We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Walkable distance to almost any attraction. Quiet rooms. Concierge service was very lacking- seemed like she had no knowledge of the ferries, attractions, or transportation options. Last night our room was not turned over- only bad part.

Room Tip: Away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Rachsmu05,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,118
    932
    227
    64
    27
See reviews for
619
1041
56
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
471 helpful votes 471 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Tuscan Inn for six nights in September 2013. The check-in was fast and I was very pleased to see the room they gave me was exactly what I asked for. It was on highest floor (#4) and it was facing the inner courtyard which is quieter.

The room was bigger than I expected with a nice desk if you have to work a little. It was very very clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a mini-bar in the room so you can use it to store a little grocery (milk, water, etc…) that you could get at the Safeway around the corner.

The Wi-Fi connexion was good in the room and excellent in the lobby.

The Tuscan provide free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the morning and between 17h00 and 18h00 the lobby becomes a nice place to hang out and chat with the other clients as they serve a nice little wine.

The staff is the greatest asset of this hotel. They are helpful, very nice and they always try to make your stay the best stay you could hope for. They provided me great tips about the town, the restaurants, etc... Tom, Debbie and all the others were very friendly and they always answered me with a smile.

This place is really great and the location is very good too. You are only a couple of steps away from the piers where there is a lot to see and where you can catch a bus to anywhere in San Francisco. You can also catch the cable car "Powell/Mason" just behind the hotel which is great.

The only downside that I could think of is that it was way too expensive but I must say that I was there during Oracle Open World/America's Cup 2013, so hotel were expensive all over the city. You might get a better rate if you do not go during the Oracle Convention that brings more than 50000 peoples in town for a whole week.

The place is very nice and very clean, and the staff was extraordinary so I would definitely recommend this hotel if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inner courtyard it is less noisy. But you won't have any view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Marco,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a 5 star review of The Tuscan! I'm thrilled to hear Tom & Debbie acknowledged, along with our great staff. I'm happy you found the room comfortable and our amenities satisfactory! Thank you for sharing your great comments!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked into the Tuscan Inn for a three-night, four-day visit to San Francisco. The hotel is ideally located close to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39, and an easy walk to Ghirardelli Square. Coit Tower and the twisty Lombard St are also within in walking distance. Our room was a 4th-floor, non-smoking, double-queen on the courtyard side of the hotel. This side of the hotel avoids traffic noise, but visitors need to be aware that the roof-top room air-conditioners face this courtyard and may disturb light sleepers. The room was very clean, with comfy beds and spacious enough for the two of us. Each evening the hotel has a free wine-tasting happy hour where you can meet fellow guests and sample a selection of wines.

The hotel staff at both check-in and check-out were friendly and courteous and the hotel has a well-informed concierge service.

If you decide not to have your room serviced every day,you receive a $5 per day voucher for use in the restaurant, although we did not use this service.

Parking in San Francisco is expensive in most popular areas (in the region of $35 to $45 per day), so we took advantage of the hotel park-and-stay promo and walked or used SFMTA transit. A one-day pass gives travelers plenty of rides on the cable cars, trams and buses.

If you intend to ride a cable car it is best to arrive at the terminus early and avoid the Powell/Hyde line at peak period (unless you really like long line-ups). The Tuscan Hotel is in easy walking distance of the Lombard St stop on the Mason line, which will take you to Union Square. Don't forget to call in at the Cable Car Museum.

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Tuscan Inn and would not hesitate to stay there again if we visited San Francisco

Room Tip: Our rooms facing the courtyard on a higher floor had a little noise from AC units outside but was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Marilyn W,

Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff took great care of you. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel. Our Housekeeping staff certainly appreciate your compliments!

Graciously,
Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It was a great stay, overall. The location was indeed a plus point. But what I remembered the most was its super comfy bed and its impeccably clean room. The staff were all generally helpful. Really enjoyed the evening walk as good restaurants were nearby. Recommended for those who want to be closer to what Fisherman's Wharf can offer but appreciate some privacy and quiet moments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello ineszKL,

Thank you for your kind review, acknowledging our great staff and clean room. I'm thrilled to hear you had a great stay. Isn't our bed dreamy? I'm glad you got to enjoy that.
Come back and see us again, anytime!

Graciously,
Jan Misch
General Misch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We needed accommodation in San Francisco pre and post a cruise, but hadn't taken into account the America's Cup races (even though we are Kiwis, when we booked our cruise that event didn't feature, but soon became a bonus highlight of our trip!) Because of the racing, prices in Fisherman's Wharf were astronomical compared to when we were last here two years ago, but of all the places we looked at before deciding, Best Western Tuscan Inn provided the best deal, and we are glad we booked here. Rooms are rather small with no outlook (we had 1 x Queen Bed rooms facing onto the courtyard, but you actually can only see across into other rooms) but we were on holiday in a city we might not get back to, so time spent in the room was extremely minimal! Easy walking to everywhere, Pier 39, Cable Cars and F Line, supermarket next door (with a good selection of New Zealand wines I might add) and a lovely restaurant attached which we enjoyed for breakfast as well as a much deserved beer after a hard days sightseeing. We only partook in one wine reception evening due to never being there at the time, and enjoyed the laidback atmosphere and friendly staff. The only downside was the noises from the fan in the bathroom and the fan cooling/heating unit in the room, but nothing to really complain about. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi KazWellington,

I'm glad to hear you were able to join in on the excitement of America's Cup! San Francisco sure was buzzing! Did you get to see how fast the boats were sailing?! Wow!
Thank you for acknowledging our great staff and restaurant, Pescatore. Come back and see us again!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There is something about this hotel that has me coming back. It has a nice atmosphere, friendly staff and a very pretty room, which I think was recently redecorated. I love the fact that they allow pets at no extra charge. It is very clean everywhere, and that includes the room and bath. I have only one gripe, though... I think it's rather expensive, but then again, this IS Fisherman's Wharf in SF, so I guess we can't expect anything else. It's always tourist season in SF, so rates are very high, but I'm not a tourist, so it gets frustrating!! at times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Birdie57,

I agree with you... there IS something about The Tuscan! I've had the pleasure + privilege to spend 12 years as General Manager here. Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our guests, we welcome pets with "open paws," Housekeeping works hard to maintain a clean room. Let us know when you're ready to return and we'll gladly welcome you back to your "home away from home!"

Graciously,
Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had such a fabulous and memorable time when we stayed recently at this beautiful hotel. We have never slept in such comfort in any hotel bed. It is actually better than our own bed! The employees are very welcoming and informative. We especially enjoyed the free wine reception in the evenings, which was very informal and friendly. The location is very hard to beat if only staying for a few days as it is near the touristy areas and tour buses. With regard to the tour buses. A little research before deciding on which one would be a good idea so you get the tour that suits you as some are better than others. The one we chose did not suit our needs as my hubby wanted to take photos but the bus did not stop at the more interesting areas, so it was a bit difficult. A good tip is to take the L tram from Fisherman,s Wharf to Castro. Castro is an interesting area in itself and the tram goes past most of the popular areas.. The fare is only a couple of dollars and it is a long ride. Some areas of San Francisco, as I am sure you know, are very hilly so be careful where you choose your hotel if you have mobility issues. The hotel is great as it is in a level location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Maryc82,

Thank you for the complimentary & informative review! I'm happy to know you enjoyed our new beds. You know, you can purchase the same bed as the hotel and make your bed at home just as great! Our guests loooove that Simmons Beautyrest!

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.