We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
honolulu
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

great place to enjoy a few days in san francisco, where you are close to fisherman warf and all the sights . Very friendly hotel, made us very welcome, our room was very clean. And yes , they are not the biggest rooms, but good enough for few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi redbeard01 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and did not allow the "cozy" size of our rooms to distract you from having a fabulous San Francisco experience. Mahalo for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    1,022
    249
    69
    27
See reviews for
682
1,146
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tailem Bend, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. I recently spent 4 nights at the Tuscan Inn. It was so handy to Fishermans Wharf, and the public transport. Made our few days in the city so easy. Loved the early morning coffees, tea and hot chocolate. Then the evening wines. A great way to meet the other guests. Especially sitting near the fire place. Our room was lovely and we had 2 queen size beds. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. Sorry I can't rate the fitness centre or the swimming pool way too busy to even know they were there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Maxi5260 - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Very pleased to hear that you had a fabulous 4 nights at The Tuscan. We don't have a swimming pool. although during our recent heat wave, that sounds quite refreshing. Our guests may use the 24hr Fitness facility across the street for their exercise and work out needs. (FD Agents can provide access information) We appreciate your glowing review and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely rooms with comfy beds that seemed like a good size queen bed. The rooms are not large, but there was plenty of room for the four of us. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Close walking district to the pier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Nicole S - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found our staff to be very friendly. We hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Tuscan was very good in many respects. The location is close to the Warf, but far enough that it was nice and quiet. Also a few block walk to pier 39, Alcatraz, cable cars and public transportation. It's overall a pretty good central location to many of the attractions in the area.

The rooms were nicely done, clean and comfortable. The staff was good. The rates reasonable. Overall a very good stay and I wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi BrWayne - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. We look forward to your next visit and think that you look like Batman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I went to San Francisco for our first anniversary. I was hoping that this hotel would live up to my expectations and I wasn't disappointed. Wonderful experience. Great room, Great Staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Molly A - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, we appreciate all of your very kind comments and wish you a Happy Anniversary. Glad we were able to play a small role in your celebration and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It has a brilliant location at Fishermans Wharf being a street away from the main road and action, and the cable car route. We had an inside courtyard room and we did not have any noise issues. Each afternoon at 5-6pm they have complimentary wine and canapes in the reception/lounge overlooking the courtyard which has gorgeous pots of red flowering shrubs, which our room overlooked onto also The rooms were very comfortable from the beds/bedding/bathroom and were of a good size. The staff are very attentive and helpful, and I would definately recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi FionaPerthWA - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Your very kind comments are most appreciated and I'm so glad that you had a fabulous 4 night visit. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon and we'll try to keep the flowers blooming and the wine flowing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

GREAT location a couple blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and the service is 5-star. The staff are all amazing and friendly, and the evening wine reception is terrific (there were about 50 people there one evening...we met folks from Europe and several places across the US) This is a cozy Kimoton boutique hotel, also branded as Best Western Plus. I expected good service, but truthfully got excellent service, from the doormen, baggage handlers, valet parkers, cleaning staff, front desk, etc. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi CapeSharon - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. it's always a pleasure to receive such glowing remarks from our guests and very meaningful when someone as well traveled as yourself takes the time to comment about our fabulous hotel, staff and location. Your wonderful words are much appreciated and we look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.