We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #19 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
busselton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Tuscan Inn mainly because of it's location to Fisherman's Wharf.
We found the hotel to be excellent. with check-in staff friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable and included everything we required
Restaurants and transport are easily accessible from this site adding to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us for 2 nights and for taking the time to share your feedback. Glad to see that you found the hotel to be excellent and that our staff served you well! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    985
    856
    216
    63
    25
See reviews for
507
921
49
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here in November 2012 and were very pleased with the hotel and the location. Fishermans wharf is tacky and unattractive generally, but this hotel is far enough away that it's not a problem. The room we had faced the courtyard, so had no view, but was really quiet and this would be our preference again, as there is not likely to much of a view even from top floor. The room was very clean, including the carpet (always a real turnoff for me - why don't more hotels have wooden floors if they are not prepared to re-carpet more frequently?). Comfy bed, fridge, coffee maker. Nice, if compact, bathroom, with bath. Each evening the wine reception runs from 5-6 with good Californian wines and a snack (free). Sitting by the fire and chatting to other residents after a day out is a pleasant experience. Tea and coffee available each morning too, though not necessary as good coffee can be made in the room. All staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to various means of transportation. Both Cable car lines are nearby of course, but also the wonderful F line streetcar, which runs along Embarcadero and down Market street, all the way to Castro. It's $2 or 75 cents for seniors. Buses also available to get downtown or around town. Walking is our preferred way of getting round cities, but in SF you will find the hills a bit challenging, and its useful to have the public transport option. nearby the hotel are a couple of supermarkets to buy food. The hotel has an attached (Italian) restaurant. Again, not our usual option to eat in hotels, but this seemed busy with non-residents and had an interesting menu, so we gave it a try, and we're not disappointed. We had some of the best food of our US trip. if you arrive from the airport by BART, you can get off at Embarcadero station and get the F streetcar to within a couple of hundred yards of the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review. Your thoughtful and well worded comments are most appreciated and we thank you for staying with us for 6 nights! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again when your travels return you to the fisherman's wharf area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tuscan Inn was great. The room (321) was extremely quiet, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We spent 8 days vacationing in San Francisco November 2012 and this hotel was close to public transportation, wharf restaurants, Safeway, Cleaners, Piers 41-43, and had great food in the downstairs restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators and vending/ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review, we appreciate your kind words and I'm glad to see that you had a great week in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Tuscan several times due to its location to a doctor I see from time to time.

Pros:
Great location to Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, Ghiradelli Square, etc.
Very nice and helpful staff
Nice happy hour with free wine from 5-6 each evening
Quiet
Clean

Cons:
No gym. They offer a $12 pass to the 24 Hour Fitness across the street, but I was NOT impressed with that gym. Old equipment and WAY overpriced!

Overall, I would recommend the Tuscan Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest. We hope your visits to the doctor are filled with good news and continued health! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been guests at the Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf for over 20 years. We usually make it there twice a year. It is clean, the service is excellent, the resturant is very handy and serves delicious food. Marlow, is the best waiter we have ever had, he works the dinner shift.
The Tuscan is very close to the wharf, cable cars, Pier 39, The Market Place, and many other places of interest. We have stayed a few other places in SF, but always go back to the Tuscan. From the Tuscan we can drive very easily over the Golden Gate Bridge, out to the Cliff House, Marine Headlands and Point Bona Vista. We drive over from Reno, NV. that way we can go to many places of intrest. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in SF. Also, the wine hour is very interesting, to, enjoy wine and good company. Also, to watch the people, you meet all kinds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review and your wonderful comments. We think Marlow is fabulous too and we're glad to have been your hotel of choice for over 20 years, that's a very humbling compliment. We will continue to do our very best to serve you well for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We reserved this hotel as a place to stay while we came to SFO to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel is within walking distance of everything and in a good neighborhood.
We stayed in Room 201 which was a nice, but small room. The staff was VERY friendly and the hotel was very clean.

I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: I did not stay in a room overlooking the street, But would probably stay away from that side, just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star Review. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad that you chose to stay at the Tuscan hotel while in SF celebrating your 20th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed six nights. Great location and wonderful company during evening wine. Staff was great and very accommodating. Hotel near cable cars, trolleys and bus lines. Easy walk to anything we needed and to Pier 39 and other attractions.

Room Tip: Street rooms can be noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights and thank you for the 5 Star review, your comments are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western
Best Western Tuscan Inn
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.