We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    1,005
    247
    67
    27
See reviews for
672
1,125
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is our third stay at The Tuscan Inn,and we love it!Besides the optimum location,the rooms are spacious, and well-appointed, and beds are ultra-comfortable.Location is quiet, close to cable cars, Muni transportation,and scenic Fisherman's Wharf, but what really stands out is the service.Every member of the staff, from the desk clerks to the housekeepers were so welcoming and helpful.There is also a wonderfully helpful travel concierge to help with directions,and plan tours, etc.Hotel is pet-friendly,a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf ,and is the ONLY hotel we would consider when visiting San Francisco!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi SimadisFamily - Thank you for staying with us a 3rd time and thank you for the wonderful comments. Happy to hear that we continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting beautiful San Francisco......We will continue to work hard to maintain your loyalty and we look forward to your next trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Tuscan Inn is so central to everything at Fisherman's Wharf and very easy to make your way around.
It is also close to Trader Joe's so you can stock up with beer and anything else you need.
So many places to eat within a short walk.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the inn which you could see what was happening. Our friends had a cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Stephen N - Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the 5 Star review. Glad to hear you had a fabulous experience at the Tuscan and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Tuscan Inn is a very attractive hotel in an excellent location--easy walking distance to all the Wharf sights and sites, and not too far from downtown, which is an easy trolley ride away. Or walk a bit and grab a cable car! The desk staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are lovely, if a bit on the small side. I have two minor quibbles--I wish the parking weren't so expensive, and I wish guests would get a credit or discount for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. It's a great alternative to the very high-priced larger hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Arletta C - Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words and feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the Tuscan and that the staff served you well! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We picked the Tuscan Inn for location and because we didn't want to spend $$$$. All in all we were very happy with our choice. Pros of the hotel are: great location 2 blocks behind fisherman's wharf, really good attached restaurant (Presctore), lobby was very nice, dog friendly, cabs are easy to get out front, comfy beds and the staff was very friendly. The cons of the hotel are: parking is $45 per day, no bottled water in room fridge, rooms are a little small, small bathroom and the a/c & lights tend to buzz which you can hear all night. Overall I think it was a good deal and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi account4fun - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words. We appreciate your feedback, glad you thought us to be a good deal we and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great little hotel with old fashioned values (like reception staff and a concierge who really want to help), a perfect location (not too touristy but very accessible to the wharf and close to a cable car terminus) and even free wifi (hooray!) - to say nothing of the (free) wine and nibbles at 5 each evening. It's quiet and clean, and although not cheap, at least you can see what you're paying for. Our only criticism would be that the room we had was slight small, but looking on the positive side, this added to the 'boutique' feel.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Bignickandlittleted - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments. I appreciate your reference to old fashioned values; we have a great staff of dedicated men and women anxious to serve our guests. Glad you had a terrific experience at the Tuscan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.