We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, modern and well positioned.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet!
Ranked #44 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good, clean, modern and well positioned.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

A good, clean, modern hotel close to Union Square and convenient for many of the sights. Helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Could be anywhere in the world but if that's not a problem we would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    990
    325
    103
    68
See reviews for
396
894
172
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed there for three nights and would definitely stay there again. I had a deluxe queen room which I still thought was small, but that's the standard for San Fran. What was great was that the door opened to a long hallway. The room itself was down the hallway and around the corner which almost eliminated hall noise! THAT was awesome. Professional staff. Central location. Great views. A little noisy, due to lots of people in the area; if you don't like crowds, don't stay in ANY Union Square hotel (in fairness, the Hotel Nikko is not as near to the crowds in Union Square as a few others are). Only minor complaint: the "hotel services" menu on the TV had issues; among them, I couldn't checkout on there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and do it kindly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear AlbuquerqueTony,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do agree that Union Square does get a bit hectic and are happy that we are far enough to avoid the crowd but close enough to enjoy the perks! I am speaking with our Director about the hotel services menu on our TVs and hope to get that resolved as soon as possible. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We are delighted to hear that you plan to stay with us again during your next visit! Please feel free to stay in touch with us on facebook.com/hotelnikko to find out about specials going on in the hotel and events around the city. We look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,

Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this location for three nights while traveling to San Francisco for some sightseeing as well as to run the half marathon. You will notice we rated this location 5 stars….which we do not give lightly…but they earned the positive review for sure with such a polished product.

As we spent a few days in Napa/Sonoma prior to arriving at the Nikko so we arrived by rental car. It’s a bit confusing to find the driveway entry but not bad. The hotel bellman took our bags, allowed us to park for 15 minutes to check in, and then we returned our car and walked back to the hotel. Super easy. Check in was quick and efficient. Valet and Bell services are on the lowest level, lobby is on the second level. Our room was ready when we checked in just before 4pm. Our return back to Oakland airport was a short 5 minute walk to the BART station, then a train to the Oakland station, followed by a short bus ride to the terminal. Very easy and not susceptible to traffic conditions like a cab. (Plus MUCH cheaper!)

The location was about 2 easy blocks off the center of Union Square. We felt safe walking in the area, but of course keep your eyes open and be aware of your surroundings. Yes, the Tenderloin district is nearby (opposite direction from Union Square), but if you are aware of that, you can avoid the area. Yes, there are homeless people around occasionally asking for money, but that is the case with all the metro area…not just where this hotel is located. Fisherman’s Wharf area is a short taxi ride (about $8 + tip) or you can take the cable car. The cable car is $6 per person, but takes about an hour + the time for the line. If you have never ridden the cable car….of by all means, take the time to ride it! If the cable car is a “been there done that” for you, (like it was for us) than I would say save your money, take a taxi, and get there quicker! There were either 2 or 4 of us depending on the trip, so it was always less expensive to take a cab. Hailing a cab down on Fisherman’s Wharf can be challenging but we had success within 5 minutes walking “inland” a block or two and being observant and quick on our feet. (Don’t look for a cab near a cable car or street car stop!)

The hotel has wonderful gym with quite a tons of cardio equipment, (including TV's), a weight system, yoga mats, and other equipment all overlooking the city. There is a very nice indoor pool and hot tub. We used the hot tub each night. Both the pool and workout room were a comfortable temperature (which sometimes is not the case with an indoor pool) The locker rooms also have showers and steam room. One thing to note, there is a $10 per day charge, per room for access to the health club an pool. It was included in my corporate rate so it was not an issue, but something I wanted to point out. That being said, around 8:30 or 9pm when we went, there was nobody there to collect the fee.

The lobby is welcoming and quiet with soft music playing. They have a nicely appointed business center but we never used it. Newspapers of several types were available for free in the lobby each morning. There is also a small convenience pantry next to the front desk. We never went in so cannot comment, but it is nice to have if you want something quick. The concierge of course printed our boarding passes for us, so we never had the occasion to use the business center. The hotel has internet access for a fee, though I am not exactly sure how much it costs, as it was also included in my corporate rate. The internet access was acceptable from a speed standpoint.

We were on a discounted corporate rate, but still received a very nice room on the 19th floor. The view was nothing spectacular, but nice none the less. The room was quiet and we did not experience any excessive city noises. About all we ever heard was the occasional emergency vehicle. The rooms were nicely decorated, with full windows and very comfortable with nice modern decoration. The windows could use washing outside though. The king sized bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. We called down to get some foam pillows and extra towels and were quickly accommodated. The curtains did an excellent job of blocking out the light. They have nice flat screen TV's with sufficient channels, and the room included a large work desk, plenty of plugs, a dresser, nice closet, and a lounge chair / ottoman. Our room had a separate room for the toilet, a vanity outside the bathroom, and a bar / minibar (for a fee). The sink, shower, and separate bath tub were in the main bathroom. The bathrooms were well stocked with nice toiletries and were replenished daily. Our friends said that their room had a standard bathroom layout. There is a coffee/tea maker, ice bucket, and mini bar. (No room in minibar for personal items) Everything was spotlessly clean. The climate control works well with the only negative being we never seemed to be able to leave the blower motor on for white noise. The towels were nice and fluffy and the sheets were comfortable.

Across the board, the staff at this hotel was excellent and always friendly, including the valet, bell staff, front desk, concierge, restaurant, and housekeeping. Housekeeping always took care of any special requests and did an excellent job servicing the room. One really cool thing, the morning I was running the half marathon, my wife awoke a bit before her wakeup call and was in the shower at the time of the call. The hotel went above and beyond in my opinion, which was so neat. About 15 minutes after the designated wakeup call…a staff member knocked on the door to make sure that she did not oversleep. How cool!

