We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good locaiton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #42 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good locaiton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel in the heart of Union Sq. The staff is very polite and accommodating. Although there is a charge for Wifi, per device, there are several promotional rates that provide free internet. Parking at the location is $45 for valet. Low floors don't have a nice view so higher floors are recommended, lower floors can also be noisy. I'd stay there again, and try an imperial floor next time. There is a $20 charge to use the spa and pool, which close at 10 PM. Fitness center is 24 hours.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room. If you are going to end up paying for the spa/pool area, it might be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlets Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ZeeZee666,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nikko. Our Imperial Club rooms are great and feature a wonderful view of San Francisco. We look forward to having you back, and don't hesitate to ask our Reservation or front desk staff for advice on choosing a room for your stay!
Best regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    874
    301
    91
    64
See reviews for
352
822
161
539
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in the Imperial Club room @ nikko, SF. These rooms are on the top floors,I think 26,27,28 and had amazing views of the city and the bay. The bathrooms are good big.
The hotel is right there in downtown and 5 mins to Union square. SF public transport is good, in case u don't wanna walk around.
There is Starbucks on the ground floor @ the entrance of the hotel...so, u can always pick up coffee etc when in rush.
The check in was smooth and the hotel is very well maintained. food is good. the club lounge offers good variety too.
there are a lot of good restaurants around...walking distance ...so u can try those instead of eating @ the hotel everyday.

staff is well trained and courteous.
excellent hotel with amazing views of SF if you wanna stay in downtown :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlets Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kushika,
We appreciate the time you took to write a review for us. I can't agree with you more on the amazing views of the city. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, and were placed on the 21st floor (Nikko Floor). Nice views, quality amenities in the room. Tried to use the jacuzzi, but you have to pay $20, since it is in their spa, and you have to pay to get in. Parking is a nightmare in downtown San Francisco, and this hotel is no exception. Even with a GPS I could not identify the hotel - the lettering was 2" high and we arrived at night; hotel parking access is unmarked. After circling the block 3 times, we parked in a nearby parking garage. SF public transportation is great, avoid driving if you can.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, there are lots of sirens and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear roger h
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. You can find several useful tips about our hotel on the FAQ page of our website. We speak optional fees for services such as the $20 fee per room per stay for membership to the Health Club and there is a GPS address to lead you straight to the valet parking for the hotel. (180 Ellis Street) .
We hope these tips help you on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the nikko is in a great location, although some people will complain because it borders the tenderloin, which can be sketchy. it's very close to union square (which people like, although i don't) and lots of very cool galleries. the rooms are perfectly comfortable and the size is fine. the staff are accommodating with a helpful concierge. the lobby is nice, if not a little bland. i guess, overall, i think the place lacks character. there's nothing wrong with it, but there's nothing great about it, either. if you can get a reasonable price (e.g., lower than the hilton across the street), stay there. i probably would not pay the standard rate, though. i think the place is more business-y than vacation/special-event-y. again. nothing wrong with, but nothing particulalry right about it, either (save the location).

finally, there lots of really good ethnic restaurants in the tenderloin, if you're willing to brave the denizens.

Room Tip: the higher the better. also, there is a high-roller floor where the rooms have floor to ceiling wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Nikko for a weekend in January. The big positive is the front desk and concierge staff, who were extremely helpful and gracious. Otherwise, not much to rave about this hotel. The rooms are okay - comfy bed and other furniture that appears that they were recently updated. The bathrooms may be in need of updating though, but everything is functioning well. By the way, why are the coffee makers in the bathroom?

The elevators are very quick - never had to wait long for one. The location is very convenient - a block to Union Square and also a block to the BART and Muni station (Powell). As noted by others, there is a Starbucks on the ground floor.

The major turn off for me is the "nickel and dimming". My room rate included wifi, if not they charge per day per device! In this time and age, even budget hotels provide wifi for free! Then I see a hard bound book by the night table - again, feel free to read it but you will be charged.

I left my bag with the bell captain for storage for an hour after check out as I had time to kill before my flight. When I came to pick it up, the porter gladly retrieved it but when he handed my bag, he said "you know we do this as service to our guests". Yes, I know that and that is why I have already set aside a tip. But by having to say it - it sounded more of like "don't forget to tip me!"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydesville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came here for a birthday weekend. My daughter and her friends "really, really, really" wanted a pool for the evenings after dinner (they're 13). That's why we chose Nikko. Pros: Couldn't have asked for a better location. We could walk to everything we wanted (China Town), shopping or used BART/ trolley/bus to get everywhere else: ferry, Ferry Building, Columbus for Italian food, Golden Gate Park. As always, dining is excellent and there is a plethora of restaurants nearby. ACT is 1 and 1/2 blocks up. Union Square and Westfield Mall are both 2 blocks away. Rooms had 2 queen beds each for the gaggle of geese called preteens and were fine in size. Views weren't important to us. If they were, we'd be at the Hyatt or Marriott.

Cons: From the moment you book a nonrefundable room, the side charges add up. I travel for business quite a bit and am use to the wi-fi charges (don't agree but am use to them). Here, you get charged for EVERY device individually. 2 computers for work and 2 ipads for pleasure for the kids add up on a daily basis. So everyone had to use my computer to do searches: bus schedules, ferry times, bicycle map routes, movie times, restaurant locations and would kick me off so work was getting a little interrupted since I really didn't want to pay $150 to use wi-fi. Pool is a side charge. Putting your own food in the fridge is a side charge. Etc, etc. All of these incidentals add up and they don't inform you until you've checked in, not even at booking. Very polite smile but "too bad, too sad" politeness. Off putting. BTW the pool/gym is a MANDATORY charge, even if you don't use it.

Next time, use the Omni/Hyatt. I can pay a facility fee to use the pool here or another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear citetapirep,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nikko as the venue for your daughter’s birthday celebration. We are glad you enjoyed being centrally located. There are always plenty of things to do nearby.

As for the extra charges, all of our charges are outlined on the FAQ page on our website and WIFI for one device is waived when you book online through our own website. Hotel Nikko has an amazing pool on the fifth floor. The charge for the pool and health club is $20.00 per room per stay. This is an optional charge and not mandatory. San Francisco, like many metropolitan cities worldwide, can be expensive, but if you use your sources, you will find so many ways to save. Don’t hesitate to stop at the concierge and ask.

Overall, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am quite happy with my stay here. Rooms are small, but OK, clean enough. Handy location, stone's throw to Union Square, and various transport, and also very handy to the car rental places across the road.

Big thumbs down to the pricey internet fees!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear pojaya,
Thank you for your recent review. We’re happy to read you and your family enjoyed your visit to beautiful San Francisco. Our location is walking distance to almost everything. For future reference, if you book with us online via our own website, the internet is waived. Also, the Starbucks located in our building offers free wifi.
We hope you and your family visit us soon.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.