We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Limington, ME
1 review
“Great location, service and value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I just got back from the Tuscan Inn. We stayed for 9 nights and couldn't be happier. The location was perfect (close enough to walk to most everything but just out of the way enough it was quiet). The rooms were clean and well-cared for. Everyone we encountered (except the valet guys at the front) were more than accomodating. The minibar was great (once we removed all the hotel items and filled it with drinks we bought from the supermarket one block up). Our ONLY complaint was one doorman/valet wasn't thrilled about us parking the car at the front *momentarily* while we removed our bags from the car we rented. Other than that-perfect trip. We would definately stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    1,160
    272
    74
    28
See reviews for
770
1,276
69
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

This hotel was in a great location to the Wharf and other sites in the city. Although the rooms are small it was very clean. Hugo the concierge was very knowledgeable, helpful and fun too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My partner and I along with 2 friends stay at the Tuscan Inn for 1 night. Normally, I would not consider Best Western but as it is a Kimpton hotel along with great Trip Advisor reviews, I booked it.

We arrive early and while they were not able to give us 2 rooms right away, they gave us one right away. Not only that, they upgrade us to suites which were very nice and spacious. Be sure to sign up for the Kimpton In-touch program. It give us lotsa perks.

As a Kimpton hotel, they offer little things like coffee/tea in the morning in the lobby and wine hour from 5-6pm.

Hotel staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable. They recommended a couple of local nearby breakfast places that we really enjoyed. Darren's offer great value western breakfast and vietnamese food of all things... If you want something more funky and local, Pat's offers another option.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Our stay at the Tuscan Inn San Francisco was sleepless! Our tiny room, was furnished nicely, however, right outside of window was not only a wall, but huge ducts that kept going off and on all night. Our room was not inexpensive. When we checked out I told the clerk about the noise and she replied that they had never heard that before. No apology. The staff at the desk didn't go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Perfect location, great italian resturant (a little spendy), SUPER concierege. Parking is easier then you might realize. There is a parking ramp across the street that is MUCH cheaper then hotel parking. Really fun happy hour each afternoon with wine and treats. great time to talk to other travelers and find out their favorite things to do in the area. Honestly, San Fran was our favorite trip ever. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina - Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed at the Tuscan Inn for four nights in mid May 2009. We were in town for the Bay to Breakers.

What a wonderful spot.

We had a car, so we started with the valet. He was very friendly, and explained just what we had to do to retrieve our car – when they were available (24/7), how long to expect to wait to retrieve the car ( about 7 minutes), etc. He also helped us with our bags to the front desk.

The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room rate was all in order – we’d booked a TravelZoo special, and the front desk had the right rate, and the right parking discount.

We asked for a high room, and off the street. We got exactly that.

We went down for the free wine reception, and had a great time. We met a number of other travellers, and the wine pour-ers and hostess were very friendly and efficient. The wine reception each night became an event we looked forward to (for more than just the wine!). The wine is Charles Shaw (two buck Chuck) so you wine afficianados should not get too excited, but it was fine for our standards.

The room itself was a little small - pretty normal for the wharf area. But it was immaculate and nicely decorated. The bed was big and very comfortable. One interesting thing – the room doors open out to the hallway, rather than in to the room. This makes the room seem slightly bigger, as the door does not swing into the room, taking up space. I’m surprised more hotels don’t do this. The bathroom door does the same thing, making the bathroom seem slightly larger.

The room was very quiet. We'd seen some reviews saying the rooms that face the street are noisy, so by asking for a room off the street, we got a very quiet room.

The air conditioning worked perfectly. Yes – we needed air conditioning in San Francisco. It was unseasonably warm when we were there.

We ate in the hotel restaurant – an Italian theme – and it was very good. Good food and service.

The concierge was very helpful and extremely friendly. We did find the concierge was very busy in the mornings, trying to arrange tours for people.

We didn’t use the workout facility.

The hotel has one computer (with printer) available with free internet. And free wi-fi throughout the hotel which worked flawlessly.

This is a Best Western, but it is operated by Kimpton - so it is pet friendly. They advertised that with a picture of the manager's dog on the check in desk.

All in all it was a wonderful stay and I’d highly recommend it – we did get an amazing rate, so that made it seem even better.

The location is excellent if you want to be near the wharf. It was a two block walk to Pier 39. And the street it was on (North Point), was busy enough to always feel safe walking, but not so busy that you felt crowded.

The only downside, is not a fault of the hotel – rather, my personal preference. We usually stay in the Marina District, but we wanted a hotel near the wharf so we could walk to the Bay to Breakers (we didn’t want to stay near Union Square, even though it would have been more convenient).
I like visiting the Wharf, but personally, I’d rather stay in the Marina District, and visit the wharf. To be honest, I was pretty sick and tired of the wharf after four days. But again, that was my choice, not a hotel problem.

All in all, if you want to stay near the wharf, I’d highly recommend the Tuscan Inn. Though I’d try to get a discounted rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

They are getting three stars because the room was very clean and the hotel is close to the wharf. I live about an hour north of San Francisco and have stayed in many hotels in the city and always enjoyed them until this past week. I am surprised anyone would find this place a gem. The staff is very rude and doesn't seem to care at all about their guests. Didn't seem to matter who was at the front desk, they treated everyone bad, the same with the valet. The location is good and the rooms are very pretty and clean. But the beds are awful. You come in and the room looks so nice. Then you sit down on the bed and get the thrill of springs hitting you wherever you lay or sit. We were five people with two rooms...four beds and all the beds were awful. It was worse than sleeping in some $50.00 a night room. Of course you have the added thrill of paying over $40 a night for parking and whatever your chiropractor bill is when you are done with the beds. Someone said it was quiet. We had street side rooms and all night long there were busses and loud noises so no one got good sleep. Go to The Palace or Parc 55, get treated like gold and they have the most comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.