We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #15 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
1 review
“Great Location and Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Location - Quiet Room - Ambiance...we stayed here for 6 nights and I am so glad I picked this hotel! It was within 2 to 3 blocks of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Car, the blue Hop On Hop Off Bus, Safeway Groceries and Walgreens. Only a short walk to Alcatraz ferry, Lombard (Crooked) Street and Ghirardelli Square. The room was spotlessly clean, very pleasant and overlooked the courtyard (sorry, no wharf views). The concierge was very helpful. Each night there is a wine hour in their pleasant lobby with fireplace. I was able to secure a very reasonable rate, too. Try eating at Caesar's Italian restaurant only two blocks away for great food (no tourists here). We bought the Citypass through Alcatraz Tours and used the cable cars and Muni buses to get to and from Chinatown and North Beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,151
    272
    74
    28
See reviews for
767
1,270
69
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hacienda Heights, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

very close to all the main attractions of fishermans wharf . nice quiet hotel nice furnishings .room was small but met all our needs would have been great with a mini fridge :? parking was reasonable compared to other hotels i was even able to print a coupon online for $15 off per night

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband and i stayed 5 nights and had a wonderful stay...We stayed here in 1991, and decided to come back and check out San Fran after all those years and stay at the Tuscan Inn again...

We had a nice room with a nice view, no complaints there...the room was alot larger than what i had expected...and was spotless...The rooms are quaint, but could use a little upgrading, but other than that they were perfect.

The location of the hotel is superb, within walking distance of alot of places including Fisherman's Wharf...Loved it. Enjoyed the wine hour also, eventhough we are not wine drinkers, still had a glass each evening and enjoyed the nice cozy lobby. We only ate 2 breakfast's at the hotel, as each morning we went for a nice brisk walk and ended up either at Denny's or IHOP...But the breakfasts we did eat were great.

Just love San Francisco, a great spot for a nice relaxing holiday and the people are sooo friendly..Food is great, a ton of things to do, can't wait to come back again and stay at the Tuscan Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

What a great hotel a block away from Fishermans Wharf. You also can easily walk to North beach for some great Italian food. And please....Go to Mamas for breakfast.

The best breakfast ever!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Clean, attractive, a great location, and really excellent service. The room was small but nicely decorated. Good food nearby, easy transportation...I simply have no complaints. The best part of the experience were the other guests we met and the laid back, friendly staff here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We were able to secure our reservation at this hotel by using Priceline (which saved us $100). It offered a great convenience when it came to wanting to stay nearby Fisherman's Wharf. We loved that it was nearby the San Francisco trolley and several restaurants, shops and site seeing attractions. The room was clean and spacious. The front desk was very courteous as well. If you are in need of help in figuring out which tours to take, they will help you with this as well. Parking was available but like anything else in SF, it will cost you. A nice restaurant is available and we did take advantage of eating breakfast here once morning. Again, a bit spendy but it goes with anything in the city. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This property has a great location. Only 1 1/2 blocks to the cable cars,Fisherman's Wharf, and about .5 miles to the cruise ships.

The rooms are smaller but very well appointed. Room was clean. Bathrooms was one of the cleanest I have ever seen for hotel property.

I felt safe at this location and will book my clients at this property. While any big city you visit you will find the panhandlers. These people where far and few between. Just ignore them.. I'm sure if you go donwtown you will find the same. It;s the real world people..

The staff was friendly and let us check in early.

Guest service desk helped us get around town and very helpful also.
Food is pricey in this city but there are many fine restaurants. We ate at Sear's Restaurant which was only a 15 min. trolley ride from the property.
For sightseeing I would avoid the hop on hop off and just get the bus pass. It covers the trolley,streetcars and buses. Just get a good map and your on your way and you'll save alot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.