We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added charges are sneaky and doubled the price of my room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Park!
Ranked #42 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Added charges are sneaky and doubled the price of my room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

When I booked this hotel, it seemed liked it was priced right @ just under $144 per night, which seemed great for San Francisco. The hotel itself is nice, but they ruined the whole experience for me by all the added charges and had I known before I went there that the extras were so expensive, I'd have never stayed there.

These added charges almost doubled the price of my room. What started out to be $144 per night, turned into just under $300 per night.
- Parking - $45 per night.
- Pet rate - $50 per night, compared to many other with a flat fee of $50-75 per stay
- Internet - $15 PER device (so for my computer, ipad and phone - $45 per night)
Add it up - $140 in EXTRA CHARGES per night and this doesn't even include access to the gym.

When will hotels understand that raping customers like this is unacceptable, sneaky, dishonest and bad for the brand?

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone as a result of this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear causemark,

I appreciate the time it took for you to write your review, but I must disagree with your comments that the hotel is sneaky or dishonest. Here is why. All of our fees are listed on the FAQ page on our website. Some room packages include amenities such as internet, gym, and food and beverage, while others do not. The variable pricing allows guests to pay for the items that are important to them and not pay for additional items. I am not sure how you booked your reservation, but choice of room types and amenity options are available. Reservations booked through our own website hotelnikkosf.com, offer complimentary internet for one device for the duration of your stay. We also have a Starbucks on the ground floor if you would like to connect to the internet at no extra cost. Parking in urban cities does cost more than in less compressed areas, but our parking is on par with other garages allowing in and out privileges. All of these prices are noted on the hotels website.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    868
    842
    294
    89
    62
See reviews for
339
796
160
516
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the Nikko several years ago and experienced the rooms to be clean and tastefully appointed. The staff was gracious. During our recent trip to San Francisco, we again stayed at the Nikko. As we were trying to use up some airline miles, we booked our room with miles. My rough conversion formula of miles=$ suggested we were paying more than if we had booked at the current rate. Our booking with miles apparently only qualified us for a room that was sub-par. It was tiny and tired. The carpet was very dirty and the walls were scuffed up (perhaps because the room was so narrow, it was easy to scape up against them). There was also mildew in the grouting of the shower. At check-in the receptionist offered us an upgrade for an additional per night fee. We declined since we believed we had already "overpaid" for the room. It was disappointing. In sum, the building is lovely, but if you book with miles you will be offered their least desirable rooms with a sales pitch to upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Nikko was a perfectly okay hotel, but it starts to annoy you when you learn that they want to charge about $16 for wi-fi--and of course you need wi-fi. And you look at a small bottle of water on a table and see that it costs $6. Even turning on the TV is a battle to avoid premium charges, which I won by turning it off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear WJClinton,
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. By booking on our own website hotelnikkosf.com, the internet fee will be waived for one device for the duration of your stay.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the big rooms and super comfortable beds. The gym and pool are great!

The location is in the centre of SFO right next to Union Square - perfect.

I would recommend eating out as the restaurant/room service is nothing special and very Japanese focused, so if this is not your thing then avoid!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Englishguy85,
Thank you for your feedback. We’re so happy you enjoyed your trip to San Francisco and your stay at our hotel. The restaurant offers Asian Inspired California cuisine. There is a selection of sushi, but also local favorites like roast chicken and steak for lunch and dinner and pancakes, French toast and eggs for breakfast. We hope you will try ANZU Restaurant on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here as part of a business meeting over two days and then a couple more nights. Given the competion this hotel is the definition of average....everything worked but there is absolutely nothing that is better than the competitors. Location is good for Union Square. Staff were OK on check-in but no real interest in me as an individual and I cannot recall any of them. Overall this had nothing Japanese about it apart from a few posters - where is the Japanese service? Couldn't get into a restaurant we wanted to visit so the concierge recommended one on the same block and it was really bad.

The room was comfortable and large and bathroom was good. It had all the things I needed (free internet, iron, coffee) but lacked any colour or character - 'US hotel beige' best sums it up. This overall feeling prevades the whole building - no character.

Only ate in the hotel as part of the conference and the food was really disappointing - the main course of the main conference dinner was a mix of fish and steak but everything on the plate had a strange taste like they had cooked everything in old oil. I didnt eat it which is the first time for a year or two.

Given the price I wouldn't stay here when there are so many better in SF.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear skoyen 89
OUCH! This review stings, but it also helps us to improve. We have used your review in a management training class. We hope that you will return to experience the improvements.
Thank you for your comments rest assured that we do react!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Central location by Union Square where you can do all your shopping. We also caught the tour bus at Union Square. Cable car and streetcar are also nearby.

The room is nice, clean and comfortable. Not exactly modern but not old/worn out. Nice view of the city. Staff were helpful with our needs. Starbucks in the hotel is crowded for breakfast.

Got surprised by the homeless population in SF. There are some outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear packflashpack,
Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff. I’m glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, including its close proximity to many of the city’s attractions.
We hope you come back soon to see the rest of this amazing city.

Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice room in a good location near Union Square (added bonus: it’s close to the Powell St station if you catch the BART from the airport). Everything was comfortable, modern and clean (apart from some skid marks in the toilet when we arrived!). One annoying thing was that there were lots of extra charges if you wanted things like swimming pool access or internet. Also, the extractor fan in our bathroom was broken.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear EchidandKiwi,
Thank you for your review. Additional optional services and fees are included on the FAQs page on our website. Also booking through the TripAdvisor link to our page will give you free internet for one device.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.