There are tons of dining options near hotel. On our first night we dined in the hotel’s Asian restaurant. We all agreed the food, service, and bar service was very good, all in a relaxing environment. Though the restaurant was not inexpensive by any means, the food quality associated with the price is appropriate, and on par with restaurants outside the hotel. Room service is available 24/7 and seemed relatively reasonable. (Given it was room service that is.) There is no shortage of dining options in easy 5 minute walking distance and the concierge was always happy to make recommendations. There is also a Starbucks at the end of the hotel lobby.

The only oddity I can really think of is that when we checked out, we had some $100 Visa Debit cards we wanted to apply to their room (employer incentives) and for some reason their system must preauthorize tips or something, so all the front desk could apply is 85% of the cards value. We have used these at other hotels without a problem. Worth noting for sure, but not a big deal…..and given this was the only thing that was not absolutely perfect, I have no complaints.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We are very happy having stayed here. Convenient to all the tourist attractions as well as our race expo and start. Thanks for a great Stay Hotel Nikko!

Room Tip: High Floor Rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyonville, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Nikko 10/15-10/18 for the Nike Women's San Francisco Marathon. Booked a double standard room and requested a fridge be placed in room as well. Arrived on Friday @ 12 and was immediately able to use room. Very nice room and fairly large for SF standards. Fridge was in room as requested which was fabulous since we were there to run a marathon and needed liquids! The only complaint that I have of room is would have been nice to have a large mirror in the actual room area to utilize as vanity. Hotel is located directly across the street from Hilton which was being picketed, loud blaring megaphones starting at the crack of dawn which is no fault of Nikko. Unpacked and headed to Nike tent for registration. Perfect location to Marathon starting line, not soooo close to be crazy loud but close enough to not exhaust our legs before a marathon. Loved the beds, super comfortable. Starbucks is located in lower level but the line was always so long didn't have patience to deal with it. Nikko also has a restaurant and a lounge/bar, didn't patron them but they looked nice. Nikko boasts an indoor pool/hottub/spa. After 26.2 miles of running we wanted nothing more then to soak in the hottub. Walked through the spa which was beautiful and hit the hottub which was lukewarm at best. We did call maintenance and within 10 minutes the water temperature was fixed and we were soaking our exhausted muscles. The hottub is a little dated but still did the trick. Staff was courteous and efficient. We are again heading for SF to run the Marathon 20/2011 and have booked the Nikko again. I highly recommend it to anyone who is heading for San Fran for that great race!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Thoop8,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Nikko. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotel, especially after running the Women’s Nike Marathon.

We apologize for the little hot tub incident and are happy that you were able to relax after your run. Thank you for your advice about a full length mirror! That’s a great point and I will talk to management about the idea and see if we can include that in our next renovation.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon! Don’t forget to check out facebook.com/hotelnikko about specials in the hotel and restaurant, as well as getting information about what’s going on in the city for your next stay.

Sincerely,

Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was able to secure 4 nights in July 2011 @ Hotel Nikko at a great value for an average price of $140. I just saw the the average price for a Friday through Monday in August 2011(same timing during the week as my trip) is now $317! I obviously will see much more value in the cost of my four nights compares to someone who will pay more than double my cost.

Anyway, the hotel is in a great location (in Union Square) and near many shops/restaurants and in walking distance to many different places if you don't mind sweating a little bit. We actually walked to Lombard Street (Crookedest Street in the World) room the hotel and then down to Fisherman's wharf since the cable car line was insanely crowded with tourists and on the expensive end. This enabled us to walk through China town and North Beach and take in the city. It was quite enjoyable.

The hotel is also a couple of blocks away from Blazing Saddles, a bicycle shop, which is very convenient. We rented bikes @ 9 am and biked through the Golden Gate Park, the Presidio, and then over the Golden Gate Bridge into Sausilito. We then took a ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf and then biked the rest of the way back to the hotel.

As far as the hotel is concerned, the room was on the smaller end as expected, but clean and comfortable. We were able to get a mini fridge at no additional cost. The hotel had a pool and fitness area available for $10, which included a nice steam room.

As fat as negatives are concerned, showering left a bit desired as the water pressure wasn't great and the televisions are not HD - these things could definitely be updated. Also, we arrived Friday night, gave our baggage to the guy in the check-in parking area and then proceeded upstairs to the check-in desk with our baggage claim ticket. We gave the baggage ticket to the lady once we checked in and also asked for her to charge us for the fitness center and pool area. We realized after an hour (after not receiving our luggage) that the lady never told anyone to get our luggage. This was quite an annoyance as it took a little bit for them to track down he location of our luggage. Additionally, that same night, when we went to use our card to go to the pool area, we were declined access. The same lady didn't add this access to our card as we instructed. The hotel could have comped us for the inconvenience at the very least.

The conceriege desk is excellent and they are very helpful and accommodating. WiFi is available at a cost of about $10/night. Parking is extremely expensive if you have a rental car; we found a local lot for about half the price.

All in all, we were happy with our experience given the amount of money we paid for a four night stay in an expensive city like San Francisco, but would never pay $317 a night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The service was excellent and the location perfect. Walked to the theater in the evening. The next day walked through Union Square for some shopping, North Beach for delicious coffee, pastries, and deli, and Chinatown for sightseeing. Then back to a luxurious room on one of the Imperial Floors with a spectacular view and a very comfortable night's rest. A wonderful place to stay when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our Jetsetter rate was a bit pricey, but because it was all-inclusive, we signed on & paid up. We have not been disappointed. The rate included a two hour afternoon reception, full buffet breakfast, use of the exercise room, Internet, and all with a wonderfully-appointed room on the 22nd floor. Great location, everything about the place works for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.