We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. There was a nice glass of wine when we arrived. The room was comfortable, but not huge. It was centrally located for Fishermans Warf and all the lovely restaurants and eateries about. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel and the food was delicious. The hotel is surrounded by busy streets and is not a very tall building so there was inevitably some noise from the road and street. I felt that the valet parking was expensive at $50 plus tax a night, and $55 plus tax for larger vehicles.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor further from the street
See more room tips
Green Features: Basic policies over linen and towel replacement similar to most other hotels
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi June H - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I appreciate your kind words about your recent visit to the Tuscan Hotel and am very happy that you were comfortable during your time with us.

<<< Parking in San Francisco is definitely expensive. Parking at The Tuscan is valet only with unlimited in/out privileges. We do not offer free parking. The price for parking is $50.00 plus tax per night for standard sized vehicles and $55.00 plus tax per night for larger vehicles. Some guests find other alternatives at local parking facilities or find street parking as a viable option. We do suggest that parking on the street or at local facilities which do not offer in/out privileges may have some drawbacks and involves some risk. Of course, the ease, convenience and personalized attention of using our valet parking service are well worth the expense for many of our guests. In fact, our prices are very competitive with area hotels who provide valet service parking. I actually suggest not even bringing a car to SF unless absolutely necessary as our public transportation system is awesome. The Tuscan offers reservation packages which include free parking and these packages are a fantastic value>>>

Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    1,018
    249
    69
    27
See reviews for
681
1,145
64
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We left a previous hotel and came here. Awesome service. Room is a bit small but really how much time are you spending in it? If you're complaining about the room size you have issues.... Great location close to fishermans wharf. They have a happy hour where food and wine is stored. Pet friendly with no extra charge! Huge plus (although San Fran is not a dog friendly city). They even have dog treats for the dogs. Parking is steep, $50 a night and it's only valet, so be prepared to tip. I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms facing a brick wall.
See more room tips
Green Features: Get $5 off if you don't have your room cleaned. We never have our room cleaned so this is great.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Stacey M - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. You said it all and I thank you for summing it up so eloquently! Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

You will get more than you expect with this hotel, far more than I would expect from a BW Plus. The rooms seem a little small but probably not based on the location which is ideally situated just a few blocks from many of the attractions of down town SF. The hotel is definitely not a “bland” chain hotel but has character throughout. All the staff were very professional, courteous and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Iain J - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I just love it when we exceed expectations. Thank you for the glowing review and all of your very kind words. Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a great stay at the Best Western Plus the Tuscan. The staff were very helpful and extremely professional, the hotel and rooms were very clean and nicely furnished, and our room was quiet. I expected a comfortable hotel and wasn't anything special, but was surprised that this hotel felt very upscale and was a great value! I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Nancy H - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great visit and I'm thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised with our upscale hotel. We appreciate your wonderful comments and we hope to have the luxury of serving you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Second time staying here because of the great location. Close to cable cars, Starbucks, and Trader Joes.They were able to accomodate an early check in. Service is great! Clean room and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi parsonsX2 - Thanks for coming back to visit and thank you for the 5 Star review. Very pleased that you are comfortable and satisfied at The Tuscan. I know that there are many many choices of hotels to choose from when staying in San Francisco and I'm glad that you decided to make the Tuscan Hotel your accommodation of choice. We look forward to your 3rd visit and hope to see you again soon. We'll work hard to earn and maintain your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for 6 days last week very comfy and staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.Room more generous than l expected from other reviews well appointed ,wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone wanting to travel to San Francisco

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel there are no views street frontage could be noisy
See more room tips
Green Features: Very aware and follow environmental friendly practices
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Ruth R - Thanks for spending the week with us and thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff. Our greatest compliment is when our guests would recommend The Tuscan to their friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again for the wonderful remarks and we look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Very friendly staff, from front desk to concierge to housekeeping. Lovely lobby where there is good coffee in the morning and a wine reception in the early evening. Our room was fine; solid three stars; comfortable king bed and the pull out sofa was great for the kids. We walked (with kids) to Fishermans Wharf (cheesy, and few seals in July) and to two good Italian restaurants in North Beach. $8 cab ride to Chinatown. Trader Joe's is a block away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi JE L - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words about the hotel and staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations and we hope that you and the family had a fabulous SF experience. Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.