We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sfo getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina

Save Saved
You added Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2440 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #144 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    68
    22
    25
See reviews for
45
83
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in San Fran for three nights. We were disappointed as this motel said it was by Fisherman Wharf but it was actually by the marina closer to the Golden Gate bridge. It was VERY hard to drag our heavy suitcases up to the third floor. The rooms were standard fare but did have a fridge and a microwave. Very poor water pressure and little hot water in showers. I would really like to comment though on the exceptional service provided by owner/manager Bob. He totally went above and beyond to ensure we were looked after. He helped us to decide on trips and made several phone calls for us. His service made the "average" motel experience much better. Thanks Bob! :-)

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, CA.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I would most likely stay here again. Rob at the front desk is a really nice guy. He'll direct you in the right place if your touring the city. My main gripe is the parking. I don't know how they have fewer spots then they do the number of rooms. You may have to park in the street or take the chance of being blocked in by other guests. This is SF so the room is much more expensive then I've payed than anywhere else I've traveled (I.e., New York City, San Diego, Seattle etc). The location is great. You are not in the middle of everything bit you're still close enough. This was my 1st time using public transportation in SF and let me say it is great. I highly recommend. You can go to several places from the hotel by using public transportation. If the parking would be resolved then I would rate this higher, but for me it's a buzz kill.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had a great time staying there. Not the 5 star hotel but for the price and location I thought it's very acceptable. I arrived very early, way before check in time and they did the best they could to accommodate me. The stuff was very helpfull and very nice and easy going. I had an easy time booking it directly from them as well. I'd stay there again and recommend it to my friends too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Biggest complaint is the parking lot does not have enough space for everyone in the hotel. It is "1st come 1st serve" which caused me to work all my plans around getting to the hotel early. One night I was forced to park on the street and got a ticket. The location is good, close to the wharf, but without parking guaranteed it makes the location a bit of a moot point. Had to walk and cab everywhere later in the day to get a spot. When I did get a spot, I was blocked in and had to move trashcans to maneuver out of the tiny lot.

Breakfast was a joke. Front desk bordered on rude. Cheap price makes for not the nicest clientele.

On the plus rooms were clean enough and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

this room was quite sweet it had a little 'shelf' in the window that you could sit in, and we were able to open the windows and let in fresh air. There were good facilities and breakfast was good. Two complaints the light in the bathroom was noisy and came on automatically at night as you walked in, and patrons were smoking right out side our non-smoking room and the smoke was filtering in under the door not good!!!

Room Tip: the windows are double glazed so when they were shut there was no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina

Address: 2440 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 miles from Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown, this San Francisco motel offers city tour tickets at the front desk. Guest rooms include a microwave, a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.Every room at the Super 8 San Francisco/Fisherman’s Wharf provides a flat-screen cable TV with HBO and a DVD player. Coffee makers are also available in the guest rooms at this completely non-smoking hotel.The Golden Gate Bridge is 3 miles from the San Francisco Super 8 Fisherman’s Wharf. The San Francisco International Airport is 16 miles from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco / Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Super Eight San Francisco
Super 8 Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Super Eight
San Francisco Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.