We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money in san fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Embassy Hotel to your Saves list
The Embassy Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Civic Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“value for money in san fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

like the old saying, u get what u pay for. well we got a pleasant hotel with friendly staff during our stay. not the most modern hotel but rooms were spacoius and clean. an upgrade to the bathrooms would finish it off nicely. location is near civic centre with plenty of great restaurants from reasonably priced( brendas next door, try the chicken) to the luxury. car park behind hotel which is handy for a small price but sometimes it can be included with expedia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    21
    38
    30
    52
See reviews for
10
50
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Perhaps you can score free parking if you ask. A few blocks from the cable car. Restaurant a few doors down quite good. During high season they have breakfast included. Try to get rooms in back and as far up as possible since they have a night club.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at hotel early December ,,was hard to find hotel in the city as there was conference on..looking at the reviews was not encouraging but at that stage had no choice,, paid 129 dollars pn for a 3 night stay,,location was fine as like most cities you have to taxi anyway,, I stayed on the 6 th floor ,, room was large and a king size bed,, very clean overall,,large plasma tv,, bathroom old fashioned but very good shower,, after visiting most of the sights in the city by day were in bed by 10ish,, slept well,,considering the price ,,overall happy and would stay again,, there is parking there but a small charge,, there is no restaurant,/ bar ,,price wise great,, location fair,,Liam Germany

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night, and we checked out the very next day. It's very old and rundown, and feels very unclean. It's cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for here. If you can afford it, I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

rooms are very spacious ,,, i think i got value for what i paid for ,, i knew that i would be using taxis etc and spending a lot of time sightseeing,,so i was never going to spend 24/7 in my room..i paid 95 dollars a night and was very happy with the value,,the location is not downtown but you pay 300 bucks downtown,, you are 10m max by cab to pier 39 and downtown shops,, you can walk daytime with no hassle at all.. you will see homeless all over san francisco,, they never bothered me..you get free wifi,, flat screen tv,,etc,,for the amount of time i spent there i was very happy,, brendas next door is a super restauraunt and making a huge name for itself,, the art college is across the road,,there is street noise in every city,,, the club like all clubs in this city close at 145,, its open 3 nights ,, i was there the 3 and enjoyed it,, cleared very fast,, overall i enjoyed my stay,, i knew what i was paying so my expectations were limited and therefore i was happy.. if i wanted 3/4 star i would have paid 250 dollars,, dont expect high standars when you are paying these rates,,mike

Room Tip: if you want no street noise book a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I never write reviews but was compelled to do so after staying at this disgusting hotel. Grimy rooms, no A/C, loud bar downstairs, creepy elevator, dangerous neighborhood, laughable breakfast, crappy Internet, customer service gets a negative score. I've stayed lots of bad places but this one takes the cake. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all my partner and I were booked in for the Oasis Inn down the street and upon arrival were told the hotel had flooded and we were asked to stay at the Embassy Hotel down the street. (after arriving I looked up this hotel on trip advisor and saw a review from a few months ago saying the same thing! Makes me wonder if that happens a lot?! I first thought they were being sneaky but they charged us the same price). After receiving wrong directions from the man at the Oasis Inn we finally arrived at the Embassy Hotel. The man at reception was very kind and helpful. To be honest I was relived we weren't staying at the Oasis Inn as I read mixed reviews (bed bugs etc) and was a bit anxious. The hotel was very old and the bedroom and bathroom were standard. For the price we paid that's what we were expecting. However the sheets were clean and the cleaner came in everyday and swaped the towels etc. This hotel offers a free breakfast every morning from 7-9 which is standard but not too bad. We arrived on a Saturday night and about 9pm we could hear the pub downstairs playing music. At first we didnt mind because it was a Saturday night so I guess it's expected but at 5 am we could still hear the music which was waaaay too loud!!! On Sunday we went out during the day and retuned about 2pm to freshen up and the pub was playing music just as loud! As we were going back out it wasn't such a problem. Returning home at about 8pm the music was blearing loud again!!!! And continued till about midnight! This was on a Sunday night!! Anyway other than the loud music our stay wasn't too bad! Would probably pay a bit more next time for something more decent although the location was good!

Room Tip: If your looking for a budget hotel and don't mind loud music and street noise then stay here, ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Hotel

Address: 610 Polk Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel San Francisco
Embassy San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Embassy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.