We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #15 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Honeymoon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2004

The location was nice. The service needs help !
We were told since it was a honeymoon we would recieve champagine and a basket never happened.The front desk clerk was rude! Our suite we had was small there was pubic hair on the bathroom floor from ??? (who knows who ) It was a act to get flowers delivered to the room then they were place in a corner. You have to pay to park in there garage evan staying there for 5 days. The only thing nice I have to say is.On the fourth floor every morning a cleaning lady would greet us with a smile and a Good Morning How are you ? No one else in that place knew how to do such a thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,153
    272
    74
    28
See reviews for
768
1,270
69
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newark, delaware
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

We recently spent 8 nights here and loved it. The bed was outstanding; room and lobby were very attractive; and we enjoyed the Italian restaurant adjoining the hotel. We thought the location was excellent--attractions in San Francisco are not all in one spot, so no hotel will be adjacent to everything you want to see. We were able to take a bus or cable car to the few places that were too far to walk. Golden Gate Park on a Sunday was our favorite place--there's an entire universe of activities going on there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Nice hotel close to the action; however, I did not like the location - while it was close to the Wharf, the area of the hotel was seedy. If I were to return I would try downtown and take public transportation to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Love this hotel! The location could NOT be better - we were 2 blocks from the Wharf!!! The room was small, but very inviting! The decor was very nice, down comforter, honor bar, etc. Our view was a brick wall next door, but we were only in the room at night so it didn't matter. The garden view would be a nice option if you can get it. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2004

Stayed one night at the Tuscan Inn. Hotel could not have been in a better location -- can't be beat!! Check in was smooth. Room ready and very comfortable. Nicely appointed rooms. A few suggestions: the wooden blinds don't keep the rooms dark enough once the sun rises, street noise was a bit loud (I bought a set of ear plugs.) The remote to our tv wasn't working (a new one was set up promptly.) The bed was comfortable with a nice thick comforter. The courtyard was in full bloom with beautiful flowering plants. We didn't get a chance to sample the afternoon wine as we were gone most of the day. Valets quick to get the car out of the garage and very helpful with directions. The hotel restaurant was a bit over priced but good service and good quality. I would stay there again and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2004

Courteous, responsive service and a great location! Wish we could have gone to the wine hour but we were always out sightseeing. The rooms on the outer perimeter do get some street noise, but that didn't keep us from sleeping well. And considering how close it is to Fisherman's Wharf, it is surprisingly quiet! All in all, we had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2004

Stayed at the Best Western Tuscan Inn on August 6-8, 2004. If you are visiting San Francisco for the first time or love Fisherman's Wharf, this hotel might be the place to stay. Very central to Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square....walkable...but need to ride a cable car or drive to Golden Gate bridge, Golden Gate park, Union Square or Chinatown. Hotel overall is very clean...room is small...but nice and clean...bathroom a little on the older side....not the greatest....service was okay....Lots of restaurants and shops nearby....Cafe Pescotta next to hotel....food was good....so check it out....Not the best of hotels...but not the worst either...above average.....if you want convenience stay here....if you want luxury go somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.