We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spent the night of 10/30/12 - the stay was comfortable, clean, quite, convenient and without exception a pleasant exper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Herbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Herbert Hotel
161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“spent the night of 10/30/12 - the stay was comfortable, clean, quite, convenient and without exception a pleasant exper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

as stated about, my stay was without incident - the room was comfortable, clean, quite, and pleasant. The location was prime and everyone that i had contact with was professional and personable. I would go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    132
    94
    30
    29
See reviews for
42
150
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had a wonderful experience staying in Herbert Hotel. Great price value for the service I got. I stayed on the 6th floor in a room with private bath. Accommodation is pretty standard but I got everything I needed except wi-fi .I was informed that they provide only cable internet. The front desk lady who checked me in helped me with direction and city amenities. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location: Downtown, pretty close to Union Square. We didn't enjoy downtown nearly as much as the Mission, and will stay there next time. For where it is, location is great.

Staff: We had no problems with the staff at all - they were friendly and attentive. The person who checked in in front of us had some reservation issues but we must have only caught the end of it, so no judgement from us.

Room: We had room 718 on the top level, a "junior" suite. Good view, no noise at all. The two beds layout actually worked really well as we both felt unwell the last day or so. Fairly basic layout, but everything was new and comfortable. Floorboards are always a bonus too. Lots of great selections on the TV. Only negative was that we really would have appreciated a mini bar. The bathroom was fine enough - the toiletries were pretty low grade but we had soap from other hotels, and got shampoo/conditioner from Walgreen's.

Miscellaneous: In some ways it is a tarted up hostel, in a "vibe" way. No problem at all, just putting it out there.

Overall - really great value hotel. We paid about $115 + tax for the "top" style room, which is about right. Probably wouldn't be so keen to fork out too much more, but it was great value.

Room Tip: higher level worked well. Probably avoid floor 2 as it has lots of walk through traffic (washing mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in SF last weekend with my boyfriend.We stayed in Herbert hotel for a couple days.The location of the hotel is great because all shopping and dining is with in walking distance. Our room faced Powell street.Room, price was also reasonable. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fairly small rooms, but clean and quiet, considering it is just a few meters from Union Square. It is very conveniently located near the Powell cable car stop as well as the street car stop. Very little extra's provided at this hotel though and there are no wi-fi in the rooms. All in all I thought it was very expensive for what you got, however I think you are paying for the location - which I cannot fault. We were very unimpressed with the reception lady who checked us in, who seemed like she struggled to understand English. She did not give a good image of the hotel at all, and unlike all the other hotels we've stayed at, were extremely unhelpful in offering information or being able to answer simple questions regarding recommended eating places etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Herbert Hotel and must say it is the only Hotel I have ever stayed at where I had to pay first before I had even seen the room, I envisioned the room I had booked and had confirmation on however apparently that room was not available and we were given a room with no bathroom. We spoke to another couple whom were checking in the next day and the same issues were had by them, I expect that the hotel takes your booking but does not reserve a room and then when you get there you get what is available and you have to pay for it upfront. Very incompetent staff and service was less than average.- Never again

Room Tip: Don't pay till you see which room they have appointed as it is quite likely not what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised that so many people seem to have moaned about this hotel. It was offering a no frills but high value service in a great location. I say no frills, but the bed and down duvet were great, the en suite clean, (some rooms don't have this, but we checked),the rooms are left spotless each day. Right in the middle of the city it is always noisy, but it had great double glazing. there was a coffee machine a good chest of drawers and a comfy chair. Also free wifi. There was even an iron and ironing board. If you want 4 or 5 star facilities, then be prepared to pay for them. Go across the road to Tad's for a value breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.