We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Herbert Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Herbert Hotel
161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location: Downtown, pretty close to Union Square. We didn't enjoy downtown nearly as much as the Mission, and will stay there next time. For where it is, location is great.

Staff: We had no problems with the staff at all - they were friendly and attentive. The person who checked in in front of us had some reservation issues but we must have only caught the end of it, so no judgement from us.

Room: We had room 718 on the top level, a "junior" suite. Good view, no noise at all. The two beds layout actually worked really well as we both felt unwell the last day or so. Fairly basic layout, but everything was new and comfortable. Floorboards are always a bonus too. Lots of great selections on the TV. Only negative was that we really would have appreciated a mini bar. The bathroom was fine enough - the toiletries were pretty low grade but we had soap from other hotels, and got shampoo/conditioner from Walgreen's.

Miscellaneous: In some ways it is a tarted up hostel, in a "vibe" way. No problem at all, just putting it out there.

Overall - really great value hotel. We paid about $115 + tax for the "top" style room, which is about right. Probably wouldn't be so keen to fork out too much more, but it was great value.

Room Tip: higher level worked well. Probably avoid floor 2 as it has lots of walk through traffic (washing mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    123
    87
    28
    29
See reviews for
38
139
40
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in SF last weekend with my boyfriend.We stayed in Herbert hotel for a couple days.The location of the hotel is great because all shopping and dining is with in walking distance. Our room faced Powell street.Room, price was also reasonable. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fairly small rooms, but clean and quiet, considering it is just a few meters from Union Square. It is very conveniently located near the Powell cable car stop as well as the street car stop. Very little extra's provided at this hotel though and there are no wi-fi in the rooms. All in all I thought it was very expensive for what you got, however I think you are paying for the location - which I cannot fault. We were very unimpressed with the reception lady who checked us in, who seemed like she struggled to understand English. She did not give a good image of the hotel at all, and unlike all the other hotels we've stayed at, were extremely unhelpful in offering information or being able to answer simple questions regarding recommended eating places etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Herbert Hotel and must say it is the only Hotel I have ever stayed at where I had to pay first before I had even seen the room, I envisioned the room I had booked and had confirmation on however apparently that room was not available and we were given a room with no bathroom. We spoke to another couple whom were checking in the next day and the same issues were had by them, I expect that the hotel takes your booking but does not reserve a room and then when you get there you get what is available and you have to pay for it upfront. Very incompetent staff and service was less than average.- Never again

Room Tip: Don't pay till you see which room they have appointed as it is quite likely not what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised that so many people seem to have moaned about this hotel. It was offering a no frills but high value service in a great location. I say no frills, but the bed and down duvet were great, the en suite clean, (some rooms don't have this, but we checked),the rooms are left spotless each day. Right in the middle of the city it is always noisy, but it had great double glazing. there was a coffee machine a good chest of drawers and a comfy chair. Also free wifi. There was even an iron and ironing board. If you want 4 or 5 star facilities, then be prepared to pay for them. Go across the road to Tad's for a value breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Considering the places I've stayed at in San Francisco, the Herbert Hotel tops them with location near the Powell BART station and proximity to Union Square. It was my 2nd time running the NIKE Women's half marathon this past weekend and I needed a place to shut my eyes. It's not the swankiest joint but it fit my needs.

Our room, 515, was on the fifth floor facing O'Farrell. You could see the Macy's billboard across the way. There was very little street noise but I could still hear the trash trucks in the wee hours of the morning. Thank goodness we didn't see any homeless people in the alleyway this time around. The room was clean but wasn't ready when we checked in after 3 pm. They were really understanding about the race and let us check out late. I'm not sure if we were charged for the late check-out but we were charged taxes and fees on top of our Booking.com reserved rate. I'm not sure if this is normal for Booking.com reservations. I really liked that our room had an en-suite bathroom as well as another bathroom and shower down the hall for our use if needed. There is a rec room on the 2nd floor with microwave and free wifi. All of the rooms have WIRED wifi so you don't need to worry about internet access. They have cables in the room so you don't need to bring your own. The only thing I can think of that I'd want in the Herbert is a mini fridge. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and I felt safe leaving my belongings in the luggage storage area. Thanks for a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor or above for quieter rooms. Ask for an ensuite bathroom at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were astounded at the terrible service and dishonesty of the staff at the Herbert Hotel 161 Powell Street Union Square, We booked the hotel direct on their website 5 months prior to arrival, called twice to confirm and was told all was fine. After travelling thousands of miles from NZ, Australia and Hawaii we finally arrive at the Herbert to be told by staff that we were not booked in, then the story changed to "very sorry but your room is broken" then after a while we are told there is a room available with shared bathroom and we can have a $20 discount, what a dump the room was a grubby little hovel with plaster marks on the walls and nothing but a bed, shared ammenities there is only one toilet not even a his and hers, shower was small and dirty ... We were eventually given a better room however it was nothing like the photo's on their website of which we made our booking. We were then over charged $65 more than the agreed confirmed booking amount per night, the staff member whom had on the supervisor badge said that she would speak to the manager and advise how much we would have to pay and that the man at the desk the night before did not actually work there and nor did the woman that was behind the counter at lunch time...why these people are behind the counter if they dont work there is beyond me! Our family also booked in and had the same issue their room also was broken and not avail, they were put in a little room with $20 discount and when I tried to locate them the supervisor first told me they hadnt arrived then said they had checked out then said they had gone to airport, we were beside ourselves couldn't find them in a big city so far from home. All the while they were in the grotty room upstairs but these staff are so incomptent they have no idea who is in the hotel, there was a huge oricle convention in town and we are sure they double booked our rooms as San Fran was having a busy weekend with Fleet week the 49's and oricle...while we were out the Hotel disabled our access card packed our family's luggage and phoned police to say we hadn't paid, rubbish we had paid actually overpaid and were awaiting confirmation of correct price, they had put more people in our room as they had no doubt figured that they could charge a lot more due to demand because of shortage of accomodation"...... you don't want to be in a strange town with your luggage and no where to stay for the night and it is dark out but that is exactly what the staff at the Herbert did to us and due to this our holiday was ruined ...they are dishonest, incompetent and quite frankly a disaster to your tourism industry

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKB3, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
At check in the guest had decided that they were going to only stay at the Herbert for one night. And so our front desk in turn charged them for one night. Every day after that they left the hotel and left their items in the room. After several days of the front desk informing them that they had to pay for the room or check out, they were checked out of the hotel by the front desk. We gave them multiple opportunities to pay for the extra nights in which they had informed us they would not be staying. After all this they still did not pay for those nights they ended up staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.