We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added King George Hotel to your Saves list
King George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pre-Pay and Save 30%
Ranked #120 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clearwatwer
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in early December and loved the entire experience.
The hotel is a 1914 gem, very nicely restored and maintained. The rooms were small as you can imagine from a hotel of this vintage but they were adequate. (Our ONLY complaint about the entire experience is that there aren't many places in the bathroom to put your stuff.) The rooms have heaters and the windows open for cooling off. The staff, particularly David and Nora, were most helpful and very friendly. We also had the opportunity to observe the cleaning of the rooms and we were most favorably impressed. We were able to try out two different rooms for different experiences during our stay. The room in the back was extremely quiet but didn't have much of a view. Our room in the front of the hotel could be a little noisy at night but the view of Mason was fun. The location couldn't be better, close to Union Square and it's many bars and restaurants. The little bar in the hotel had a very private feel and was great for a night cap. We doubt you can find a better value near Union Square. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms in tha back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    326
    232
    72
    48
See reviews for
90
338
88
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We've been here for 8 nights in a one-room king. We have zero complaints. The hotel is very clean, and the staff friendly. The WiFi is spot on and free. Our bed is very, very comfortable. Every morning there is great coffee available for free in the lobby until 10 AM. Oh, yes, we're a couple of blocks from Union Square so walking to see the sights (North Beach, Nob Hill, Ferry Building, etc.) is not a problem. Would I stay here again? Absolutely YES!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for a unique boutique hotel lodging experience centralized location during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels cleanliness, guest service, complementary Wi-Fi, AM coffee and comfort of your bed! I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team regarding the quality of your room, central location of hotel and service from staff!

King Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location of the King George is fantastic. It's a couple minutes walk from Union Square and lots of shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is basic but comfortable and clean. We were supposedly upgraded but our room had no window. It was pretty dingy as there was no natural light. The hotel staff were accommodating to everything we requested but every staff member was very cold and unfriendly. We weren't offered any help with all our bags when we were leaving, despite struggling and the guy on reception made us feel very uncomfortable by staring at us for no reason. I would avoid the room service at all costs. Having ordered breakfast which totalled $25, we were hit with a bill for $40 in taxes, service charges etc I wouldn't recommend this hotel and definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during the thanksgiving weekend Thursday-Sunday. The last day there which was Saturday we had plans to visit Alcatraz. I had an envelope containing two-hundred and forty dollars. I pulled out forty dollars and left the remaining two-hundred in the room. House keeping came in to clean the room while we were gone. When I realized I left the envelope out it was too late!!! I returned to the room and found only a clean room with no envelope or money!! We complained and told the housekeeping manager one of the room cleaners was a thief! She denied our accusation and did NOTHING to accommodate us! She claimed they have turned in one thousand dollars before what makes you think they wouldn't turn in two-hundred!! Well let's see it was there three hours before and now it's not! Please stay away! They do not care about the reputation of the business and have dishonest thieves as employees!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel and we value your feedback. Safety and security is our #1 priority. It’s unfortunate regarding your missing personal items. Our track record has been exceptional. This is the first issue of its kind and why we provide a complementary safe in all of our rooms to secure any valuables in which the registered guest only has access. I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss this issue in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very conveniently situated for Union Square and the cable cars. Reasonably priced and we found it very clean and welcoming. Our room was lovely, nice bathroom, comfy bed. No noise from outside even though it is in the centre of the City. We stayed 3 nights and had no complaints, the room was cleaned every day and there was plenty of coffee for the machine in the room.
Would definitely stay here again - yes it is an older hotel but it was perfect for what we needed and wanted.
Clean, comfortable, reasonable - what else do you need?!

Room Tip: Smokers ask for the 9th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for a unique boutique hotel lodging experience centralized location during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us! I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team regarding the quality of your room, central location of hotel and service from staff! We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

King Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice and very clean hotel in a convenient location just off Union Square and five minute walk to Powell St BART station and cable cars. Quite a lot of homeless people and drug addicts in the surrounding area though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The bottom line: if you need a conveniently located hotel room at a reasonable price, and don't mind some minor inconveniences, King George may be for you.

The hotel is old and none too fancy. The lobby looks OK, if rather small, but as soon as you go towards the rooms the hotel begins to show its age. The furniture, carpeting, and pretty much everything else in the room are on the old side, though perfectly functional. It has character, though most would probably rate it below, say, Hampton Inn in terms of comfort. The staff was pleasant and helpful, though I never had the occasion to ask them to do anything out of the ordinary.

The location is quite convenient. Three or four blocks away from the Powell St. BART Station and a whole network of public transportation, including the famed cable cars. There is a convenience store on the block, as well as two 24-hour diners. This is the main reason for picking this hotel.

The room I had was small, and according to other reviews, this applies to the other rooms as well. However, they are able to fit everything you need in the room (including an ironing board, luggage rack, safe, TV, coffee maker, & desk). There was a safe in the room (operates on a key), but it was too narrow for a laptop. The safe was also wobbly, which did not inspire confidence. This is fine if you're planning to spend most of your time exploring the city or attending to business, rather than staying in the hotel room. After all, the bed was comfortable, the place was clean, and the staff did a good job.

The bathroom was tiny: about 5'x5'. It was very cramped, and there wasn't very much surface area for my toiletries, and there weren't enough hooks/bars for the towels, which always seem to be falling off. The shower stall doors in my room needed to be fixed, as they were hard to open and close, and they did not close completely, though this did not cause leaks or spills. the biggest problem was the bathroom sink. It was on the shallow side, and the faucet spewed out water at a pretty high pressure. That meant my waist and pants kept getting splashed. It also took a while for the water to get hot. Sometimes I had to let the shower run for a few minutes.

The walls were thin. I could hear my neighbors having sex on one side, and the baby crying on the other. Fortunately neither lasted very long. But don't let this mislead you -- overall it was a quiet hotel, and noise wasn't a problem for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.