We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
WA State
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazingly like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Tyler, the front desk manager made my weekend get away amazing. He answered all my questions before we even arrived then upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. After a day of walking and sightseeing it was wonderful to be welcomed back to your hotel with glass of wine by the fireplace and chance to share the day’s stories with other travelers. Located near all the tourist attractions this hotel is perfect for catching tour buses, cabs, etc to do lots of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    1,026
    250
    69
    27
See reviews for
685
1,147
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Hotel is in perfect location. Within walking distance of shops, dining, cable cars and fishermans wharf. there is a fee for parking but well worth it seeing no where to park if you do have a car. free wi-fi and happy hour wine every afternoon! staff was helpful. rooms somewhat small but clean and comfortable. would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We booked a 1 bdrm suite with fold out sofa for kids. Bedroom with King and nice sized living area. Can't beat the location. A bit pricey, but hey, it is San Francisco. Overall, we were pleased.
Food at manager's reception was VERY skimpy, especially considering a full house. Service was spotty; Front desk was marginally helpful. Housekeeping was good. One concierge was great, the other was bad. Valet was great...but then they usually are! Business center was under construction (I guess). One computer in the lobby was either always busy or not working. What's up with that!?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Location was fantastic! 3 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, Boudin's for fresh sour dough, Pier 39 and easy walking access to everything else in the area including CVS Pharmacy and Cost Plus (where we purchased wine from one of the wineries we visited in Sonoma.) A short walk takes you to the cable car turnaround, and be sure to stop across the street at for a crab melt and a Ramus fizz!
This tuscan-themed hotel was charming, clean & comfortable and the complimentary concierge service was so helpful. The daily wine tasting held in the lobby was also a welcome perk. Our room was very clean and newly furnished, but could've used some sheets that fit the bed a bit better. Overall, had a great experience here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Nicely located, clean, simple hotel. Although we arrived after 3pm, rooms were not ready and we were asked to wait. We had 2 rooms, both were clean and ok, but strangely set up (when opening bathroom door you block passage to room's door) and sparstly equiped (not enough hangers, towels, etc.).
Don't think it deserves 4*, 3* more like it,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Hello NavaSc:
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent visit to San Francisco. I am glad to know that you felt the hotel was clean and it sounded as if you did enjoy your stay. Your travel brought you to Fisherman's Wharf during our peak season, so accommodations are limited and rates are higher during this period of time. If you can travel from November to May, you will find the rate structure much more attractive. Hope this did not spoil your visit to our great City.
Thanks for staying with us.
Warmly,
Jan Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I had a great time here! I would definetley come again!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are lovely, very clean, modern, and comfy! Our room looked out onto a pretty kinda courtyard area, we did feel a bit overlooked, so kept the blinds closed which was a shame. The parking was free, which was great, and the hotel was conveniently located for public transport, and local attractions. I had very, very itchy sore eyes whilst staying here, I think this may be because it is a pet friendly hotel, so if you suffer with allegies, you may wish to stay clear! However, I should reiterate that the room looked very clean!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Hello Coaster74:
Thank you for staying at the Tuscan during your recent visit to San Francisco and we appreciate that you would recommend the hotel to others. We have home interior decorators, rather then commercial, so I feel that is why we have that comfortable feeling and ambience.
Sorry to hear that you might of had an allergic reaction to something during your stay. Yes, we are pet friendly and we do have specific rooms for our pets so we can treat them regularly.
If you have the opportunity to return, please let me know and I will make sure you are not near our pet friendly rooms.
Graciously,
Jan Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.