We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #44 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfy and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Oh, so happy. We were here for a conference and I arrived super early from morning flight. They managed to already have my room ready which is so helpful after flying cross country. The room was huge by urban standards, the bed comfortable, and the furnishings fine. The health club was big and well equipped, with a pool big enough for laps. The Fairmont's health club allows outside membership, so sometimes seemed crowded, but this one seemed only to be hotel guests so was never overly busy. The hotel staff was always pleasant. The location is perfect for public transit and restaurants, though next to the bad unpleasant tenderloin district on the west side. This isn't a major ding, though, since you can just avoid walking in that direction.

Room Tip: As in any big city, go high up if you can. It is a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jankirsch,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference, and that we were able to make your time here as stress-free and relaxing as possible. Our hotel spa, pool, and gym facilities are exclusive to Nikko guests and members. And our location really is a great feature of our hotel – our guests are within walking distance from great food, fun entertainment, and a wide variety of shopping; there are so many things to do here! We thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    990
    325
    103
    68
See reviews for
396
895
172
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The good: clean rooms, feeling of being in a 'top class city hotel', comfortable beds, reasonable 24 hour gym. Pool looks nice but didn't get a chance to use it. Staff are at the standard to be expected.

The mediocre: average bathrooms, 1980s style decor, lift aesthetics do not match rest of the building, why? Reasonable Union Square/Tenderloin location if you like that stuff.

The bad: Extremely expensive. Kept tacking on extra bills at each opportunity. $15 a day per device wifi - easily runs to $45 a day for a laptop, iPad and iPhone. Wifi does not work effectively.
Room service was basically inedible. In the city of organic meat, the burger was a crime.

Stay here if you get a good all inclusive price for your trip, but don't 'pay to stay here'.
You are better off springing for a few extra bucks to get to the Clift. Bearing in mind if you have 3 portable devices, you will run to an extra $50 a day in charges on your room.
Or if you are on a budget, there are far better hotels which don't laden you with extras. My experience was a supposedly cheap trip where I found my self $200 down on wifi alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights for a conference. The rooms were quite large, but with an unusual set up. They were clean. The food at the hotel was adequate. The service was adequate. It was in a fantastic location, walking distance to union square, restaurants , etc. there was a one time fee to use the gym facilities- which I have never had to do before when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear s_karthika,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference. We love being located so close to Union Square, fabulous restaurants, entertainment, and many more wonderful things that this city has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was one of the best hotels that I have stayed at. While in California for the summer time, my aunt and cousin came to visit. I came down from Concord to stay the night with them at the hotel and was very pleased. The rooms were extremely clean and the view was spectacular! The indoor pool was also amazingly clean and refreshing. Considering that it was pouring cats and dogs outside it was nice to be able to swim in a place like that. I highly recommend this hotel right in the heart of Japan town in San Francisco!

Room Tip: If you like views request a higher level. If you are scared of earthquakes request a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ryann E,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us during their visit to San Francisco. The best part of having an indoor swimming pool is for that very reason you mentioned – to still be able to go for a swim, even during the rain!
We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

......an oasis in the middle of one of the lovliest cities on earth!!!! and after you check in .,....take a hot bath.....walk around the corner to a fabulous little sushi restaurant for some sashimi and saki......then walk around "the hood"......and find some truly great street performers......cue: they played real good for free....joni mitchell......this is capt. zinblurf reporting for Neptune Public Radio.....happy travels!!!!
.......riddle: how does a german say hello in mexico? gooten taco......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear steve p,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and had the opportunity to experience the food and culture that this amazing city has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, IA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed her for a meeting and an extra night after.

Hotel room was nice, clean, bed was comfortable.

Service was ok, had luggage delay and there was a little miscommunication with the delivery but it was all worked out.

The hotel bar was nice with a good scotch selection and knowledgeable bartender.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear David M,
Thank you for your review – we are happy to have had you stay with us. We are sorry that there was a delay with your luggage, but we are glad to hear that everything was promptly taken care of. We hope you consider staying with us on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Nikko for 2 nights during a visit to SFO for business. It has a very nice location and lots of things to do in and around the hotel in the evening. Love the Irish bar close to it....... The property is very nice too with lots of White Marble on the walls. Makes you feel "special".

The rooms are decent sized and clean. If you have time in the evening; you should try their Asian (more or less Sushi) restaurant- Anzu. I always go there; irrespective if I stay or do not stay at Nikko.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear World_Trvlr1021,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you consider staying with us again during your next visit.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.