We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to lay your head and tour from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Germantown, Wi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to lay your head and tour from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This was our second stay at the Tuscan (THe first was 10 years ago). It is a wonderful clean place to stay and but two short blocks to Fisherman's Wharf. Earily evening free wine tasting (or wine drinking- they give you a full glass af several wines). In the morning free great coffee and biscotti in the lobby- with carry-out cups.
Our room was always cleaned but they only give out 2 towels? I guess you only get one towel per day.
It was interesting that we received a better room price by going thru Travelocity then by calling the hotel direct???
If we ever return we would try to stay here for the third time..

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — N/A
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    1,027
    250
    69
    27
See reviews for
687
1,148
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Tuscan Inn for our honeymoon and we can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was. We were complimentarily upgraded to the King Premier since we were on our honeymoon. The room was beautiful; the view wasn't the greatest, but we didn't care. I loved the view in the lobby as there was a lush garden in the window. The hotel offered complimentary wine tasting each evening which we enjoyed. The location was great as we were within walking distance to just about everything. The transportation systems were great and easy to use. The concierge's were extremely helpful and were very eager to assist us in anything we needed. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — view from our room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Small enough, very personable.
Very clean
Small rooms, but have a couch, chair, desk, etc., w King bed, which was very comfortable w pillow top & pillows
Very small 1 person closet, do not bring many clothes!
Shutters nice.
Lobby, downstairs restrooms & decor beautiful, flower courtyard nice.
Restaurant/patio excellent food, high breakfast $, greast coffee.
All the porters, etc., provide service like high end hotels.
Walking distance, 2 blocks to the piers.
Tuscan/botique theme nice.
Housekeeping is quiet in the ams, not vacuming @ 0700, etc.,
Get in inside room facing courtyard if you are light sleeper as outside rooms face the streets.
Will store your luggage in separate room on your check out day if you have late flight, want to spend more time,
Oldest Italian restaurant in the country w/in walking distance, back east service, integrity, etc., Fiore d'Italia
Wait until Monday to take the bay cruises if a holiday weekend
Dantes best view for seafood lunch of the Bay bridge/bay
Walgreens & Trader Joes w/in walking distance for we forgot...
Walgreens has same souvenirs the airport shops do for 1/2 $
Do not rent a car, waste of time, money, & no parking!
Split a fare w a private service i.e., Escalade etc., & for return to airport
You can walk, take a cab, trolley, etc., we walked everywhere including up the hill to Coit Tower & then walked down just in time to attend 1300 service @ St. Peters Cathedral, beautiful!
My first time to spend time in San Francisco, my husband's 3rd.
He wants to re-locate there, desppite the real estate $$, taxes, etc., that is how nice it is...

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We checked into this hotel after a long flight from Florida. They were very efficient at the reservation desk and surprised us with an upgrade to a suite. The rooms seemed to have been recently renovated with updated decor. They were very comfortable and quite attractive. The bed was perfect as were the pillows. (I always carry travel down pillows, but didn't even unpack them.) The wine reception in the late afternoon is a nice extra. The bathroom was adequate with thick, fluffy towels. If I had any complaints, it would be that there could be a larger sink area to hold cosmetics.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It is a great value.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — No breakfast included
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed for three nights,our room was on the fourth floor and adequately big enough for the three of us, my husband and adult daughter.The staff were friendly and helpful,it was a good base from which to explore San Francisco.
We took an evening Alcatraz tour and a City tour with Shuttle tours which I would recommend if you have limited time in town.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

The Best Western in Fishermans Wharf is a fabulous hotel and an ideal base to enjoy your trip to San Francisco.
The hotel is newly decorated and rooms are a nice size, extremely new and clean. Staff are very helpful. The hotel is ideally lcoated 2 minutes walk from Pier 39 on Fishermans Wharf.
There is loads to do in this area and hotel is perfect base to see san fran, its 2 minutes walk to the nearest cable car stop and about 10 minutes drive to union sqaure or marina district.

  • Liked — Location & quality of rooms
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

My friends and I stayed at the BW Tuscan Inn last week and I am so excited to write this review. From beginning to end it was a PERFECT experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the concierge service was very knowledgeable. The hotel itself was so beautiful and very boutique-like (don't let the Best Western in the name fool you). My room was clean and nicely decorated - the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and also had a nice down comforter and comfy pillows. The bathroom was large and private. The room has an honor bar, which I didn't use, but DID use the refrigerator to store some of my own snacks and wine. Another great thing about the hotel is that every day, they offer wine and beer from 5-6pm for free for all hotel guests. We took advantage of the offer and many other guests did too. It is VERY nice. All in all, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Liked — cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.