We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
winter springs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! Even though we were on the street side of the hotel the room was lovely, comfortable,king bed with nice fresh linens and everything was very clean! We had brought a sound machine with us and the street noise early in the morning was hardly noticeable! We especially liked the Happy Hour In the lobby from 5-6 pm with a lovely assortment of wines and appetizers, in front of the fireplace! The location was perfect for us....a few short blocks to Fisherman's Wharf and the Hop On/Hop Off bus tour. Through another reviewer we found The Hollywood cafe for breakfast or lunch just up the street one block. We would definitely stay here again, no hesitation! All the staff was wonderful and helpful with directions, There are plenty of hotels that were priced much higher, but it isn't necessary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star Review. I'm glad you had a great experience and would stay with us again. Thank you for your kind words about our wonderful staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    1,004
    247
    67
    27
See reviews for
672
1,125
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came over to the hotel on the Baylink Ferry from Vallejo to Fisherman's Wharf. This is the best way to get to Fisherman's Wharf. No traffic to deal with, no stress. The hotel is a mear 2 blocks away from Pier 41 and Pier 39.

Our hotel room was small but for an overnight stay it was adequate and not uncommon for San Francisco. The decor of the room was excellent. The room was very clean. The front desk staff were excellent too.

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure to ask. We didn't care as we were just doing an over-night to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We're very pleased to receive your 5 Star Review and we thank you for staying with us. Thank you for your kind words. The ferry is a fabulous way to get to fisherman's wharf, great tip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was clean, well located ( if Fishermans Wharf is where you want to stay) and the staff were pleasant and accomediating. As most reviews stated, the rooms are small but clean. When booking, request the courtyard view rooms, you wont be disappointed! When we come back to San Francisco we will most likely stay here again. They did try to get us to use their parking garage for $44.00 per night, but there is a public parking garage 15 feet away (literily the next driveway) that charges $35.00 for 24 hours. Another nice plus for this hotel is the 5pm wine reception. It is a 1 hour long happy hour and is completely free of charge. They even serve appetizers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments about your visit. We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed Happy Hour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently spent 7 nights. Great location, only 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. The location was very accessible to the trolley, muni and cable streetcars making it easy to get around. The staff were very helpful and the Gen. Mgr. Jan went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable after our trip was delayed due to Hurricane Sandy. King sized bed was extremely comfortable, and the rooms were small (as the norm in SF), but were clean. Lobby was very inviting. The wine hour from 5-6 was a pleasant surprise. a nice way to mix and meet with others staying in the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel and visit it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 7 nights and for the 5 Star Review. Glad to see everything worked out well and you had a great time in SF. Jan is amazing and we're happy that she was able to contribute is such a large way to your experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to the west coast. We enjoyed this hotel because of the location and the free coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon. However the biggest downfall, for us, was the shutters in the bedroom in front on the window - whatever happened to curtains?! Every morning we would be awake at the crack of dawn because the sunlight would shine through. It was also quite noisy in the street in the morning which would wake us up about 4/5am with the rubbish being collected, motorcycles etc….

If you’re a deep sleeper then you won’t find any con’s with the hotel, but for us 4 nights was enough as we was desperate for a decent night’s sleep.

Having said all that, the hotel was still good and it was in a great location, the staff was friendly, especially the concierge that booked our Alcatraz and City Tour and the hotel had a nice atmosphere. I would recommend the hotel and possibly stay there again, just take an eye mask and eye plugs with you….!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 4 nights and for sharing your feedback about your experience at the hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon. (with eye mask and ear plugs)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for four nights. Excellent location - 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. It has a grocery store and Walgreens right across the street, so you can pick up supplies. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were on the 4th floor and had a view of Coit Tower. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. It was also nice to have a refrigerator. Very reasonably priced considering the other hotels in the area. They also gave you the option of receiving a $5 voucher if you didn't want your room cleaned, which was an excellent idea. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend getting rooms on the higher floors to have a view and also to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 4 nights and thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate you kind words and comments. I'm glad you thought the hotel was wonderful and we hope to have the honor of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After reading many reviews and suggestions on Trip Advisor on where to stay in San Francisco, we decided on the Best Western Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf. Many of the reviews said not to stay at Fisherman's Wharf because it is too "touristy" and that Union Square is much nicer. We loved this hotel and the Fisherman's Wharf area. We stayed here four nights, and we were maybe two blocks back from the main street of Fisherman's Wharf, but it was very quiet at night. When we would go through Union Square on the streetcar or whatever, I thought it was basically one big shopping area and was glad we didn't stay there.

This Best Western didn't offer breakfast like a lot of the other ones do so we ate at the Hollywood Cafe or IHOP in the mornings.

I'm glad we chose the Best Western and would stay here again if we come back to San Francisco. We had no problems getting around, and everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 4 nights and for the 5 Star Review. I'm glad that you decided to give us a try and that we didn't let you down! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, a Kimpton Hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman’s Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.