We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in san fran; friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
indianapolis in
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best location in san fran; friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

admittedly, at the price that I got my 3 nights stay for this location, I was already content. I was single, travelling alone until later. but the staff treated me like a family member EVERY TIME, and the couples at the free wine 1 1/2 hours every night in the lobby were social too. the room was great and had more amenities that I had presumed. I took the BART to the embarcadero, and waltzed the 1.1 miles along the bay to the hotel with my backpack and carryon.(my choice to stretch out).then I walked to the wharf..4 minutes. then to safeway..1 minute..to trader joes.. 2 min. then over and over to little Italy/Chinatown..11 minutes. go up mason(next to the hotel) about 3 blocks to Lombard, look far to the right, and see that crookedest street. go to the wharf, catch the vintage #7 old trolley, pay the$2 and go to the castro and height ashbury in 1 trip. $2 more gets you back..the clerks and concierge were most helpful...since bart went on strike on my departure, the concierge recommended lori's shuttle for airport timeliness, and they were early! the bed was high and firm and I didn't expect an ironing board. finally, with no smart phone, the 2 terminal business center was nearly always available, except in the late afternoon. i'm already contemplating xmas here.

Room Tip: based on tripadvisor advice I asked for a courtyard room.. I had some young couples around me making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Henry S - Thanks for the 5 Star review and the very kind words. We look forward to seeing you around the Christmas Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    1,025
    250
    69
    27
See reviews for
686
1,147
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights at the tail end of a 2 week California vacation with my family. Worst stay and most expensive of the 2 weeks and 5 hotels we were in. Street noise from our suite was extremely loud. We were on the 3rd floor. Asked if we could switch rooms and they said all the suites face the street. Well then, replace the old windows that allow every noise to come through. Would never stay there again especially given the very high price for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Miguel - Sorry for all the issues you encountered during your stay. Certainly not typical of the kind of experience we try to provide our guests. As indicated in my private messages to you, your concerns will be addressed. I hope all of your future travels are comfortable and satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we met a young bloke on his first day at the hotel, by memory "David".
He was very respectful and gracious our whole 5 night stay.
The rooms are very spacious and the location to the wharfs/pier is close enough but not too close
There is a Safeway and shops next door and its an easy walk to little Italy district for dinner also.
The cable car I and other transport is at your door.
For a Best Western, this is the best I have seen.......enjoy without reservation in this recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Tandil19 - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I appreciate your fabulous comments about David and the hotel. That's fantastic that he made such an impression on his very 1st day, he'll be thrilled with your kind words. We look forward to your next trip to SF and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

You could not ask for a more family oriented location with a terrific staff starting with the Manager on down to the desk. They are truly there to please and accommodate you. Plus if you have a pet they are "pet friendly"! I will continue to stay here every time I come to San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi hial1211 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. We are all thrilled to be your home away from home and shall continue to work hard to make sure that all of your visits are comfortable and relaxing! Thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billyboy252
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

couldn`t believe how good this Hotels location is, quiet off center location, just a few minutes , literally and your at Fishermans Warf.On booking in they gave us a double room for two men and when we explained we booked singles they said "you may have requested it but thats not whats on your agents booking!!"The rooms were good, very good, coffee not quite so good, but hey it was drinkable.the restaurant was always busy, but they were very efficient and the food was good.Large portions.at night it was very quiet, even the air conditioning was virtually silent.Loved this hotel. we bought passes in England for trips etc, which was a good move as everywhere seriously busy,Alcatraz was booked up until next month, though touts were still on the streets flogging them.all in all . a very good hotel

Room Tip: All rooms we saw very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi billyboy252 - Thanks for the 5 Star review and great comments. So glad you had a fantastic experience at the Tuscan! Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a quick walk to the wharf, the cable cars, and several lovely restaurants.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

We had a king room. The room was rather small (NYC sized room), but the bed was comfy and it certainly met our needs.

There is coffee in the lobby in the morning. You can get breakfast for a reasonable price at the restaurant.

For sight seeing in SF, you would be hard pressed to find a better combination of location, price and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi H0tlanta - Thank you for the 5 Star review, much appreciated! We look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The world famous Fisherman's Wharf and the SF cable car and the crooked Lambard Street all in walking distance, how could you top this location?! Well, by adding the great services in relative quiet and comfort in this wonderful hotel. The staff are professional and courteous, the evening happy hour draws a big gathering of guests to enjoy free wine and hors d'oeuvres, many restaurants nearby to choose from. We live in the Bay Area so it seems excessive to spend $$$ to stay in SF overnight. But it was my birthday and we had a free reward night from BW. So we decided to spend a Sunday night here and were very satified with the overall experience. The room is a bit smallish but clean, functional, and comfortalbe. Parking is expensive - Valet parking with in/out privilege is $45/night plus tax - but you could park overnight in the garage next door for ONLY $35/night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor (4th) and can hear the noise from the air conditioning units on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi J X - Happy Birthday and thanks for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your short time at the Tuscan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.