We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bridge not too far (Golden Gate)!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fife
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A bridge not too far (Golden Gate)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed here on the 22nd August for 3 nights. Upon arrival at the airport we decided to get the BART to Embarcardo Centre and then a taxi to Fishermans Wharf. The total cost for 2 was $26, half the price of a taxi direct from the airport.

On arrival, were met by friendly reception staff. We did ask for a double room but we ended up getting a twin room, number 220. Upon checking in we were also given complimentary breakfast tokens for the days we were there. We didn’t expect this, so it was nice touch. We were also told of the free wine reception at 5pm, great idea as it meant you could chat to your fellow guests. We managed it every night!

Our room, which over looked the main street consisted of twin beds, a small wardrobe, TV and fridge (this was locked though). In the wardrobe was your safe which cost $1.65 per day. Our room also had a mirrored wall which gave the illusion of the room being bigger that it actual was, however it was spacious enough for us. Bathroom was spacious too and very clean. Fresh towels were supplied every day.

Breakfast was served in the hotels Italian Restaurant. As we were given complimentary tokens we each received a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad consisting of pineapple, melon, banana and strawberries, toast with jam & butter, a huge glass of orange juice and tea or coffee. Breakfast was delicious.

Location could not be better. It was a 15 minute walk to Pier 33 (Alcatraz Cruises), so you were within walking distances of all Fishermans Wharf attractions. We did the Alcatraz night cruise (I booked direct a few months before), a Segway tour (great fun) and hired a bike for the day. We cycled across the Golden Gate Bridge which was very easy and not too far from Fisherman’s Wharf. You were also only a 5 minute walk to the cable car turnaround at Ghirardelli Square, it cost $5 for one journey. It seemed easier to wait in line to get on here than try and get on further up the stops – very popular and busy.

We would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    1,057
    255
    72
    27
See reviews for
702
1,179
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I am having a hard time understanding the positive reviews for this hotel. I guess some people go for image. I was looking forward to a nice stay based on what I had seen on BW website and the reviews here. I was disappointed. This is the type of hotel that has a fancy lobby and nice pictures and decorations throughout the building, but as for substance--lacking. My room was supposedly upgraded to a larger room, but if this was the case I'd hate to see the smaller rooms. The room had fancy colorful furniture, but was small and lacked certain things a higher-priced place like this ($170) should have. There was no hair dryer, no microwave, and I am still not sure if I was using shampoo or some type of lotion (the tube didn't really say clearly). Their windows were stylish, but who cares when the view is lousy and they are small and only open slightly? They have a parking garage, but they make you leave your vehicle for them to park (it costs extra to park) and then if you want to take a drive later, you have to wait for the staff to get it. I did this and it took them a long time to get my car. There is no real parking space, so I had to pull up in front of the hotel in a small space. If there were others wanting in at the same time, someone would have had to park on the street or drive around the block. Also, the location is dull; nothing of real interest withing a couple of blocks all around. There is a restaurant adjoining the hotel, but not owned by the hotel, where I ate dinner. The food was okay but not great. The only really good thing about the hotel was I didn't have to pay for it since it was a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 24, 2009
Hello Humboldtus,
I am sorry the size of the room was an issue,
we are a boutique hotel, but definitely want our guests to be comfortable. I am not sure if you requested a different room, but if there would have been other rooms available, my staff would be happy to accommodate your needs. I have sent you an email and look forward to your response.
Jan Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Best location in Fisherman's Wharf. Within walking distance of shops, restaurants and tours. Free internet access and Happy Hour every afternoon. Concierge was extremely helpful and we were able to plane three great tours for three different days. Very clean and the house keeping was fantastic. Had to pay for use of safe but was great value for money. We booked one month in advance and received a great discount.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LitaTuscanInn, Executive Sales Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Ciao ForbesAustralia~

Thank you for taking the time to compliment The Tuscan Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us--> we certainly enjoyed having you.

Come back and see us again soon!

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

When we checked into the Hotel, we were given a 'double' room instead of the King we had booked for our romantic weekend. When confronted about the 'mistake' on their part we were told that we were wrong, until we showed the girl at the front desk our print off from Hotels.com. Instead of apologizing and correcting the issue, we were told that nothing could be done until the next day. Not even a smile was sent our way.

The Tuscan staff moved our packed luggage into the new room, and my husband and I discovered that both of our phone chargers were missing. When we approached the Manager about this, we were accused of not packing them to begin with. Finally, we were told that the Manager would run out and purchase our charges that day and overnight them to our home. None of this was done, and now we are forced to go and purchase them ourselves.

Nothing has been done to correct our issues while staying at the Tuscan. This experience has left a very poor taste in our mouths, and we will definitely never stay there again. I will also make it a point to never recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family that travel to San Francisco in the future. Which is a pitty, because the location was wonderful, and two of the staff members were really nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 24, 2009
Hello Toofullahope,
I am glad we were able to connect and resolve all the issues. Sorry for any inconvenience and look forward to you returning to the Tuscan.
Graciously,
Jan Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

First - Kudos to Lita in the office. Our planning for a girls weekend was wonderful working through Lita - she helped with EVERTHING and made sure we were taken care of.

Upon arrival, check in was a breeze - wine was delivered to the room - all was great. The hotel was perfectly located down by the wharf - and we could get to everything very very easily. Check out a breeze also. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Phenominal Service, great room, great location - couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Good location for most tourist sites, i.e. Alcatraz, cable cars, bike rentals, Golden Gate bridge, Fisherman's Wharf, restaurants, shopping. Clean but room was small and view from window was a tiny courtyard. A balcony would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Upon entering the elegant lobby we were greeted pleasantly by the staff. We did not have a reservation so our room selection was limited. While the room was clean and adequate it was very small with windows that across a miniscule courtyard to other windows. The shutters needed to be kept at a tilt or others could easily see in. Shears would have been nice enabling the light to come in but maintain some daytime privacy. My husband found it very claustrophobic. There was little room to put our bags.

A big negative for us was that when ever we left our room the hallway reeked of cigarettes and cigars.

There was valet parking at a cost of $42. They did cater to dogs. It was frustrating to wait to use the computer. In a hotel that size they really should have 2. There was an attached restaurant that was very pricy. The concierges was great with helping to find our way around. Location in proximity to the Fisherman's Wharf was only 2 easy blocks away.

I would stay there again making sure to get an outside facing room away from a no smoking area. If all the rooms are as small I would not want to stay for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.