We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed operation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #19 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Destin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Well managed operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quality accommodations at a reasonable price in Fisherman's Wharf can be difficult to find, but we were very happy with BW Tuscan.

Yes, the rooms are small. That is simply the case in an area where real estate is sold by the square inch. Not so small as to be uncomfortable exactly, and the rooms were extremely clean. Housekeeping did a really great job.

Concierge service was very efficient. We allowed them to make arrangements for a Napa limo tour and a Muir Woods/Sausalito shuttle. They got us a really great deal on the limo.

Many employees at this location made a positive impression, not the least of which was Tom. I became ill on one of the evenings there and my wife called the front desk inquiring about room service. (They only have "in-house" room service for breakfast) Although the hotel has an arrangement with a restaurant for food delivery, Tom called quite a number of other near-by restaurants to find one that could deliver the specific items that my wife was requesting.

Tom inquired as to whether or not we had been able to participate in the evening's wine tasting downstairs and was informed that we had missed it. Tom immediately sent some chardonnay to our room!

In sum, a professionally run hotel operation with well trained staff and good clean rooms. The location is convenient to just about everything. You certainly won't need your car. The bar at the adjacent Pescatore is a fun place for drinks. Breakfast, lunch and dinner there are all very good as well.

The only complaint might be (surprisingly) that the water pressure is weak. The water seemed soft, which along with low pressure makes for a bad combination. We did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms. However, the rooms facing the courtyard are said to be the quietest as opposed to those facing the street which are said to be a little loud at night. Be specific as the views can vary considerably from great to zero!

Room Tip: Choose courtyard rooms for a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello marlinchaser3,

Thank you for your 5star review of The Tuscan!
I'm happy you found quality accommodations in us and our Housekeeping staff great.
I'm so pleased that Tom took care of you and your wife. Hope she is feeling better.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,089
    920
    228
    63
    26
See reviews for
574
1005
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

great service, clean, good value, I had my own room, my daughter also had a king room of her own. One room was considerably bigger, both the same price. Clean and comfy, good location. Really had to work at it to get the AC to work, a lot of setting and resetting thermostat in both rooms. Got frustrating. Pretty much limited to news on tv, or rent a movie. No vending machines for water, etc. Never received vouchers promised if you participated in reusing towels and not having room cleaned. But for the price it was a good deal. Just wish, the AC would have worked better. In a tiny room with a shower and blow dryer, it got warm!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of The Tuscan. I appreciate you mentioning our great service, cleanliness and good value. I agree!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Best Western Tuscan Inn in the San Francisco Wharf Area is a gem !!! Hotel amenities were extremely nice, beds the most comfortable of our trip to California. Had two rooms, one with two queen beds and daughter and her husband had a King bed room. Location of hotel was perfect. Muni buses and cable cars nearby. Walking distance to Fisherman's Whart which was fun. We would definitely recommend this hotel and location to San Francisco travelers !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your 5star review! YOU are the gem!
I'm happy you and your family had a great stay.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

we stayed in the Tuscan and was very pleased with it...the position of the hotel was excellent for anything you wanted to do and when you had a enough you could escape to the calm and tranquil surrounding and enjoy a glass of wine at the wine tasting every night and then refresh yourself and head out to the bright lights of a fantastic city all the staff we met were lovely and friendly and very helpful from opening doors to just giving you a good morning..the breakfast was included in our deal and this was for a continental breakfast .There was an adjacent bar/grill/restaurant and this was excellent the food was prepared fresh for you and it was lovely and tasty and hubby would recommend the crab Benedict i would say have anything.. all in all i would say it was a lovely hotel with gorgeous decor in the rooms and lovely bathroom and would definitely recommend it for anyone coming here

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello redcas1010,

Thank you for the fabulous 5star review of The Tuscan!
What a wonderful write up of our hotel. Thank you for the compliments on my staff and the restaurant.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 22 Nov for 2 nights. It is centrally located to everything. We were doing the Alcatraz tour and spending the day at the Piers. Fishermans Wharf and Pier 39 as well as Pier 33 (Alcatraz) are all within walking distance. He hired Pleasant Limo to get us back and forth from the airport (Highly recommend them) as parking is limited and pricey. The evening wine at this hotel was really nice also. I thought maybe a little cup for sampling but was I surprise as they give you a small wine glass. Staff was wonderful from the moment we pulled up until we left. Very nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Michael C,

Thank you for your 5star review!
I'm happy to hear you found our staff wonderful from the moment you pulled up to the moment you left. Thank you for the compliment.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

\Stayed 5 nights in early November. The Tuscan is a perfect boutique hotel - friendly, comfortable, like home away from home! Close to all the action but far enough from the hustle and bustle. Front desk, doormen, concierge, housekeeping and restaurant personnel very courteous and hospitable. In particular we felt very welcomed by Roy C at the front desk who always greeted us by name and showed genuine interest in our daily adventures, adding immeasurably to the enjoyment of our visit to SF. Will recommend this charming hotel to our friends and will surely return.

Room Tip: the courtyard is quiet with a charming view
See more room tips
Green Features: very pleased with the enviro saving on optional unnecessary daily changes in towels and linen. housekeeping does a great job.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Jen125,

Thank you for your 5star review of the Tuscan. I appreciate you saying it's like "home away from home." I agree! Thank you for noting the hospitality and courtesy of our Front Desk, Valet, Concierge, Restaurant and Housekeeping staff. They will all be thrilled to hear of your compliments.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

2 blocks from the wharf Rooms were nice but small and they definitely needed black out curtains. They had shutters and it did not keep the light out Bedding was ok if you like feather beds. We like a firmer mattress. Wine tasting was a nice touch. We did that once. I would probably stay somewhere else next time only because a like a darker room. Ross and Cost plus around the corner and grocery store on the next block. Also we were on the 4th floor in the rear and the view was of a roof. I did like the water with lemon in the lobby and the staff
were nice.

Room Tip: No view on the rear of the building and farther from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello PMCCREADY,

Thank you for your review!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.