We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy,clean hotel. Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Herbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Herbert Hotel
161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy,clean hotel. Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The location of the hotel couldnt be better! The hotel is in the centre of SF, in the middle of everything! Shops, restaurants, trasportation system. Just 5 mins walk from the BART. So easy access from & to the airport. Also 5 mins away from the start of the Mason-Powell cable car line that takes you all the way to Fishermans Wharf. If you dont want to take the Mason-Powell cable car (the lines are really long) there are plenty of buses & cable cars right down the street. We booked a room with a private bathroom. It was really spacious, and clean. The room had also a coffee-maker, coffee and tea provided. The hotel does not provide breakfast but there are plenty of restaurants around, and a super market to buy cereal etc and also has a common room with a microwave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    128
    92
    30
    29
See reviews for
41
147
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Expect bare walls, no hooks or coat hangers, one small toilet with a miniscule sink shared by what seemed like an entire floor, and one single basic shower with masculinely scented soap. it was very centrally located at least. One night the key swipe at the front door didn't work, and it seemed very coincidental that a guest on the inside came and got the front desk representative, which saved us.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert4, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We do have minimalist design and our rooms are not cluttered with items or too much furniture. This is not to be less accommodating but to insure that not only does the room, feel and seem clean but that it is clear that that it has completely been cleaned. For our hallways bath rooms, there is only one on each floor but it does not share with the entire floor. There are 3 to 4 on each floor at the most. We are sorry that you had trouble with your swipe key, we have checked this issue and it seems to have been a unique occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here recently for 4 nights- lovely staff great price and great location- we took the shared bathroom room type to save some cash- perfect for non fussy types- and shared bathrooms extremely clean- we were very happy with everything to do with our stay and knew we could grab breakfast nearby- cant beat the location for ease of access to downtowns finest!

Room Tip: If you want to save a bit of cash- go for the shared bathroom- it is clean and we never waited very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you want to stay close to stores, public transportation/cable car and a lot of restaurants and attractions you should stay here.
A very nice, large and clean bedroom with private bathroom. Nice attendants.
The hotel doesn't have wi-fi connection or breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyNagel, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Herbert Hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit! If you decide to stay with us in the future, please feel free to use our free wifi provided for all guests, and also our discounted rates for breakfast at the Bartlett Hall Cafe located right around the corner from The Herbert Hotel. We hope to see you next time you visit San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Too much noise at night because there's a nightclub nearby and the walls are thin and the windows don't isolate well, so we couldn't sleep until 2 a.m.
Poor service of the staff, no any solution neither excuses for the inconveniences.
As positive points it was clean and tinny.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert4, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are so sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. There is a lot of noise near us as we are in the busiest part of the city. However, there is not a nightclub near our hotel so I am not sure where that was coming from. All of our windows are double for sound issues and the ones on the front of the building, where the most noise is, are quadruple windows to make sure you can sleep well. As we are in a prime location, a lot of times a room change is not possible, if we do have one available we will always accommodate. Thank you for the comment about cleanliness, this is incredibly important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stinson Beach, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was my birthday last week & I decided to take my wife out for dinner & have a night away from the kids in San Francisco ( we live in Marin) .

The Herbert Hotel is slap bang in the middle of town right off Union Square so easy walking to great restaurants & clubs.

The service was excellent very friendly & helpful & our room was very clean with a cool contemporary finish including hardwood floors


Highly recommend this boutique hotel especially when on a bit of a budget -great value!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just recently stayed there for four days and we had a great experience the location is unbeatable it is located almost perfect distance from everything cable cars, shopping, food, union square, even the tour bus stop
The service was excellent during our stay we didn't need much assistance but checking out we had a medical emergency and they were extremely helpful with providing a doctor to go to and helping us sort out our bags.. She was also very conceded and was very considerat when we returned that we were ok and we recieved proper treatment really appreciated that
Finally the value for money wa an important aspect it is a simple hotel with few amenities but you get what you pay for the room is always cleaned impeccably and the lay out of the hotels front desk and rooms are very charming

We really enjoyed our stayed the only complaints would come from the exterior of the hotel as in the noise of the night life and the omnipresent homeless

We would highly reccomened staying at the Herbert especially if your planning on a adventures or nightlife trip - certainly not a chill out hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.