative was no free wifi but that wasn't really an issue as the hotel has a Starbucks on the ground floor - not really part of the hotel but in the building. So every day I would have a hot chocolate and use their wifi. A win win situation. I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Nikko.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room, away from the lift and stairwell, as I am a light sleeper and the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
holiday-hopeful2010,
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Nikko. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and return soon please!

All the Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The service at this hotel was amazing. The concierge helped me out with a wine tour that I had planned online earlier and kept me informed throughout the process; had to pass it along to the concierge on duty the next morning and both did an excellent job of sorting things out. The front desk staff offered complimentary wine when I asked about buying some at the restaurant. The restaurant staff at Anzu were equally helpful in offering complimentary fare. The price was right for conference attendees but a little pricey without the discount for the average person.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one at the back of the hotel away from noisy traffic and walkers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media-Community Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Oksana,
Thank you so much for the "amazing" 5 circle rating and especially highlighting the exceptional customer service at Hotel Nikko, that's something that makes us very proud. See you soon!

Happy Travels,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.