We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Inn-great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #18 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tuscan Inn-great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Tuscan Inn for a week in October. Initially booked a suite room, and after 1 night of sleepless sleep, due to severe street and traffic noise,( the suites we found out face the outer street sides) front desk moved us to a double queen room. This was an inside courtyard room, and we could not hear a sound, it was so quiet, so decide what you want, noisy sleep but a view or quiet quiet sleep.

A note if your booking a king or 2x queen suite like we did, the website shows under accomodations a picture of the suite rooms, and there was a fireplace in the photo. We did not have a fireplace in our suite, and it did not look as nice as the photo portrayed on the website, alot older room. Maybe dont include something if your not getting it in your room?

Wonderful, helpful front desk and customer service, they went out of their way to make us happy and very nice people. This hotel is on a very nice street across from safeway which is handy for food. Some of the streets walking towards the holiday inn express were not very safe looking and dingy, we are very glad we did not stay in that area of fishermans wharf.

Hotel is renovated and lovely lobby, though I thought the cleaning ladies missed alot of dust areas in our room which they did not dust and missed cleaning the bathtub properly. Maybe spend more time in the rooms. Though the rooms were nice.

Really loved the friendly staff and they booked a limo to get us back to the hotel to catch our flight and booked a limo to take us around town. We really appreciated this service!

Will return again as we enjoyed our visit very much at the Tuscan Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello a p,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Tuscan. I appreciate you mentioning our staff's helpfulness and wonderful customer service. I appreciate your other feedback, too. I see we have some areas that need improvement and I will address them with the appropriate departments. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to re-evaluate the areas that need improvement and which areas we are doing great in. Thank you!

Graciously,
Jan Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    1,285
    298
    81
    28
See reviews for
842
1,425
75
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and lived the location and homely feel of the hotel. Room was very quiet (prior to booking read that an inner courtyard room is best for no noise), a couple of issues with our airconditioner/heater making a loud noise all night despite being turned off was quickly fixed by the hotel maintenance crew. Love this hotel however room we err in was extremely small probably smallest I've stayed in yet still loved this place and would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Spongeeone,

Thank you for your 5star review! I'm sorry there was an issue with the AC, and I'm happy to hear we quickly resolved it so you could enjoy the rest of your stay .
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

From the moment I entered the lobby of this hotel I felt cosseted and pampered in true European fashion. Each staff member I encountered was helpful, courteous, and possessed the knowledge necessary to assist me with directions each time I asked. The room was exquisite - and despite the wine party in the lobby each evening I had no trouble sleeping. Bed was extremely comfortable. The morning breakfast was delightful, and my departing experience was just as warm and accommodating as that of my arrival

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Jenny G,

Ciao! Grazie Millie!
Thank you for your 5star review of The Tuscan!
Sounds like you had a perfect stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Come back and see us again!

Ciao!
Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great experience and a good location for Fishermans Wharf. Very helpful staff, nice happy hour and good breakfast. Really convenient for our touring around San Francisco. Worked good for our part of 6 famkly and friends. Would certainly use the hotel again if in the city and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Charles F,

Thank you for the 5star review! I'm thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly. It was our pleasure having you!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel before our cruise. Couldn't have been more pleased as the location was great, easy walking to Fisherman's Wharf and cable car was right around the block. The room was comfortable with free WiFi, coffee in the morning and the afternoon wine reception was nice. Hotels in SF are expensive and this hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Pauladolla,

Love that 5star review, thank you! I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel being a great value! I agree.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great front desk personnel, helped out with many issues such as a botched reservation on my end, and they rebooked and refunded no-show charges with no hassle. Very welcoming lobby, restaurant is good, they provide discount coupons if you eat there, location on the Wharf is convenient. Rooms clean and roomy - we had two queen beds for 3 people. We were not in the room much besides sleeping and had no problem with space. TV remote appears to be cleaned between uses. Housekeeping friendly and efficient. Service to get a car to the airport was prompt. Didn't have a bellman that I noticed but not a problem when you only have one bag. The front entrance is not well marked, you might want to use Google earth to see how it looks so you can tell your cab driver when he passes it - like ours did!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor facing North Point Street. It was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide a discount if you forego housekeeping for environmental reasons. First time I had seen that.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello LuvBroccoli,

Thank you for your 5star and rave reviews of your stay at The Tuscan! I'm thrilled you had a great stay and our staff took fantastic care of you.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we arrived after a long flight from Europe and were told that we were offered a free room for one night at the Sheraton across the street we were ready for the worst. We said we preferred to stay where we had booked and got a very nice, quiet room in the Tuscan. Beds were comfortable, the bathroom impeccable, the room a bit dark, but since we planned to be outside in any event, we did not mind. The hotel is located a few steps away from the Cable Car, on the other side of the street is Bus 47 going to The Legion of Honor, the F Tram going to Union Square is just a block away. In the afternoon there was complimentary wine in the lobby , the concierge gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation and even the Pizza in the restaurant next doors was ok. We can only recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet, albeit a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Slavkoff,

I'm happy to hear you found our hotel a "happy surprise." Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Tuscan and mentioning our nice quiet room. Glad you enjoyed our comfy bed and clean room.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,265 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#102 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,723 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,928 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.