We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location and Reasonably Priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Convenient Location and Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had fabulous stay here last month. I highly recomend it to anyone wanting to stay at a great location. The staff was super friendly and very eager to help and the room was clean and comfortable. The menu at their Italian restaurant was authetic and the food was delicious. I hope to return to this great spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for staying with us last month and thank you for the 5 STAR Review, much appreciated! Glad you had a fabulous experience and we're very happy to see all of your kind words, thanks for sharing your comments. Happy Holidays and we look forward to your next trip to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    1,024
    249
    69
    27
See reviews for
684
1,147
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff was friendly and the location was excellent. San Francisco is not that big of a city so it was very convenient to most places in town. It was nice to have the valet service and not worry about parking although it was a bit pricey. We were upgraded to a suite since my husband is a platinum member, very nice touch. There is a grocery and drug store a block or so away and public transportation is available close by. We did enjoy the free wine in the lobby one evening, it seems to be very popular.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean with a refrigerator/mini bar. Not much room for personal items in the refrigerator though, we took out the bottle of wine to make room for our stuff.

We would definately stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for staying with us for 2 days recently and thanks for your kind words about the hotel and staff! We're glad your stay was pleasant and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busselton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Tuscan Inn mainly because of it's location to Fisherman's Wharf.
We found the hotel to be excellent. with check-in staff friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable and included everything we required
Restaurants and transport are easily accessible from this site adding to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us for 2 nights and for taking the time to share your feedback. Glad to see that you found the hotel to be excellent and that our staff served you well! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here in November 2012 and were very pleased with the hotel and the location. Fishermans wharf is tacky and unattractive generally, but this hotel is far enough away that it's not a problem. The room we had faced the courtyard, so had no view, but was really quiet and this would be our preference again, as there is not likely to much of a view even from top floor. The room was very clean, including the carpet (always a real turnoff for me - why don't more hotels have wooden floors if they are not prepared to re-carpet more frequently?). Comfy bed, fridge, coffee maker. Nice, if compact, bathroom, with bath. Each evening the wine reception runs from 5-6 with good Californian wines and a snack (free). Sitting by the fire and chatting to other residents after a day out is a pleasant experience. Tea and coffee available each morning too, though not necessary as good coffee can be made in the room. All staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to various means of transportation. Both Cable car lines are nearby of course, but also the wonderful F line streetcar, which runs along Embarcadero and down Market street, all the way to Castro. It's $2 or 75 cents for seniors. Buses also available to get downtown or around town. Walking is our preferred way of getting round cities, but in SF you will find the hills a bit challenging, and its useful to have the public transport option. nearby the hotel are a couple of supermarkets to buy food. The hotel has an attached (Italian) restaurant. Again, not our usual option to eat in hotels, but this seemed busy with non-residents and had an interesting menu, so we gave it a try, and we're not disappointed. We had some of the best food of our US trip. if you arrive from the airport by BART, you can get off at Embarcadero station and get the F streetcar to within a couple of hundred yards of the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review. Your thoughtful and well worded comments are most appreciated and we thank you for staying with us for 6 nights! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again when your travels return you to the fisherman's wharf area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tuscan Inn was great. The room (321) was extremely quiet, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We spent 8 days vacationing in San Francisco November 2012 and this hotel was close to public transportation, wharf restaurants, Safeway, Cleaners, Piers 41-43, and had great food in the downstairs restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators and vending/ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review, we appreciate your kind words and I'm glad to see that you had a great week in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Tuscan several times due to its location to a doctor I see from time to time.

Pros:
Great location to Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, Ghiradelli Square, etc.
Very nice and helpful staff
Nice happy hour with free wine from 5-6 each evening
Quiet
Clean

Cons:
No gym. They offer a $12 pass to the 24 Hour Fitness across the street, but I was NOT impressed with that gym. Old equipment and WAY overpriced!

Overall, I would recommend the Tuscan Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest. We hope your visits to the doctor are filled with good news and continued health! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been guests at the Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf for over 20 years. We usually make it there twice a year. It is clean, the service is excellent, the resturant is very handy and serves delicious food. Marlow, is the best waiter we have ever had, he works the dinner shift.
The Tuscan is very close to the wharf, cable cars, Pier 39, The Market Place, and many other places of interest. We have stayed a few other places in SF, but always go back to the Tuscan. From the Tuscan we can drive very easily over the Golden Gate Bridge, out to the Cliff House, Marine Headlands and Point Bona Vista. We drive over from Reno, NV. that way we can go to many places of intrest. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in SF. Also, the wine hour is very interesting, to, enjoy wine and good company. Also, to watch the people, you meet all kinds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review and your wonderful comments. We think Marlow is fabulous too and we're glad to have been your hotel of choice for over 20 years, that's a very humbling compliment. We will continue to do our very best to serve you well for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.