We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Herbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Herbert Hotel
161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adorable Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

This is an adorable little hotel (I think it has only 32 rooms) located in the heart of Union Square. If you love shopping and don't mind the noise, then the Herbert Hotel is a good choice. I mean, you are right across the street from H&M, French Connection, Macy's, Urban Outfitters, etc...

In addition to location, the rooms were just too cute! Decorated with IKEA furniture, it was like a flashback to my college dormitory days. Though not too much closet space and the bathroom was smaller than the one at home, the room was still comfortable and not that cramped as some people warned me about.

We stayed here one day and the rate was just $85! That's a great deal considering where we were located and that we were only there for one night.

Finally, I know some past guests had pretty strong words about the service here, but I thought the service desk was very friendly and helpful. They were able to provide us with parking info and make arrangements for taxi service. Nothing extraordinary, but far from lacking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Offsite parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    140
    96
    31
    30
See reviews for
43
151
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacto, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Had the opportunity to stay at the Herbert Hotel.... should of passed it up!! Room was o.k.. First one was occupied by someone else and the second room had a broken window. Did not feel very secure when we could not lock it!! Manager said they didn't open all the way ( had a jumper!!) Little did he know they DID open all the way... OOPS!! Room was located on the sixth floor. Lots of noise, but we managed with that. Could not check the view out through the dirty window. Broken shower faucet and not alot of amenities. Elevator could of been cleaned up a bit. Staff also lacked customer service. Too much time talking on the phone and not helping the customers such as us.... wasting our time!!!
Conveniently located, but still lots of other places around that looked better. Found the hotel by calling ahead and knowing it was joined to Betty Boops. Liked the food at Betty Boops(breakfast). Service lacked. People waiting in line for tables because service was slow. Would not recommend The Herbert Hotel. Look around in the area first !!

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the area first
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

I would like to say first of all, that I was a bit confused to actually find the hotel to begin with. I found the sign on the wall for The Herbert Hotel, but that was it. You actually have to go through the entrance of the diner below.

The hotel was clean, and in great condition, and the location was more than perfect, only being a very short walk to Market Street and the Subway.

The only concern that I had with this hotel was that there was NO air conditioning in the room, and it got fairly hot inside. You couldn't have the window open at night because of the noise from the street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — NO air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — watch out for Betty Boop in the corridors.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

Very hard to find because the sign out front was removed. We arrived in Union Square at 5:00pm and would advise strongly against arriving in San Francisco at 5:00pm. Dowtown is confusing for non locals, one way streets, many no turn signs so that you cannot circle the block. No parking on the street to unload suitcases...you just stop in the middle of the road. You have to pay for parking which is the norm at downton hotels. I thought I was being ripped off until I found out the Herbert parking was $24 a night and most every other garage charged $40 or more. San Francisco is very noisy downtown, very busy, and sadly covered with street people begging for change. After a couple of days, we learned how to use the public transportation and grew to really like the Herpert. It was small, clean, convieniently located. No air conditioning but we really did not need it. No drawers for storage but it had a large closet. No ice machine but the diner downstairs provided ice. I would stay here again for the price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no parking, very difficult are to drive a car.
  • Tips/Secrets — Talk to someone about local traffic customs and laws.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

After reading some reviews, i was a bit aprehensive of what this hotel was going to be like, read about dirty rooms and bugs etc, but our room, although extremely small, was clean and bright. i did request a room at the back (advice from previous reviews) and a fan in the room, we got a room on the side which was still quite noisy, but after so much walking in the day we didn't find it a great problem. Found the hotel entrance hard to find initially until we realised the lobby is actually situated in the betty boop diner.
I stayed here with my 16year old daughter and we really enjoyed it, the location is great for cable cars, shopping and generally getting around san fran, there is a Walgreens next door also. Would definatly stay here again when we go back to san fran.

  • Liked — The location and the Betty Boop Diner
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Request quiet room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

The Herbert as everyone says is hard to find. Once you do, you realize you are in a great location, close to great shopping and action right outside your door. For that reason you also need to bring earplugs to sleep as it is very noisy all night long. My wife and I did not sleep well at all during our stay there. The price was great for a downtown location, but the place was not very clean. The rugs in the rooms we had needed to be washed as our socks were black in no time. No ice machine or air conditioning can be a bit of a downfall if you need either. Cute rooms and decor and a great location could not cover up the other shortfalls the hotel had.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Stayed at The Herbert for 4 nights in the beginning of June. It wasn't the easiest hotel to find, as other have written before me, because of the Betty Boop Diner on the ground floor. But when we found our way to The Herbert, the location couldn't have been better. Just in the middle of everything.

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful - our plane going home wasn't before late evening and they stored our luggage free of charge. We did miss a refrigator or an ice machine for our water. And I really missed airconditioning - it was quite hot and not so much breeze through the windows that I hoped for. The hotel was fairly clean - although the bathroom was a little worn out.

But all in all we did have a great stay in San Francisco - and because of the location I would probably consider the same hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.