We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL - RATES ARE TOO HIGH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lindale, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL - RATES ARE TOO HIGH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a visit to San Francisco and we stayed at this location. The Hotel was very nice. All of the staff here were nice and helpful. Our room was super clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept on while traveling. The only problem we encountered here was the location of the room. It overlooked a Mall next door and it was very loud in their parking lot until late in the morning. People fighting, loud motorcycles & cars. We stayed 3 nights and it was the same each night. If you ever stay here, request a room facing a different direction. The Hotel provided free coffee each morning in the lobby and a wine tasting in the afternoon. The wine tasting was almost impossible to participate in because of the huge number of people in the small lobby. It is a 2 block walk to the wharf from the Hotel. Nice Hotel, but the price to stay here is way too high.

Room Tip: Probably any room except the ones facing the Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Dale_Shannon,

Didn't you just love our beds? We recently replaced all beds with the Simmons Beautyrest. It's like sleeping on a cloud!
I'm glad you found our guest rooms super clean. I know our Housekeeping staff will appreciate your compliment!

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    1,018
    249
    69
    27
See reviews for
681
1,145
64
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Tuscon Best Western in San Francisco is in the middle of where it's all at. Just a 10 minute walk (with wheelchair) from Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, great restaurants and most of what you'll want to see. The staff were very freindly and the rooms were clean, comfortable and well equiped, but ask for a room with a view beacause some don't have the most attractive outlook.. The restaurant looks basic, but it serves really good food, fresh, attractive and tasty. I will definitely return next time I go to SanFran.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Colin D

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a chance to dine at Pescatore. Chef Raffa and his team are amazing! Pescatore serves up rustic Italian food focusing on big flavor: wood fire pizza, pasta & seafood.

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had a 2 night stay at this great hotel in San Fran. It is very well located around the corner from Fisherman's Wharf. The room was clean and well maintained. Make sure you get the parking special as Valet is $45 per night and there is nowhere else to park! There are no real views to speak of but it isn't necessary. There is a Safeway, Walgreens and a Trader Joes across the street.
We were there during the America's Cup that meant big crowds in the area. Just something to think about, the area during peak season can be very crowded and so can the MUNI public transport system. It pays to be patient.
Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Kimosabi79,

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your 2 nt stay with us! Did you watch Oracle Team USA's boat zoom across the bay? The races were quite a sight.
There's always something going on down at Fisherman's Wharf.
Come back for another adventure soon!
Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We recently traveled with friends to the area. Tom at the front desk was very thoughtful. He helped to make our anniversaries even more special. My only compliant is that the bathroom vanity is too small. We enjoyed our time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello !

Thank you for your review! Tom is a pretty thoughtful and romantic guy (just ask his wife).
I'm glad he helped make your anniversary special. Hope to see you back here for future anniversaries!

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay here. Great location -- a couple of blocks away from the activity of the Wharf area; friendly, efficient and helpful staff; clean rooms. 3 of us had separate bedrooms on the same floor overlooking a cement wall about 20 feet away so there was no view. But that was fine with us because there was also no noise from the street. We were glad we didn't have a car because the hotel charges an extra $45 plus taxes/fees per night to park there. That's pretty outrageous, even for San Francisco. Hotel is also close to a supermarket and Walgreens which was a big plus. Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Dan K,
Thank you for your review. Hope you got to see all the fun & fabulous things San Francisco has to offer during your 4 night visit. Thank you also for highlighting our staff's efficiency and friendliness. Our Housekeepers work hard to ensure you have a clean room to relax in.
Parking in San Francisco is at a premium and The Tuscan's parking is actually one of the lowest hotel valet parking. Come back again for another 4 nt stay!
Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rooms were nice but the bathrooms are very small, the location played a big part in where we stayed and this was easy access to the Wharf Area. When making reservations ask for the "parking special" if you are driving, it includes valet parking...a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Earlier this year, we upgraded our guest rooms with new bedding, new mattress, new headboards, new tvs, etc..... and I appreciate you liked our room. We have many promotions, and the Perfect Parking promotion is one our best sellers!
i hope to welcome you back to The Tuscan again.

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were a little on the small side, but they were immaculate and very nicely decorated. The free wine in the lobby bar each evening was really run. Great location, but not in the noisy section of the Wharf. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, definitely would recommend this hotel and go back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Donna L,

I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel for all the good reasons.
Our staff works hard to keep our guest rooms immaculate! Thank you for noticing.
I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy our Hosted Evening Wine Reception... it's a great way to end the day (or start the evening!)
We'll see you when you return!
Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.