We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Values” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Values”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great little hotel with old fashioned values (like reception staff and a concierge who really want to help), a perfect location (not too touristy but very accessible to the wharf and close to a cable car terminus) and even free wifi (hooray!) - to say nothing of the (free) wine and nibbles at 5 each evening. It's quiet and clean, and although not cheap, at least you can see what you're paying for. Our only criticism would be that the room we had was slight small, but looking on the positive side, this added to the 'boutique' feel.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Bignickandlittleted - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments. I appreciate your reference to old fashioned values; we have a great staff of dedicated men and women anxious to serve our guests. Glad you had a terrific experience at the Tuscan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,125
    938
    229
    64
    27
See reviews for
625
1046
58
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel for location, however, pictures are deceiving. For the price my girlfriend and I thought it would be a little more luxurious. Unfortunately it's just an upgraded Best Western. We spent more money than planned because we weren't informed on the correct transporation to take advantage of. BIG TIP, no one tells you as you're surfing the web, pre-register for an Alcatraz trip if you're planning on doing this. We didn't know if would be booked solid until 2 days after we left. Buy your tickets on line before you get to Frisco. Nice perk, the windows open so you can get the ocean breeze when it's warm. But overall, just a standard hotel nothing special.

Room Tip: We had a double, double queen on the 4th floor- average
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Kymberli D - Sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. I checked our web site and the pictures look like a perfect depiction of what the hotel really looks like. In fact, we actually are an upgraded Best Western, we're a Best Western Plus! Hope that all of your future accommodations are perfectly suited for all of your travel needs. Thanks for giving us a try......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OHIo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Tuscan Inn. I hadn't stayed here for 10 years or so, and was pleasantly surprised with the lobby and room upgrades. The staff at check in was amazingly helpful and courteous - allowing us to check in early to one room and leave one car with the valet. Lunch in the attached restaurant was wonderful with great service. The daily wine/appetizer reception was welcoming and relaxing. The affiliation with the Kimpton Hotel Group was evident in the upgrades-very pleasant décor. I have sent friends here for years as a great anchor hotel if visiting the fisherman's wharf area, and will continue to do so. The only complaint I would have is the cost to park a vehicle - $45/night. I find that excessive when parking at another neighborhood hotel is only $20/night.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street can be noisy at night (vehicles unloading) and in the early morning (tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi lmwultimt - Thanks for coming back after a 10 year hiatus. Glad that we did not disappoint and I hope it doesn't take another 10 years to see you again! ( happy to hear you love what we've done with the place)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Best Western Plus Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco is an easy stroll to all attractions. We had a king room which had a good comfortable king sized bed was a reasonable size and was quiet except like most hotels all noise in the hall way entered the room. there was no view from the window. Cooling and heating worked exceptionally well and you could not fault how the room was presented and cleaned. There was a coffee machine but no refrigerator. The ice machine on the floor provided copious amounts. parking was $51 per night inc. all taxes. Parking anywhere around that area is expensive. Breakfast was included but we decided it was not worth getting up for after the first time. Scrambled Eggs were desiccated Bacon microwaved some cereals, toast machine one juice some yogurt in tubs. It was pretty basic stuff and if you were hungry it would work. We preferred to get up later as it was finished by 9.30. In room internet was by cable, free and very fast. WiFi was free in the lobby. I would stay there again for the very convenient location. There was no real negative about this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi mmcin719 - Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and the great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a better location,all the touristic stores and nice places just one block away,also if u are not interested in that and want to go for a walk or stroll around the bay,u can do it,parking it's pricey,but that's San Francisco in general just take the cable cars and buses,don't waste ur $$$on taxis.the hotel has a 5-6 pm hour of wine @the lobby,very nice to mingle !!!!and they-serve u like really all the glass top full(get drunk)style!!very friendly ppl

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Loly B - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, much appreciated. Glad you had a great time, we'll look forward to seeing you again at our nightly wine reception......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a weekend here. The staff was welcoming and couldn't do enoughto help you, from the front desk, to the doormen, houeskeeping.
Breakfast in the attached restaurant was good, and service was too. The wine and appies in the lobby eachevening was a nice friendly touch, and the staff was friendly yet professional. We could walk everywhere from here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Ydelnesse - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Glad to hear you had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Tuscan and that the staff served you well. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.