We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful --- NOT!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Janesville, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful --- NOT!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

We're sitting in our hotel room, waiting for another set of towels (there are three of us and we were given towels for two). The ice machine is empty. The vending machine doesn't work. The concierge does not answer the phone. Exactly who runs this place!?!?!?!?!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Terrible Service
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    1,028
    250
    69
    27
See reviews for
687
1,149
65
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

From checkin to checkout, our stay was fabulous. The staff's professional, spirited attitude--be they reservationist, valet, front desk, or housekeeper--deserves 5 stars. For instance, mention in passing by one of us about an allergy to down brought an instant change of linens. The hotel's evening wine hour and morning's biscotti hour also distinguish the property as a cut above, and our group, which has stayed at many a biz hotel, had no problem whatsoever; in fact, a courtesy upgrade got us a fine meeting space with free internet, which even impressed our boss. And while we weren't expecting to dine at their restaurant, given how many fine ones there are to choose from in this neighborhood, as it turns out we relished the food, both dinner and breakfast. We're already planning our next stay.

  • Liked — polished service, exceptional value
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, Northern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

Just came back from a one night stay at the Tuscan Inn. Although we are "locals" having lived in SF Bay Area for the last 16 years, we were attending a wine event at Fort Mason and didn't want to have to drive home. When I got a GREAT deal ($99 INCLUDING parking!!!!) I jumped at it. But being the Wharf had no great expectations, and didn't really need much more than a bed for the night.

This hotel is a weird hybrid.. calling itself Best Western, but being in partnership with Kimpton Hotels (which for those that don't know is a chain of more upscale boutique hotels). I have to think this is why the hotel looks and feels a lot better than other Wharf hotels I've stayed at previously. And frankly more upscale than other Best Westerns too.

Staff were very pleasant, always asking if we needed directions or anything (we didn't, but it's nice to be asked) and smiling and opening doors etc. (including all the maids and bell boys we encountered) Small touches, but very pleasant. We didn't make it to the wine hour (having been drinking wine all day, it was not high on our agenda!) but have done that at other Kimpton hotels and it's a nice extra.

Our room looked like a room in a Kimpton hotel, nice bed with decent white linens with burgundy and black throw pillows and accents. The bathroom had not been remodeled in alignment, but it was all very clean and perfectly acceptable.

The great thing for us was the free parking. Normally parking is $36 a night so getting that thrown in was a fantastic steal. What I didn't realize at the time is that the park the car across the street in a public lot (I assumed it would be in covered hotel parking).

Agree with other comments that breakfast at Cafe Pescatore is nothing to write home about, but again, my expectations were low, as it is just that kind of area.

But if I could get a deal like this on the same hotel, I'd go back every year as we attend the same event every year, and the location and facilities were exactly what we needed.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Parking was not covered, but was a public lot across street
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

We stayed at the BW Tuscan Inn only because they were offering a great winter deal -$99 for a room with king-size bed and free parking (which usually goes for at least $30 in this part of town). The room was nicely decorated - nothing too fancy. Staff were very friendly and courteous. And, we appreciated the complementary touches - wine/cheese in the evening and coffee/tea and biscotti in the morning. Location is very convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Russian Hill, and the Embarcadero. Overall, we would recommend this place to friends, especially if they are able to get a good discount and free parking.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicopee,ma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

Want to mention that this hotel saved our trip. We originally were staying at a hotel on Geary Street and were very turned off about the place. We prepaid for 4 nights and it was so bad we went to priceline and were able to secure the Tuscan for the other 3 days. The Tuscan is centrally located at the Wharf and its a great place...the beds are great, several good pillows and the rooms are super...the lobby is nice...restaurants and shops are close by as well...it saved our trip!!!!!

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

This hotel is a real gem! It is in a really good position, is not too large, and the staff are really helpful, and, contrary to what we expected on visiting America for the first time, are not waiting around for tips all the time! The furnishings are superb, rooms comfortable, and the icing on the cake was that every evening between 5 and 6pm they put on wine and beer tasting with nibbles for all the guests in the lounge! You can spend the whole hour or just pop in. Also, if you are not a breakfast person, you can just pick up a complimentary coffee and biscotori in the mornings. We only stayed for three nights, wish it had been longer!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

For our Silver Wedding Anniversary we decided to go round the world, & one stop, albeit only for 2 nights, was San Francisco. We've used Best Western hotels quite a lot, so had no fear of booking the Tuscan Inn. Reviews on-line were generally favourable - as is ours.
We arrived on the evening of december 5th, and the check-in staff were helpful and efficient. The room was a fair distance from the elevator, but adequate, and no different to most others in this class of hotel as far as amenities went. Our room looked out onto a very small internal courtyard, & plants and flowers made it quite pleasant, but one had to be careful about the shutters because other guests could see into the room. The reverse applied, of course!
The next morning, we went down to the adjacent restaurant, which had been in prior publicity material, for breakfast. We didn't enjoy it, because some of the staff seemed to have little English, and misunderstood our requests. We were given saute potatoes that were inedible because they were so hard and undercooked, and the coffee wasn't so good, either. We sent the potatoes back, and the bill was reduced by a small amount. The Eagle Cafe on Pier 39 is a far better bet, and has a view of Alcatraz whilst you're eating.
We used the hotel's safety deposit without any problems, and the checkout was good and swiftly done. The hotel is quite close to Fisherman's Wharf and the terminus of one of the Cable-car lines, and also close to the streetcar line, so getting into the city centre was easy. The general area that the hotel is in is a bit scruffy. The only quibble we had with the Tuscan Inn was that outside our room was a large cupboard, and staff kept going in there, made quite a noise, and finished off by banging the door. Overall it was quite good, but not so good as to be a 'must go back' sort of place. We paid £172 (stg) for our two night stay.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.