We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We loved the ease of getting to the Nikko on the BART--there's a station within 1 1/2 blocks of the hotel. Nice rooms, and although they're under some construction right now, we barely noticed; no noise, no dust. Comfortable beds and a great view from our window facing the east Bay. We didn't visit the restaurant inside the hotel, but it looked good. There were lots of interesting places to eat in the neighborhood, and the Embarcadero was a 15 minute walk (or a short cab ride) away.
Nikko's staff were all great, but we particularly appreciated the day and evening concierges; each of them went out of the way to help us find what we were looking for, get us reservations or set up a day tour on short notice. We'll stay there again next time we need to be in SF.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear dolby05,

Thank you for your five-circle review of Hotel Nikko. We find our location to be an extremely valuable asset to our hotel. Therefore, we ensure that our staff is available to help our guests during any time of need. You also have the option to text a staff member for any assistance as well. Please come again soon to see the product of our construction, and to check out our restaurant!

Warmest regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    914
    314
    97
    65
See reviews for
370
847
164
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarragona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Perfection. Great location ......... incredible breakfast buffet. Extraordinary gym. I highly recommend it if you can afford it. If you cannot better get another source of income to be able to pay such nice location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear oscarcami,

Thank you for your five-circle review of Hotel Nikko. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy many aspects of our hotel, such as our breakfast buffet, our gym and our convenient location to Union Square. Please come again and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I always thought it odd that people rate hotels, always poorly, because of their interactions on the phone reservation system. Now I get it, after tonight.

I found a better deal for my stay through my credit card at a Hyatt and went online to cancel my reservation at the Hotel Nikko. Well, there is no link at their website to change, check, or cancel a reservation. Inconvenient, yes, but no big deal. They list a number to call to "contact us."

So I call and am told "I can't find your reservation." I gave her the confirmation number and was told to hold. She got back on and told me I would have to call the hotel directly. Tomorrow. When I asked her why I had to do this she hung up on me.

Wow. It's 2014 and I'm feeling like Jack Lemmon in the "Out of Towners." Thank goodness I'm in my home and not stranded in San Francisco at the Nikko. If this is any indication of how this hotel is run I am so happy to have stumbled on my new deal at the Hyatt.

Wish me luck on that phone call tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear epmntraveler
We would like to assist you with your issue, but we need more information from you. Brian Louie in the front office is awaiting your call. 4153941130
With warm regards
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I go to San Francisco couple time a year for business and I usually stay at the Parc 55 this year they did not want to extend the trade show price to my last two day in San Francisco and double the price to go to the rack price I book on Priceline another hotel in the same neigborhood for $10.00 more per night what I originally paid at the Parc 55.
The room are beautiful the bathroom are fantastic, the property is great I will be back here from now on

Room Tip: There is a $20.00 per stay to use the gym and pool, the pool is a bit weird very shallow 2' to 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear maisoncote,

Thank you for your five-circle review. Our guests take quite a liking to our bathroom amenities. We offer several different room features, depending on which one you book, so that is something you might want to consider on your next visit. In addition, we recommended booking a package deal that include amenities you desire for a better rate. We hope to hear from you soon, whether it be on business or leisure!

Warmest wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed February 16th-20th. We had a room on an imperial floor with two queen beds (floors 21,22,23 are called imperial floors which means you pay more to get more.... I did not get a chance to see non-imperial rooms). The room was spacious and very quiet at night. We had a room on 22nd floor with a nice view (i.e. there was no other tall building right next to the wall to wall window and we could see a bit of the golden gate bridge in the distance). Included in the imperial package was daily breakfast (awesome quality Japanese and American style food), 5-7 pm cocktail reception (wine, soft drinks, assorted cheeses and 2 warm appetizers) , health club (fully equipped with the usual weights and cardio machines, a 4 lane pool!!...also there is sauna and steam room in the locker room, plenty of towels and a water cooler), and in room wi-fi. The staff was very professional and friendly. The hotel has a relaxed feel provided by the ambient lighting and music with a sort of a Japanese touch to it. We booked all our daily excursions through the concierge desk without any issues (hop-on/hop-off bus, Muir Woods, and Alcatraz....Alcatraz needs to be reserved one day ahead). The hotel location is great too, just a 5 minute walk from the BART Powell station in Union Square so it's easy to get from/to the airport. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Floors 21,22,23 are imperial rooms which means you pay a bit more but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Director at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear ptraveleg,

Thank you for your five-circle review of our hotel. Our Imperial Floor is really worth the value, and we are glad you and your family were able to experience it! Your comprehensive review of our top-level rooms will be a great help to potential guests. We hope to hear from you soon.

Warm wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Everything about my stay at The Nikko was close to perfection. Beautiful, clean modern room, great lobby, great service, free wifi, but these rooms are small. The Parc 55 right acroos the street has much bigger rooms for about the same price. Still, you will enjoy a peaceful stay at The Nikko

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear berkguy,

Thank you for your four-circle review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and appreciated the design of our hotel. One thing to remember is that we have several different room options and some are larger than others. Hopefully on your next visit, we will meet perfection!

Best wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I commuted 90 miles for a job in San Francisco for five years and often stayed overnight in the city. Having stayed in dozens of properties, this was by far the quietest room I've ever stayed in, and that's saying something. Trip Advisor reviews are riddled with complaints about noise, but guess what? Street noise (garbage trucks, sirens) is a given in San Francisco. I don't know if it was the room location on an upper floor, but even with a room facing the elevatory lobby, I didn't hear a thing, and I'm a light sleeper. (Other reviews cover the great location so I'm not adding to that.)

Pluses: Lots of nice extra touches - advance checkin with expedited line in lobby; mid-stay personal email from the manager asking if there was anything that needed to be corrected; fun technological gizmos like the TV screen in the bathroom mirror; friendly and helpful desk staff (even when we asked about a sushi place outside of the hotel); well appointed business center; right-on-time room service breakfast; comfortable bed with choice of pillow styles, nice linens; sleek styling; upgraded without asking (for no charge); very clean and everything in good condition; good room lighting.

Minuses: haven't thought of one yet. I didn't love the $57 overnight parking fee but I've paid more. Seems to be the going rate. I also hate paying for internet service ($15.95) when you are already paying $319 for a room.

Room Tip: I loved #2427 - it's the Imperial Club floor - but it was a free upgrade. Super quiet up here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear betsysSacramento,

Thank you for your five-circle review. Providing a light sleeper, like yourself, with a good (and silent) night's rest brings us great comfort. We are also glad that you took advantage of many of our amenities- the bathroom mirror tv screen is one of our favorite touches too! We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.