We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #17 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bear Creek Twp., PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is very clean and has a very fiendly staff. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the Fisherman's Wharf, and Pier 39. Walking distance to many great restaurants and also to the Alkatraz boat Pier. The bed was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi savakirc - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments, much appreciated! (Those new beds are comfy!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    1,281
    297
    80
    28
See reviews for
841
1,415
75
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price - keep in mind parking is an additional fee, however. Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms! Wine reception every evening! Would definitely recommend to others and stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Jenny T - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Glad you had a great stay and your Tuscan experience was fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Best Western Plus Tuscan Inn and were very impressed on many fronts. The staff was friendly and attentive, the rooms were immaculate, and the location was fantastic! The afternoon wine reception was a lovely touch and the complimentary coffee in the morning was hot and delicious. We also ate a meal in the restaurant on site. The sea bass was perhaps the best meal I had during our stay. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing the courtyard. It was a quiet and comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi papeach - Thanks for the 5 Star review! Happy to see that you had an excellent visit and enjoyed some delicious sea bass as well! Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Really great location and better value for money than others we looked at in SF. Parking valet or in parking lots nearby (watch this as many do not allow overnight parking). Free wifi, comfy bed. We asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the internal courtyard rather than the street, so it was indeed quiet. Really nothing negative to mention - maybe the lifts are a little slow, but thats about it. We did not breakfast here.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Catherine L - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share such nice comments about your recent visit. Glad you had a great time at the Tuscan and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is! It's more like a boutique than a typical Best Western. The location is just a couple of short blocks to Fisherman's Wharf or Pier 39, walkable to cable cars, Ghiradelli or the pier where the Alcatraz tours start. We stopped here for 2 nights on a driving trip up the coast, and parking at this hotel was easy. We could have had in and out privileges but with such a central location we didn't need our car while we were there. The beds were super comfy, the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, and I loved the complimentary coffee/tea/cocoa in the lobby in the morning and wine at cocktail hour. I thought it was a great value and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi seattlesun68 - So glad that you gave us a try and we knocked it out of the park. It's true, we're not your typical Best Western, we're also part of the Kimpton Hotels and Restaurants Boutique Collection of 60 hotels across the country. Now that you've discovered us, you'll have to try some of our other fabulous properties too. We even have 3 hotels in your hometown of Seattle. Thanks for the 5 Star review and kind words. We hope to see you again the next time your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place to explore SF. The location is perfect to great places to eat in North Beach but the best part of this hotel is the staff. Concierge is great but the staff is just as helpful and so friendly. They go out of their way to give directions and help with plans. On arrival they got us into a room when we arrived early and after traveling in from the East cost that was a great bonus! I want to commend Tom at the front desk, because he goes the extra mile to ask you about your day and help with any plans. Its a great place and great value. I highly recomend it!

Room Tip: room away from the street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Lisa A - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Your wonderful words about the hotel, Tom and the rest of the team are most appreciated and I've already shared your comments with everyone. Glad you were well served during your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, 10 month old and myself spent 5 nights in this hotel, and we loved every minute of it! Before we left I phoned the hotel many times asking questions (in preparation of travelling with a baby). They were always helpful and very accommodating. I also had a number of items shipped to the hotel, and they handled this no problem! Upon arrival the bellman helped us with our bags, the front desk staff quickly checked us in, and even gave our 10 month old a new toy - which apparently they do for every child staying in their hotel! We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was a little pricier but well worth the money! The room was great - spacious, clean, bright, and we even had a slight view of the ocean. The bathroom was huge, which I wasn't expecting in a hotel in San Francisco. Every evening there is a wine reception where we tried a number of different wines, had some appetizers, and met people from all over the world. They provide coffee and tea in the morning, and ice water is out for guests throughout the day. This hotel is across the street from grocery, pharmacy and a really short walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the ocean! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor in a corner room because it is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi deneeb - Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful 5 Star review, much appreciated. So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Tuscan experience. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have the luxury of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,250 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#112 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#103 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,708 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.