We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is one of my best hotel experiences I have had. The staff are warm and friendly and the whole experience is close to being at home. The living room is cozy and inviting,the wine reception is fun and a great way to meet fellow travelers. Pescatores is wonderful, the staff are exceptional the food is beautifully cooked and presented. I was fortunate enough to be there for dinner with my nephew for Mother's Day and was treated like a queen. A huge shout out and thanks especially to Marlowe and Rosario. The location is perfect ,easily to get around SF from by bus,cable car or street car, all within easy walk. Mall across the road is handy, many useful shops in there.

Room Tip: Rooms on court yard very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciated chance to forgo housekeeping every day and provision for recycling in room
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Queen Nanny898 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Very pleased to hear that Marlow, Rosario and the rest of the team helped in creating such a fabulous Tuscan Hotel experience and made you feel like a Queen. All of your kind words are most appreciated and we look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    1,024
    249
    69
    27
See reviews for
684
1,147
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a very good hotel. The staff are helpful, the rooms are perfectly adequate and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Fisherman's Wharf if that is where you want to be, though I was VERY disappointed with the area. It is just about all souvenir shops and fast-food outlets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi alphonse49 - Thanks for staying with us and for the almost 5 Star review. Without question, fisherman's wharf is a very popular area. Not only are we the top tourist attraction in SF, we are one of the top 10 tourist attractions in the United States. Being right in the middle of fisherman’s wharf, you can’t beat the location for shops, restaurants and all the activities near the wharf and around Pier 39. Of course there are fast food restaurants and souvenir shops a plenty. Sorry that we didn't point you in the thousand other directions in and around the wharf which may have better suited your fancy. Thanks again for the kind words and we wish you Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived in Tuscan inn with a warm welcome from the manager " Tom " and the rest of the reception staff , could not do enough for us we had a standard queen room with two queen beds ,over looking the court yard ,
We attended the managers wine evening between 5-6, on 2 occasions and I worth doing it
Thank you for a fab stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi jahne k - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm very pleased to hear that you were well cared for by Tom and the gang. Your wonderful comments are much appreciated and we'll look forward to your next Fab visit to San Francisco...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Overall we had a great stay. The staff was friendly and courteous from the moment we checked in. We had checked in just shortly after wine hour ended but they still offered us a glass if we wanted. The property looked clean and well maintained. Our room was on the small side but considering we were in SF it didn't bother us. The hotel is perfectly situated so that everything is within walking distance. The wharf is a few blocks away and the trolly stop is right around the corner. Parking is very expensive at $45/night so keep that in mind. The only thing that kept this review from being a 5 star were the beds. They were extremely soft and uncomfortable. I know it's a personal preference but we didn't get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi DoubleTrouble1012 - Thanks for staying with us and for the almost 5 Star review. All of your kind comments are much appreciated and I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit. Very sorry that the beds were not to your liking. As we see throughout all of the Trip Advisor reviews, the comfort of our new luxurious pillow top beds is one of the most celebrated areas of the hotel. This proves why there is more than just one flavor of ice cream, everyone's tastes are different. We wish you safe travels and hope all of your future accommodations are comfortable and satisfying. (PS: I like vanilla, pistachio is a close 2nd)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Right in the center of the action. Everyplace seemed to be in walking distance or a short ride away. Most of all, the staff was polite, attentive and informative. We have stayed in hotels all over and this staff was the most fun and the friendliest. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in SF. Hello to everyone and thanks for a great time (and the wine).

Room Tip: small rooms and you have the use of a fitness center across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Louis D - Thanks for staying with us at the Fun and Fabulous Tuscan Hotel and thank you for the 5 Star review. Glad you had a terrific time and were well cared for by our fine men and women who work hard every day trying to create memorable (and fun) experiences for our guests. We'll look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to SF...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

we stayed at the Tuscan for 3 nights, the hotel was clean with loevly decor. the staff were friendly and helpful. the complimentary wine tasting (5-6pm every day) was an added bonus and the servers were very generous. the hotel is great value for money (compared to other comparable chain hotels in the area) and close to all that Fisherman's Warf has to offer. my only negative comments would be the poor power of the hairdyers - they werent made for a speedy blow dry! other than that i would recomned this location to anyone, and will choose teh Tuscan again when i return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Erica P - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm happy that you had a great time at The Tuscan and hope the rest of your SF experience was memorable. Sorry about the hair dryer, we'll take a look at what we're using and see if our current model hair dryer needs to be revisited. I hope the one in your room may simply needed replacement. All of your very kind words are most appreciated and we will hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded for our two night stay as the first room was very small, to a nice room with a bit of a sea view. Although the decor was a bit outdated, the room was spotless and well equipped with a very comfortable bed.
All the staff made time to make us feel most welcome and helpful in every way, nothing seemed too much trouble. The Hotel is well situated for visiting the Pier areas and great for tours.
We had the continental breakfast which was fresh and tasty, certainly set us up for the day. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Harlister - thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share all of your very kind words about the hotel and our fabulous staff. I am pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience and all worked out well. We look forward to your next visit to SF...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.