We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stratford to your Saves list
Hotel Stratford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Downtown Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in Club Queen room on 7th floor facing Powell St. It was a good size room, and surprisingly very little street noise from Powell St. The hotel is a great price for its location to downtown shopping and sightseeing for San Fran. And we had great service from the hotel reception sorting out transport to the airport at the last minute!

Room Tip: Fantastic location for travellers on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Morrison,

Thank you for visiting San Francisco from New Zealand and staying with Hotel Stratford. Your positive feedback is one of the main sources of our success, so thank you for sharing it through TripAdvisor. I am glad to know that the products and services we offered were valued. I will be sure to share your note with everyone on Hotel Stratford team and your kind words made our day. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    433
    201
    50
    21
See reviews for
100
370
78
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

this hotel was on the list of "recommended" by a trade show I attended. There is no air conditioning. The room was smaller than a college dormitory for one - and you couldn't stand in front of the sink because of abutments in the walls. And the window opened to a solid brick wall. Only one plug in the room worked, so I couldn't charge my phone and laptop at the same time. In all of my years of business travel, I have never been in as low-class hotel as this.

Room Tip: unless you are back-packing - this hotel is one step above a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We value each of our guest suggestion and we will do our best to see where we can improve our service. I am sorry that your visit was not enjoyable and I wish you had contacted me while you were here as I am sure I could have found accommodations that would have exceeded your expectations.

I would like to ask you for the opportunity to personally ensure a perfect stay during your next trip to San Francisco and Hotel Stratford. Please feel free to contact me when you plan your next trip and I will personally handle your reservation; I will see to it personally that your stay will be both pleasurable and memorable.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place has gone beyond my expectations. First of all, location can't be better! Next to Union Square, with a cable car stop literally around the corner and plenty of shops and restaurants around.

The rooms are really good too, not necessarily big and also quite clean. My room was on the 7th floor and I was surprised to see that rooms could be cleaned at everytime of the day and not just in the mornings like other places. The only complaint that could fit is the temperature in the room, sometimes was too warm! And there was no way to control that.

Breakfast is just as good as it gets: the essentials to start the day, orange juice, cereals, coffee, toasts and fruits. It does the work for me and for anyone not going after an extra-large included breakfast.

Last but not least, staff was great and friendly. Everytime I needed information was a success and info was accurate.

To sum up, I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to save money and stay in San Francisco's main spot. I would definitely visit The Stratford again!!

Room Tip: Lower floors might be fairly noisy by night. Try to arrange top-floor rooms (7th floor was good!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Our staff is delighted to see a review like this. It illustrates that our efforts have been successful. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Once again thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

•"European" sized room (tiny, sink in the bedroom, not the bathroom"
•Great location if you're in town for tourism (next to Union Square, good access to all modes of public transit, lots of cabs)
•Continental breakfast is simple but sufficient to get you going for the day- save your money for lunch and dinner!
•Front desk made the visit. Friendly- advice on beer sites during SF Beer Week, even gave me personal post card stamps.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It pleases all of us to see that guests enjoyed their visit. We are thrilled you were happy with the hotel and especially our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As an older lady on her own I was very pleased to have found this hotel. It was a friendly clean hotel with all the amenities I needed. Very reasonably priced and included a nice breakfast. Central location too. Will definitely return when I go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a clean, good value, no frills hotel. We never use spas, fitness rooms, etc. so we look for hotels that are NOT spending their money on stuff we don't use. This hotel is alot like family run pensions in France. The location is great- easy access to BART, public transportation, Union square, Wed morning farmers' market. From SFO the Bart is a $8.25 ride and 15 minute walk to this hotel. The Powell Street cable car stops right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise ask fro a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! It really helps us get a glimpse of the guests experience that we may not receive otherwise. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On arrival with a clear booking for two adults and a 16 year old, we were told there would only be two twin beds! When we asked where our son was expected to sleep they said we'd be surprised at the arrangements guests make! After some arguments, we were directed to a tiny room which they said they would put a fold away bed in. It was so small it was questionable whether the extra bed would have fitted. I returned downstairs to complain again, and after more wrangling and refusing to pay extra, was given a great suite with views over the bustling street below.

Whilst this eventually worked out very well for us (and this room is modern, well finished and spacious) the rest of the hotel looks cramped with lots of small rooms. The dining area at breakfast time was often so crowded that there wasn't enough chairs for everyone to sit down. Breakfast was adequate but of limited choice. There is an annoying bleep from the lift that can be heard on and off all night.

Location is very good - right at the centre of shopping and eating areas and with the tram right outside.

Overall, this hotel could be a bit disappointing if you were expecting reasonable sized rooms and a relaxed breakfast experience but probably remains an option if you are looking for something outside the higher priced bracket in a good location.

Room Tip: Check the size and bed number you are getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We apologize for the booking confusion you may have endured. Our building is a historic building and the rooms are not very large. Once again, thanks for staying with us and we hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 242 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities.Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with over 80 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.