We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot on the piers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #17 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spot on the piers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a nice place. The pillows are excellent. Nice linens and soothing color scheme in the room. Wine hour was nice too. Great walking distance to Pier 39, the trolley turnaround to go downtown.
We got street parking on the first night, then used the garage on the opposite corner for only $30, which is cheaper than the valet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Susan - Thanks for the nice comments. Glad you liked what we've done with the place. All new beds too! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,091
    921
    228
    63
    26
See reviews for
576
1006
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We checked in after midnight - exhausted from trans atlantic, then trans continental flights. The room we were given had a strong odor of cig. smoke but the front desk quickly switched us to an equally comf. and smoke free room. The hotel was modest, clean, quiet, and served delicious coffee each morning. We enjoyed the fireplace and found the concierge very candid and helpful in finding some great mid week jazz venues in SF. You cannot beta this venue for walking distance to all of Fish. Wharf, North Beach, Chinatown, Downtown Makt. and Polk St. (we like to walk) This was our first experience with Best Western, and now we are hooked to the chain!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi 5hybrids - Thanks for staying with us, glad to see that everything ended up working out ok and you're now a fan! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located very well. You are within 10 minutes at Pier 39, Giraldy's square, street car stop, cable car stop and there is a trader's joe at the back of the hotel. The rooms are not big, but also not small. The bed was comfortable. The shower was good (temperature and pressure), but I don't like the shower in the bath set-up. the wifi was free and of very good speeds. A very nice touch was the completary wine reception every evening between 5 and 6. They do not have self parking, but they offer valet parking, which is expensive (but not more expensive than anyweher else)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Robza - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A neat inn in a great location. We were deciding between staying at Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square and settled on this. Walking distance to attractions and readonably quiet part of town. As with all of SF, a bus stop isn't far at all and parking is rarely included.

We asked for a room change as the first was letting in a lot of light. This was met with no fuss.

Just note rooms are on the small side and gym is not included though they will sell a pass for $12 to the 24hr Fitness next door. Close to a Safeway and Walgreens too. WiFi is fast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi dirrill - Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. Glad a room change went smoothly and you were able to have a great SF experience! Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First of all...

I had a room booked for one night at the Best Western Plus Americana in San Francisco. Then I read too many reviews about the Americana having bed bugs. So I decided to switch to the Tuscan. I Googled "Best Western Tuscan Inn" on my iphone and the first thing that pulled up was a map and an option to call/get directions/website (if you have an iphone you know what I'm talking about). I clicked "call" and got to a woman who specifically said "Best Western INTERNAL RESERVATIONS" when she answered the phone. I told her I wanted to change my reservation from the Americana to the Tuscan. She said she'd be happy to help and asked for some basic information, reservation dates, etc. Then she asked me if it would be ok to charge my credit card to hold the specific room I wanted. I said yes, ONLY if she was 100% sure I would not be charged for the room at the Americana, since I was calling after 6pm local time which was the cut off for changes and cancellations. She assured me I would not so I said ok. Then she gave me a confirmation number for the booking at the Tuscan and I asked for a confirmation number for the cancellation at the Americana. This is where things went downhill.

She said to cancel at the Americana I had to call them directly and cancel. I questioned her as to why I had to do that? I asked if she was their internal reservation employee couldn't she handle those changes without me having to call the hotel directly? Then she admitted she worked for a separate company who does discounted bookings for Best Western. So I told her to cancel the charge to my card that I would rather deal with Best Western directly myself. She told me she couldn't cancel the charge because The Tuscan also had a no changes/cancellation policy after 6pm and it was too late, I'd be charged one night for the room whether I stayed there or not.

I asked to speak to a supervisor who barely spoke English and all she wanted to do was insult me and tell me it was my fault for not calling the right number. I explained to her that online this was the number that pulled up for reservations at The Tuscan and that when they answered the phone they said Best Western Internal Reservations so why would I think I was talking to anyone other than Best Western. She was extremely rude and unhelpful and should be fired.

I wound up hanging up on her because she clearly was more interested in insulting me than doing something to fix it. I went to bestwestern.com and got the reservations number from there. A very nice girl helped me and I got my reservation canceled at the Americana with no fee and the room got booked at the Tuscan. But here's the thing...the scam company takes the reservations and faxes them to the hotels. When I called Best Western directly 15 minutes later, they still didn't have my reservation at The Tuscan in the computer because the room had not been booked yet. All that supervisor had to do was stop the fax. Be very careful who you call and make sure to ask, even if they say they are Best Western on the phone they may not be!

Anyway...when I arrived at the hotel itself the Asian girl working the desk was rude as could be. My room was supposed to have one king bed and a sleeper sofa but I asked if I could have a room with two queens or doubles instead. Without even letting me finish my request she sighed and cut me off to say they were completely sold out of rooms and mine was the only one I could have.

I got to the room and it was incredibly hot inside. I had to run the AC for a good hour before it was tolerable. And the room had no sleeper sofa! I called the front desk and they said I booked though Expedia (which I did not...the reservation confirmation I got from the scam artist company was called rooms-something NOT Expedia) and did not book a room with a sleeper sofa. So I had to call the scam company and they said they did book me a room with the sofa and it was the hotels fault. I was on the phone until 1am trying to get it straightened out. The hotels offer was to give me another room with just one king bed, so I'd have two rooms (funny how they suddenly had another room when they were supposedly sold out) but that wasn't an option since I was traveling alone with four kids. I couldn't just put my kids in another room on the other side of the hotel and surely they knew that. In the end they wound up giving me $50 (which has still not been credited to my card) and I slept on a cold mildewy floor on a blanket. Not at all what I expected for over $200, plus a pet fee, plus a ridiculous charge for parking. Not to mention, the sheets were dirty, the garbage in the bathroom had used tissues in it, and it was just dirty overall. And every single person who works there has their hand out for tips. I get that you are supposed to tip them, but these people weren't leaving you alone until they got the size tip they wanted. Horrible experience that I would not repeat ever again if they paid me to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi SillySallySews - Never like to hear that any of our guests receive less than courteous, friendly and professional treatment. There's never an excuse for poor service. I've sent a private note to you and will look forward to speaking with you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My friend and I just spent a weekend at your hotel. We found everyone there very nice and helpful. Special thanks to Thomas Macgregor at the front desk for extra attention with anything we needed. He did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. Your happy hour was a great way to meet with others from all over the world. We found the hotel clean nicely decorated and a very very cozy feeling to it. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi margie d - Thanks for the 5 Star review and the very nice comments about the hotel, Thomas and the rest of the team. We're so pleased you had a fabulous time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in March 2013. Excellent location for all tourist attractions. Hotel room was very comfortable and staff very helpful. Enjoyed the free wine as it was a very socialable end to the day. Also, got an unexpected complimentary continental breakfast, which was good as it saved us time looking around in the mornings for somewhere to eat and as we were only there for 2 days this was a positive addition. Would certainly recommend hotel to anyone visiting SF.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi zackboy - Thanks for the 5 Star review and the great comments, most appreciated. Glad we exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.