We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to base your SF vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good place to base your SF vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We travelled to SF for a concert and picked the BW Tuscan Inn for our stay. We travelled without a car so the BART and a cable car got us to the hotel. Quin checked us in efficiently. We had a king suite room. The room was big and clean. We liked he decor because it made the room bright. The windows with shudders helped too. Every worker we ran into said hi whether it was a doorman or a housekeeper. Because of the location of the Tuscan Inn, it was easy to travel around with just a cable car and/or buses. Also it was a short walk to the wharf. We will definitely come back here for our next SF trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi atomicrs11 - Thank you for the 5 Star review and fantastic comments about the hotel, Quin and the rest of the team. Glad you enjoyed the Tuscan and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    983
    240
    65
    26
See reviews for
655
1,103
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western in San Francisco. It came with a delicious, order off the menu breakfast in their very nice Italian Restaurant. We had a suite that was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and it was quiet in the evening. The location is very good as other reviewers have stated. We did have a car, but we were able to easily walk to various locations for touring and meals. We took advantage of their wine hour with snacks starting at 5pm. All in all, I was very pleased with this hotel and would book it again when coming to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Nyeta - Thanks for staying with us and for the glowing comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay; we'll look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

BW Tuscan Inn is a beautiful hotel in a convenient area for those who are vacationing in San Francisco. One can walk to many attractions and after a long day it was nice to come back to a comfortable room and bed. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The concierge was very helpful in helping us with our plans and the purchase of our tickets. I would definitely stay at the Tuscan again on a return trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi jascip - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Glad to hear you had a great family vacation and that you were well cared for during your visit. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. You are only a few blocks from the main tourist attractions of San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, and Cable Car stops). The valet parking service was great even though parking was $45 a day. The room itself was smaller than I thought it would be but it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with almost no noise from outside. The staff was great and very helpful when answering our questions about the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the tourist destinations in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi AutumnHardin - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words about the hotel and our fabulous staff! We appreciate the 5 Star review and hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked the Best Western Tuscan Inn based on previous reviews of this hotel. We could not have been more pleased. All staff were very helpful, and our room was clean and well appointed. The location was perfect for the sight seeing we planned to do on our first trip to SF. When making our reservation we had mentioned that we would be celebrating our 25th anniversary, and asked for a room with a view if possible. To our delight, the hotel went above and beyond to help us celebrate, leaving a bottle of chilled champagne in our room with a note from the manager. My sister is going to SF later this year, and I have already told her this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Lisa E - Happy 25th anniversary and thank you for all your kind words. We appreciate the 5 star review and we will look forward to serving your sister when she visits later this year. We hope to see you again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I arrived here after 9 days in NYC on our way back to Australia. Thanks to feedback on TripAdvisor this was the best choice and provided a great laid back experience after NY. Location is close to Cable Car, Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz Ferry and Tower Tours are just down the road if you book any bus tours. Staff were all great, room was clean with a really comfy bed , and housemaids did a great job. Wine reception each night was good and provided an opportunity to meet other travelers and swap stories. If you are going to SFO for vacation then I would pick this hotel without issue. All hotels sometimes have problems, but for us on this trip, absolutely none and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you attend the wine tasting ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Russell S - Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad to hear that your visit was fabulous. We appreciate the 5 Star review and we look forward to serving you again when your travels return you to the SF Fisherman's Wharf area. I'll have a glass of wine waiting for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel with a great location to Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel recommended a shuttle service from the airport and we didn't pick up a car until we departed (walked 2 blocks to Avis and picked up a car)- so we didn't have to worry about parking or driving in the city. The room & beds were comfortable and the staff very friendly. The wine reception from 5-6 p.m. is a nice touch. If you don't want to eat out every meal or want something to snack on, there is a Trader Joe's one block away. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi RustyS03 - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.