We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL - RATES ARE TOO HIGH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #19 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lindale, Georgia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL - RATES ARE TOO HIGH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a visit to San Francisco and we stayed at this location. The Hotel was very nice. All of the staff here were nice and helpful. Our room was super clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept on while traveling. The only problem we encountered here was the location of the room. It overlooked a Mall next door and it was very loud in their parking lot until late in the morning. People fighting, loud motorcycles & cars. We stayed 3 nights and it was the same each night. If you ever stay here, request a room facing a different direction. The Hotel provided free coffee each morning in the lobby and a wine tasting in the afternoon. The wine tasting was almost impossible to participate in because of the huge number of people in the small lobby. It is a 2 block walk to the wharf from the Hotel. Nice Hotel, but the price to stay here is way too high.

Room Tip: Probably any room except the ones facing the Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale_Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Dale_Shannon,

Didn't you just love our beds? We recently replaced all beds with the Simmons Beautyrest. It's like sleeping on a cloud!
I'm glad you found our guest rooms super clean. I know our Housekeeping staff will appreciate your compliment!

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Tuscon Best Western in San Francisco is in the middle of where it's all at. Just a 10 minute walk (with wheelchair) from Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, great restaurants and most of what you'll want to see. The staff were very freindly and the rooms were clean, comfortable and well equiped, but ask for a room with a view beacause some don't have the most attractive outlook.. The restaurant looks basic, but it serves really good food, fresh, attractive and tasty. I will definitely return next time I go to SanFran.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Colin D

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a chance to dine at Pescatore. Chef Raffa and his team are amazing! Pescatore serves up rustic Italian food focusing on big flavor: wood fire pizza, pasta & seafood.

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I had a 2 night stay at this great hotel in San Fran. It is very well located around the corner from Fisherman's Wharf. The room was clean and well maintained. Make sure you get the parking special as Valet is $45 per night and there is nowhere else to park! There are no real views to speak of but it isn't necessary. There is a Safeway, Walgreens and a Trader Joes across the street.
We were there during the America's Cup that meant big crowds in the area. Just something to think about, the area during peak season can be very crowded and so can the MUNI public transport system. It pays to be patient.
Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimosabi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Kimosabi79,

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your 2 nt stay with us! Did you watch Oracle Team USA's boat zoom across the bay? The races were quite a sight.
There's always something going on down at Fisherman's Wharf.
Come back for another adventure soon!
Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We recently traveled with friends to the area. Tom at the front desk was very thoughtful. He helped to make our anniversaries even more special. My only compliant is that the bathroom vanity is too small. We enjoyed our time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello !

Thank you for your review! Tom is a pretty thoughtful and romantic guy (just ask his wife).
I'm glad he helped make your anniversary special. Hope to see you back here for future anniversaries!

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rooms were nice but the bathrooms are very small, the location played a big part in where we stayed and this was easy access to the Wharf Area. When making reservations ask for the "parking special" if you are driving, it includes valet parking...a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Earlier this year, we upgraded our guest rooms with new bedding, new mattress, new headboards, new tvs, etc..... and I appreciate you liked our room. We have many promotions, and the Perfect Parking promotion is one our best sellers!
i hope to welcome you back to The Tuscan again.

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were a little on the small side, but they were immaculate and very nicely decorated. The free wine in the lobby bar each evening was really run. Great location, but not in the noisy section of the Wharf. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, definitely would recommend this hotel and go back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Donna L,

I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel for all the good reasons.
Our staff works hard to keep our guest rooms immaculate! Thank you for noticing.
I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy our Hosted Evening Wine Reception... it's a great way to end the day (or start the evening!)
We'll see you when you return!
Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent Hotel for a stay in San Francisco. The staff were polite and extremely helpful at all times and answered my queries fully. Lovely touch with the 'Meet and Greet' reception at 5 pm where we got to know other guests. Room was lovely, clean and spotless. Staff arranged the Shuttle back to Oakland Airport for me when I asked, as I was unsure. Delightful Hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello ManchesterMikey,

Thank you for your delightful review of The Tuscan. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and our staff took great care of you.

Graciously,
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,517 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#34 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing