We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Park!
Ranked #37 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Aging Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've wanted to stay here for several years, and this time I got in, a high room with view, small petite queen, just perfect for 1 or 2 travelers, not fancy dressing table, just a bed tv desk. Bed great, as was the bath large and a truly soaking tub, or at final dress and out, the shower was tops. The john, I forgot to get the name, had an excellent tight suck, almost musically charming. Elevator was right there, no long monotonous walks. The tower is tight and well-designed, though not as fluffy modern as the petite rooms in NYc with glass wall between shower and bed... The cool function, as SF was hot, was right-on my required 68..a comfort zone needed to do business. Outside near Apple and the Nordstrom shopping complex on Market. Good cheap restaurants surrounding but if my lady had time, we would have dined in the restaurant. ANZU. The lobby was fabulous. This is tops in San Francisco methinks.

Room Tip: high room, take an upgrade for more space if you are two, sleep-in San Fran can wait..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    842
    287
    88
    59
See reviews for
317
770
159
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found a special rate, which made this clean, modern Asian-style architecture, quiet hotel perfect for our long weekend. We didn't mind that the room was a little smaller than average because it is in a terrific location - easy walk to shopping, Union Square, Chinatown. The restaurant was too spendy for us, so we ate at other places. You can walk from the lobby through a door into Starbucks, which is a plus for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear SusannahDanna,
Thank you for your recent review. We are very fortunate to have a central location in the city and to many of the city's popular attractions.
We're very happy to hear that this is your favorite hotel in your favorite city.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Please feel free to keep in touch with us on facebook.com/hotelnikko for updates and specials.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Nikko for a conference. The rooms are small, the atmosphere is white, everything is overpriced and over rated and that is it. The staff are cold and not helpful always rushed and make you feel as if you are bothering them when asking a question. There is a daily charge for internet as well as a daily charge for the work out area. The location is nice, however for the price and location there are plenty of other hotels available that are nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a very central location for Union Square for the shopping and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Just as you would expect for the standard of hotel it is. The rooms were on the small side but were nice. It does feel a very business style of hotel. And they did charge $15 a day for internet, which I think is a bit much when every other hotel we used in the US provided it free. And you can go to the ajoining Starbucks and get it there free. There is also a pool and gym with an additional charge also, I don't think it was too bad...we didn't use them. I booked through Trivago and got a great rate and wanted to know I would be in a hotel of a certain standard. There are lots of homeless about outside, But they don't really hassle you...just ask for some change. It's on the edge of the Tenderloin district where a lot of the help centres for them are.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I often stay at the Nikko because a medical meeting I regularly attend is held there. The rooms are excellent. The staff is cordial and responsive. The location is prime.
It is a great place to stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Corner suites are open and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Kent M,
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you choose us as your hotel when visiting San Francisco.
We continue to look forward to welcoming you.
Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in the heart of SF. What impressed me most was the wonderful staff who went out of their way to accomodate you. We were there for a family getaway and our teens enjoyed the atmosphere and loved the swimming pool and the proximity to excellent shopping. Highly recommend Hotel Nikko.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on business. Valet parking is very expensive and not friendly. We had several vehicles vandalized during the nights we were staying and paying $57 a night for valet parking. The room was small, but comfortable. Room service was often slow and didn't come until late in the afternoon or early evening. Elevators were out one day and I was on the 21st floor. I did find the service elevators and used them. The location is great, though. Bobby in Security and Scott at the front desk were very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.