We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Bang For Your Buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King George Hotel to your Saves list
King George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Bang For Your Buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First time at King George Hotel and loved it! The location was perfect--situated in between great restuarants, China town, art galleries and with abundant parking. The hotel is cozy but roomy enough, well decorated, and the staff is super friendly. I will be back!! PS: Comfy bed as well!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We value your feedback and thank you for your recent stay the King George Hotel! Your kind comments regarding your experience with us such as the quality of your room and the close proximity to many restaurants and art galleries is much appreciated.

We hope to have you as our guest again when travels return you to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    346
    241
    74
    52
See reviews for
97
360
90
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found our hotel after experiencing the joys of San Francisco's one way systems during the rush hour! Car parking available at multi-storey car park opposite hotel for around $30 per night. Hotel foyer adequate and small slow lift up to 7th floor. Room pokey with aged furniture and tiny bathroom more suitable as a single, not as double as booked and overlooked roof of diner next door. This diner was used for room service by the hotel. Room felt tired and dirty, although the bed linen and towels were clean. No air conditioning, just a top fan and window barely kept out the sound of the frequent sirens in the street. Decided to have nightcap in bar downstairs one night but changed our minds as bar dark and dingy and smelt of stale vomit.

Green Features: Making some initial effort but did not feel that it was a main stream issue for the hotel. Not sure that quirky soap with a hole in the middle achieved anything.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your San Francisco accommodations and for your positive comments regarding our hotels central location. We apologize that the size and condition of your room failed to meet your expectations. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams are in the process of following up on your observations. I’m happy to share that we will embark on a room renovation project in the near future and we’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again given the chance.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location very near Powell Station, Union Square, street and cable car locations. Very clean lobby and rooms. Comfortable rooms. Complementary WiFi in rooms along with flat screen TV. Free morning coffee and tea. Cozy, quiet, lounge area off the lobby. Very reasonable rates and extraordinary front desk staff. One can sense that they genuinely want you to feel at home while at theirs. Best comment I can make...this was our second trip to SF from FL, our second stay at the King George...and we will definitely return to both.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gus H.,
First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel! It's always a pleasure to serve returning guests such as yourself! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our centralized location in the heart of Union Square during your recent travels to San Francisco in addition to the quality service and clean accommodations. Thank you for acknowledging the value in our rates as well as our many amenities including complimentary Wifi and the morning tea and coffee offerings. I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to Union Square and the Powell streetcar line. It's not a fancy hotel, but it's very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi works a treat, free tea and coffee in the morning. Good TV in the room along with coffee making facilities. Recommended for those that can't or don't want to spend more than they need to in order to stay in the heart of the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

driving and used my iPhone to find a place to stay friday night in aug.
Everything that we stayed at before was 299. 399.up to 599. a night we just need 1 night just passing throw, i called KING GEORGE they said 179. i had to see it first, we drove in checked out was beautify decorated great area walked to irish bar than walked to great dinner, was perfect stay, the only thing is i luv a great shower,it took way too long to rinse my hair, water presser was very sad, please change the water presser...
will for sure stay again but i do hope they will make a shower presser adjustment....

Room Tip: i dont know what the other rooms look like but i don't think one can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here recently and found that our room on the ninth floor was in desperate need of renovation, there is work ongoing on other floors but ours had obviously not been done.
First impressions last and immediately on entering our room the first thing to be seen was a huge hole in the net curtains - the nets needed replacing anyway but this really stood out. We are not picky but the room was dark, the bathroom dated and the general decor a bit sad.
We were pleasantly surprised that there was not much noise from the street at night but this was countered at 4am with a terrible banging noise from the central heating pipes, this lasted for about 2 hours on and off and happened every night of our 3 night stay.
There is only 1 lift but using the internal stairs is not really an option as they are so tight they make you dizzy whilst descending - I would not like to use these in an emergency.
On the plus side the staff were friendly enough and the hotel is well placed for local bars and restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been modernised
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Reviews were mixed, however, our room was super clean, well appointed, newly renovated, had free internet, and our package included parking across the street. The bed was comfortable, the window actually opened, and the décor in the room was modern and pleasant. The bathroom was spotless and the air conditioning worked well, we were cool.

The lobby is quaint and there was free coffee and tea available at the bar in the morning.

Yes, we had no view. Yes, the room was VERY small. If you need 5 star service, this isn't the place for you. If you want a safe, affordable, well located hotel that ticks off all of the basic boxes, try this one.

Room Tip: Get a "deluxe" room -- they are slightly larger and renovated. Lower floors are cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel and we’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your wonderful observations on the cleanliness of your room, complementary Wi-Fi and lobby coffee along with the quality service you received. I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future when travels return you to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.