We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, price and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, price and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The best of this hotel is the location. Just 2 blocks from Pier39 and Fisherman Wharf in the hearth of the touristic zone of San Francisco. Across the street the Bus Stop (I recommend you to get the City Pass, that allow you to use the MUNI BUS System without charge). For your conveniencie is just steps from Trader Joe's, Safeway Supermarket, Ross and Walgreen's.

The neighborhood is safe, full of tourists.

Care from the staff is appropiate, italian restaurant OK, and from 5 to 6pm free wine and pizza in the lobby. What else can you ask for?

The room was ok, but the beds in the firm side, in was a nice experiencie overall in the fine city of San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Jaime G - Thank you for staing with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your kind words; glad you had a fine experience at the Tuscan and enjoyed your time in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,106
    932
    230
    64
    26
See reviews for
590
1016
56
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is a short walk to everything! A few minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. A few minutes to the Alcatraz cruises. A few minutes to the cable car. This is in an excellent Fisherman's Wharf location!

A lot of people we spoke to before we went to San Francisco said that Union Square was the place to be and we should just head to Fisherman's Wharf for a day trip. I'm glad we didn't listen! The morning we decided to check out Union Square we jumped straight on a cable car and were on our way. Coming in the opposite direction were cable cars jam-packed full of people and once we got to Union Square we saw a massive line of people waiting to head to Fisherman's Wharf. No thanks!

As for the room themselves they are quite small but the two of us managed comfortably. Our room was on the first floor and looked directly on to a nice little courtyard. I'm not 100% on all the room types available but our room only just managed to squeeze in one queen bed so I'm not sure how a family with small children would go staying here but for couples it's great.

The lobby area was beautiful and was a nice place to sit and relax while we waited for our departing shuttle. There was a hosted wine reception each evening also which we didn't have time to attend as there was too much to see and do in our short stay.

Great value and a great location. Would likely stay here again if I even came back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi TimNCass - Glad you decided to forego Union Square and give the Wharf a try. We love it here, plenty to see and do, full of life and energy! Thanks for the kind words, glad you enjoyed the hotel. And yes, we do offer a nice selection of room classifications to accommodate all travelers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived on 1 May and were warmly welcomed by Tom, Jose and Mia on reception the managers wine tasting also went down well. This is our 4th visit to San Francisco previously stayed at the SHereton, the Handlery and the Carlton...the Tuscan is by far the best we have stayed in in this city for location, facilities, warmth of re eption and value for money, will definately recommend to friends and family.....we are just sorry we have to leave here tomorrow :o( Well done Tuscan and keep up the good work :o)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, our room was facing the road and was very noisy from about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi Helene - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Thank you as well for all of the kind words about the hotel, Tom, Mia and Jose. I do apologize that the noise from the city below your window disturbed your quiet enjoyment of the hotel. I'm glad that you were able to have a fabulous experience in San Francisco and that our team served you well during your stay. We are anxious to have the luxury of serving you again when your travels return you to the Fisherman’s Wharf area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good location, great staff. Very attentive to guests in a busy tourist area. Ready access to public transportation, shopping nearby. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable. From the time of our arrival to departure we were pleasantly surprised by a small town feel to a hotel in a cosmopolitan city. We used the concierge, Hugo , who booked us a very last minute tour to the Muir Forrest. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere at the hotel's nightly wine social. It was a pleasant break in the day's activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Sandman030 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, much appreciated. Glad to hear Hugo and the rest of our team served you well! We'll look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels return you to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I think the rooms were great and it was a great location to the wharf. The view out of the room we had was a orange wall so that was not cool but I was not really there anyway. It had all the things I wanted in it and the decor was nice. A bonus is that I wasn't allergic to the soaps provided and that's always a bonus. The staff were very helpful and nice as well. I will be returning here.

Room Tip: If you care about a view, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi daniz640 - Thanks for the kind words, we're glad you love the Tuscan and happy to hear that you'll be returning. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here back in 2008 and decided to try it again while on a three day visit. We arrived early at about noon on a Monday and were allowed to check in as our room was available. We requested a high floor which we got(4th floor I think) and it had a view of the Coit Tower and downtown area. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with questions we had. The room has had a few upgrades since our last stay which included newer flat screen TV's, a very comfortable bed and the bathroom looked like it had been renovated.The cleaning staff should be complemented as the room was spotless during our stay. We did have to leave the air conditioning on when we went out because the room was very warm when we returned if it was not on. The room itself was a little smaller than most hotel rooms but for two people it was no problem. This is not a five star hotel but it try's to be.If your looking for a place that has affordable rates, great staff, a very comfortable bed, is very clean and the location is ideal to get to everything in San Francisco, than this place fits the bill. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi albertafamily - Thanks for coming back to stay with us again, glad you noticed all of the improvements we've made since your last visit in 2008. It's true, we are not a 5 Star hotel, but, we are trying very hard every single day to provide 5 Star service, comfort, cleanliness, location, sleep quality and value. We appreciate all of your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. We hope to see you again before the passing of another 5 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice quiet hotel in the heart of the tourist area! Rooms were clean and modern (they don't remind you of your Mother's house at all!) Front desk staff was helpful and really friendly. You can even open a window if you like (great for me as I dislike fixed windows.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Lynn L - Thank you for the 5 Star review and the very kind words! I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.