We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. The staff were nice and welcoming. Location was brilliant two blocks from the piers and close to the old trams that will take you across the city. The room was nice and clean with the use of a fridge that was very useful as we were travelling with our young child.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Rob W - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and we concur, the location is brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    967
    236
    64
    26
See reviews for
640
1,084
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first trip to San Francisco and we stayed here for 3 nights at the begining of May. The hotel was near to Fishermans Wharf and close to a tram stop for getting back to the centre. Our room was big with 2 beds, fridge, coffee maker etc and a nice bathroom. It was was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean and all of the staff were very friendly. The option of a free glass of wine late afternoon was a nice touch.

All in all a good base from which to explore San Francisco

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi JH1_9 - Thanks for staying with us and thank you for the 5 Star review. I'm glad you found the Tuscan to be a great base for your San Francisco adventure and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am using the Tuscan Inn as a two night stop over before travelling south. This is my second visit to San Francisco and the Tuscan Inn has ticked all the boxes for me. Great location, fantastically friendly and efficient staff. Well kept hotel that is warm and welcoming. The room I am in is more than fine, very clean and well laid out, comfortable bed and a very nice on suit. A little gem hidden two blocks in from fisherman wharf. All rooms have A/C, safe and complimentary WiFi. All you;d expect and more for a mid range hotel gets my vote and i'd certainly use it the next time I visit.

Room Tip: I believe that the hotel does have a gym, but I'm on vacation so didn't use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi TMC224 - Thanks for staying with us on your 2 night stop over, I'm glad we get your vote and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really an awesome find; staff very nice; bedding extremely comfortable; all renovated and spotless with daily wine reception all for fabulous price. The location is perfect to fishermans wharf as well as muni bus just across street. This is a smaller boutique style hotel and for the price, very superb. Highly recommended for location, price and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi em c - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Glad you thought us to be an awesome find. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Tuscan Inn. Our room was small but offered everything that we needed. The king size bed was ultra comfortable and the shower had very good pressure. We had an outside room (#419) and we found it quiet although we did run the airconditioner while we slept. We partook in the evening wine serving between 5 & 6 two of the evenings which was a very nice touch as we slowed down from our day & geared up for dinner. We also left with a take-out coffee from the lobby every morning which is another nice touch. It is within walking distance to most of the sights if you can walk up hills; if not, the Cable Car turn-around is within a few blocks & the Trolley is too. We had breakfast twice at Hollywood Cafe & once at Pat's Cafe; both within a few blocks & highly rated by TripAdvisor which we found to be very accurate. I would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn if you're not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi RedRose55 - Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the 5 Star review. Your very kind words are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you at wine hour again when your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fabulous location!! We had a full itinerary and were able to walk to every appointment!! Our room was very comfortable, with great views of the Wharf and beautiful decor. The staff was wonderful, helpful, and very accommodating. To our surprise there was also a complimentary happy hour in the beautiful lobby. The onsite restaurant was not only convenient, but excellent!! This is not your average Best Western, This is an experience of Tuscany in San Francisco!! I

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi WorldCitizen713 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your fantabulous experience at the Tuscan; we're definitely not your average Best Western! We look forward to your next visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ideally placed within walking distance from Fisherman's wharf. Comfy and quiet. There were road works outside but a request for a quieter room was dealt with speedily. Decent Italian restaurant in hotel, where breakfast can be taken. Get vouchers from reception for continental breakfast of Juice, toast or muffin, fruit and tea/coffee. You can purchase cooked breakfast. Dog friendly. Parking was expensive but secure and it was valet parking - a phone call 5 mins before you want your car and it was there waiting for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi OrioleMcFlurry - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.